Zellers Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was Sold a few years ago
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB18 April 2018
it is no longer in business
Due to unfortunate circumstances Zellers was sold to Target which also went under in Canada

Zellers is no longer in business
Best to try another store
Sorry!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company no longer exists
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 April 2018
This company no longer exists, therefore I don't see a point in filling out a survey for it. I am only writing this because it's required for me to do so.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON11 April 2018
It was nice working for the company. It was one of the best companies I've worked for in Canada. The supervisor and co-workers were nice to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relief pharmacist ontario
Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON7 April 2018
brilliant company to be associated and was totally devasted when the company closed down.
managers and team was one of the best in country and will truly miss this company for ever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health and beauty/ stationery
Health and Beauty (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 April 2018
Loved it miss it very much worked out awesome. Wish it didn’t shutdown. People worked really hard the management was good to me. I worked here for 2 years.
Pros
Work
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience with retail
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON1 April 2018
fun atmosphere, team building, became knowledgeable of inventory, sales and promotions. i liked that associates had diverse job functions and everyone worked as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy work environment
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON26 March 2018
This work environment provides work to keep you busy through the day, allowing your shift to pass as fast as possible. Working stock in this facility allowed us to keep busy and make great friends while also completing a full shift of unloading.
Pros
Never a slack in work
Cons
Cleaning spills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zellers was a great place to work for
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON23 March 2018
Zellers was my first job and i stayed there til the bitter end.

The company was Canadian born and raised and there were long time customers who knew the store and came back for more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier and Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kenora, ON23 March 2018
People were good too work with and never a dull moment. I always looked forward going to work everyday, that was my first job I felt excited to go to work, I never wanted to go home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rayon a grande surfaces
Chef Caissière (Former Employee) –  Hull, QC18 March 2018
j adore faire un excellent service a la clientelle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Zellers?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in business
Business Div. Associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON18 March 2018
Worked here for a few years. Met some great people. There was no loyalty between management and staff. Under paid. It's unfortunate that they went out of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned lots about retail in this job.
Over-night Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC13 March 2018
really enjoyed working for this company. All employees were treated fairly and got along well. All employees shared work and would help you out at anytime.
Pros
great parties
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle ambiance
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Québec City, QC13 March 2018
bon travail d'équipe , environnement occuper et dynamique
Pros
pour ceux qui aime le service à la clientèle
Cons
fermé
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, Ontario12 March 2018
Enjoyed working here and helping close the store. I wish that the store had of stayed open, they were always very accommodating with school schedule and needing time off.
Pros
Fun Place
Cons
Long Hours, Store Closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting an helping customers was great
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON10 March 2018
Helped open store from "bare" walls to the store it was. Enjoyed working on the floor.

Hours were flexible and co workers were great. Had a lot to watch over and do in the house ware department. Helped in other areas of the store when needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 March 2018
Zellers was a very nice job i really loved it, it was easy and nice. I have meet nice people. they were very friendly. the manager was great, she was very nice.
Cons
full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was great while i was there
Stock Associate and Receiver (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC7 March 2018
great place to work was sad to see it close great hours and good work areas to advance and ok benifits work culture was great lots of friendly people who treated me like family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 March 2018
Well I think Zellers being out of business would speak for itself. Very unorganized and unprofessional management. Terrible hours and pay and everything else you'd expect from a place like that
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wondeful company to work for
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 March 2018
when zellers was around it was a very family oriented store. it was very welcoming to staff would be willing to help what ever customer needed help. i learned the basic of how a store ran. the management was very friendly always willing to help if need be. hardest part of the job was see the store getting emptied as it was shutting down.
Pros
learned how to managed and dipartment
Cons
not being able to still work there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience.
Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB5 March 2018
Work experience was acceptable.We definitely were understaffed and the benefits were below par. Wage was fair & management worked tried their best working with us. Was very disappointed with the closing of the store,with very little warning & no compensation.
Pros
Good staff to work with.
Cons
Benefits were sub par.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Zellers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,147 reviews
5402
4393
3260
255
137

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture