YMCA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Custodial (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON26 March 2018
I was a great job plus I had great staff I was able to negotiate my salary there was a lot of room to increase sales with most of the discount products
Pros
Good wages
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON25 March 2018
awesome environment to work at, everyone treats u great and always with a smile, they help you if you need help, the managers are wonderful, everyone is treated equally no matter the background
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to keep a job
Life Guard and Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON25 March 2018
The job was a dead end street that involved coming into work and being afraid that I may lose my job due to poor management decisions. Boss also switched once every few weeks.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Poor managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and educational place to be
Educator (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON24 March 2018
never a dull moment
friendly staff
working with kids make the days go by so fast
staff are always willing to help anyway
able to create your own weekly schedules bringing in new ideas
supervisors very helpful in any issues staff has
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON20 March 2018
A fun job that involves games and interacting with fun children. Not paid enough, but get the chance to tan outside. Would recommend if you love kids.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay but Good People
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 March 2018
Long hard days with low pay. It is hard work and should be recognized as such with better pay and benefits. However, the feeling of belonging and community between staff was very strong. It was an amazing support system there.
Pros
Good Relationships
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 March 2018
Best place to work YMCA,Best place to learn new culture. There is so many things you can learn in YMCA you can meet new people from all over around the world
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interactive work place that enjoys children
Camp counsellor (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB20 March 2018
It was a summer camp position working with young children and making summer more enjoyable for the youth. We would play games, do activities like canoeing, archery, sports and hiking. Always was a fun time and I would highly recommend anyone to do it for a summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the Y
On-S (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON20 March 2018
great company to work for, very inclusive. the children in the program do not want to go home, and the parents are very happy with how content their children are.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community
Aquatic Specialist and Lead Instructor (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON19 March 2018
The communities needs are always important along with building and growing of each individual member. The YMCA is a fun and safe place to be, you are always able to be yourself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inclusive, fun and accommodating
Child and Youth Worker (Current Employee) –  London, ON19 March 2018
The YMCA is a very inclusive and fun place to work. They provide very flexible hours and are very accommodating for their staff. If you're looking for a part-time job as a student, the Y has many opportunities.
Pros
Fun, accommodating, flexible hours
Cons
minimum wage pay, difficulty getting full time hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Before and after school childcare assistant
SCHOOL AGE CHILD CARE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON17 March 2018
Feels good to be a part of shaping young minds. Management and the Ministry of Education requirements make the job harder to do for what they pay compared to what they request in your job duties,
no proper training. Coaches were not helpful and very unreliable. Favoritism was very known.
Pros
hours were set
Cons
coaches, pay, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun learning experience.
camp tiki counselor (Former Employee) –  Colborne, ON17 March 2018
working at the YMCA was a fulfilling experience.
I would say the hardest part about working there was the constant worry and alertness you have to have about the kids you are supervising and looking after.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Child Development Educator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 March 2018
Amazing workplace, respectful management and staff. Good wages as well as benefits. Free membership for recreational activities, fitness centre, swimming etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Swim Instructor/Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 March 2018
It’s a great way to gain some job experience. But the overall environment for was not best suited for me. Some staff seemed unfriendly, they didn’t seem that helpful, in terms of improvement and among other things. There wasn’t much prep prior to the job, at least in this case. There was not a proper facility orientation, nor how to put lane ropes and things like that. In terms of teaching material, there were many things such as the optional criteria and other things that are needed to pass, that I was unfamiliar with. In my opinion, I think the structure of the lessons seemed unorganized. There seemed to be too many kids in one class, and all are from different levels (i.e star 1 to star 4 kids in one class) making it difficult to cater to each need of the child, with so many different skill levels and so many children. As well as, some classes will be combined when another instructor is absent, adding to the difficulty. Overall, if this environment matches well with you, this is a great job in terms of experience and discovery. If not then, I do not recommended this job.
Pros
Free gym membership
Cons
Unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ymca ywca after shool program
After school Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 March 2018
collect kids off of bus at 245pm
set up table and prepare snacks
get kids to wash up for snack time
after snack we would do activities such as lego, coloring, kinetic sand, etc
best part of the day was sitting around with the kids visiting about their time at school and what they had planned for the evening. lots of kids love talking about hockey and how our local Winnipeg jets are doing.
watching the kids grow and do new things was also exciting
Pros
spending time together as a group
Cons
not enough hours as its only a 3 hour program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loud fast paced
Fitness Consultant/Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS14 March 2018
helping exercisers putting away weights cleaning
everyone has there own comfort zone
suspect
who I worked for
the members I worked with and became close friends with
Pros
free membership
Cons
lack of direction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All About the Children
Before and After School Teacher (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON13 March 2018
The job itself is great but the benefits are lacking. The children love when i help them out with crafts or games in the gymnasium. They enjoy the outdoors as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good job
Supply Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 March 2018
No negative things to say About YMCA, very flexible schedule, especially for people on call. the pay is decent, management works well with workers, and the benefits are amazing. one of the benefits includes an all-inclusive gym membership.
Pros
good job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ON10 March 2018
i didnt have a good experience with co workers but did with staff.
they need t work on thefts between co workers and how it will be dealt with instead of doing nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 20,261 reviews
59K
46.3K
33.5K
2949
1567

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture