YMCA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall place to be
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Fort Erie, ON16 February 2018
the workers are very nice and patient with others. everyone is able to enjoy the experience there. employees are able work with each other well and without complications
Pros
awesome co workers
Cons
age restrictions
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment
Contact Center Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 February 2018
I love working here. I love my boss and coworkers. People are friendly and quickly become like family. It is great to know that the work you are doing is enriching peoples lives in so many ways.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Not great pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
has wonderful benefits for employees
Child Care Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Niagara, ON15 February 2018
YMCA has great benefits for employers and their families. As a charity it does not pay the best but the feeling of being with family and community is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work life balance
Beyond the Bell Educator (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON10 February 2018
The staff are cooperative and highly appreciative of each other and contributed their ideas to their fellow employees. they were very motivating and loved their work with children.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with good life to work balance but no room to improve yourself and move up
PERSONAL TRAINER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 February 2018
Fun working there. The members are what made it enjoyable. Personal training sales were not forced which made it a less stressful environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable, yet challenging work environment.
Counsellor & Housing Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 February 2018
a typical day at work is to see residents on a daily basis, provide meal vouchers, coordinate services, referral for treatment services, case notes, emergency reports, contact local police officials
I learned a great deal about addictions, homelessness, and prostitution. The workplace culture is challenging with residents issues, however, there is a positive and friendly management staff.
The hardest part of the job - managing persons under the influence.
The most enjoyable part of the job - all aspects - client interaction, management, guidance, support and understanding of the stress.
Pros
Friendly, positive work environment
Cons
Job itself can involve violence, drugs, alcohol and police interaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a fun time
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON5 February 2018
Had a good experience interacting with other people as well as connecting and sharing similar interests. Also had a good time setting up events and interacting with members of the community
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to be
EARLY CHILDHOOD ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 February 2018
Great kids, staff, not enough hours. A lot of regulations to adhere to since it is a not for profit and the pay of an ECA is equivalent to ECE with the same amount of work required of both.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
No benefits for PT staff for 2 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Camp
Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Toronto island3 February 2018
Camp was great if you like outdoors. 100s of little kids screaming, smiling and having fun. Work with a big staff team. Outdoor camp much of your day is spent travelling to and from camp site (toronto island)
Pros
Outdoors
Cons
Waiting for toronto ferry
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine
Employment Resource Center Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON3 February 2018
great place to work and great people to work with and great environment with no negativity
people are friendly and ever willing to help and answer questions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not much of a job
Cleaner/Janitor (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON2 February 2018
Management is unprofessional ,doesn't know how to clean the place properly, steam rooms for full of mold, constant theft , teens always running around unsupervised, staff walk around like scruffs
Pros
kiss butt with management and they will cover your butt no matter whay
Cons
don't kiss butt and you will be back stabbed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Child and Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON2 February 2018
The YMCA is a great place to work, went threw new experiences made multiple new connections opened up different opportunities. Working with kids and youths is something that I enjoy doing being able to make a difference in their daily lives, lets me know that I am doing my job right, and this job let me do this I really enjoyed working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected.
Janitor/Cleaner (former employee) (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON1 February 2018
A deceitful enviroment to work in. The pay and benefits are good; BUT you can't trust everybody you work with. High turnover rate of employees. Female employees get treated much better than male staff. If a male staff's job is on the chopping block, management will not give you a chance to tell your side, or even defend yourself.
Pros
Good pay, good benefits
Cons
Sexist/feminist management, untrustworthy co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
office
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON1 February 2018
• Assisted members in many activity areas to resolve issues and concerns in order to maintain a safe training environment
• Responded to telephone inquiries about programs offered and made suitable suggestion based on availability
• Worked with a team of staff members to prepare and maintain work out stations
• Communicated with a diverse community
• Validated member access and ensured memberships were up to date
Pros
close to home
Cons
need a long contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Organization
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON1 February 2018
Working with the YMCA has given me a chance to share knowledge on many things in the world of art and sports to the kids that I engage with every day. I have learned a great deal of patience from working here and the opportunities that the organization has given me is tremendous. Everyone is always in positive spirits and does whatever they can to make everyone around them whether it be co-workers or our kids, happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Camp Counselor (Current Employee) –  Strathroy, ON1 February 2018
I love this job! Being a camp counselor is very fun and working with kids is so rewarding. My coworkers were amazing and my supervisors were very understanding and relaxed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Energetic Work Place
School Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB31 January 2018
The YMCA is a great place for members to meet and connect with people within the same community. It is great seeing people in the facility. There could be some Improvements to how they treat the staff.
Pros
Calm Envrionment
Cons
Long Hours and Energy Consuming
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON30 January 2018
great work environment but it was hard to get days off and the hours were very long. i was able to gain so much new knowledge and had an amazing experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Volunteer Group Yoga Instructor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 January 2018
I go as a volunteer, so I like and enjoy all that I do there. There are regular activities to upgrade your knowledge. Multiple areas where you can work out. In short its a great place.
Pros
activities to upgrade knowedge
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too impressed
School Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Martensville, SK29 January 2018
I moved to Martensville with the understanding that I would have a permanent job here. About three months into the job I got a call saying that I would have to relocate or would be fired. This has caused major stress in my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 20,314 reviews
59K
46.3K
33.5K
2952
1567

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture