YUKON COLLEGE Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
College Instructor (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT30 December 2018
Yukon College gives northerners a wonderful opportunity to teach and learn in a collegial setting. It is well-equipped and offers education in a wide range of disciplines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic work culture
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse20 April 2018
It's a small-town college trying to be a big city university, but there's one or two individuals at the top that create a toxic and bullying kind of work culture for staff under them.

Especially if you are an instructor, depending on your boss, you can end up with every little support or direction.

Approach with caution, especially anything to do with FNI.
Cons
Toxic Bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collabrative and Enthusiastic workplace
Head Technology Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT1 February 2018
Working at Yukon college was a great and unique experience. The best part about the job was going to remote locations and learning about different first nations communities. The workplace was always full of new challenges but by having a support team we were able to handle any problem we faced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanaged and nepotistic
Staff (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse15 October 2017
It's a small institution, but mismanaged so it's hard to be a responsible and decent employee. Upper management sucks. Worst I've worked for. Pros: decent wages and benefits. Cons: soul sucking. If you like banging your head against a wall - this is the place for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice friendly atmosphere
Safety and Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT25 September 2017
A typical day is assisting Co-workers, Students and Occupants accomplish their tasks or give direction for their needs, Everyday we learn something new about the school history or course on how to approach people. the hardest part of the job is when exams are going on - Students and staff get stressed and a lot of anxiety going around, the most enjoyable is helping students with information they need to succeed,
Pros
courses you are interested are free up to 2500.00 paid per year
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging and supportive
Campus Housing Leader (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT20 May 2015
At Yukon College, everyone works as a team; even those who are far more superior will humble themselves to facilitate team work. The working culture is welcoming and supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible upper management
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YK2 January 2015
Worked here as a security guard and found it one of the worst places I've ever worked. Pay was good, but the senior management constantly micromanaged you and questioned your judgment. Lots of security problems on campus but they didn't like to admit it. You were put in a situation where you needed to call for police assistance, but, if you did, you were criticized for bringing in outside authorities because they wanted to deal with everything "in house."
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Unpleasant and oppressive senior management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Whitehorse29 September 2014
This was a great stepping stone for me.
I learned how to teach, be more confident.
My co-workers treated me fairly and equally.
Hardest part of my job was learning to deal with conflict.
Most enjoyable part of my job was influencing how people thought in a positive way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very good place to work
Instructor/Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Carcross, YT27 September 2014
Lots of variety in the job. A good amount of autonomy. Good co-workers, very supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Assist students (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT16 February 2013
• Responsible for opening and closing of computer labs.
• Assist students with troubleshooting.
• Maintain and troubleshoot networked computers and printers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YUKON COLLEGE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 11 reviews
54
43
30
20
14

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.9Culture

YUKON COLLEGE Reviews by Location