WorleyParsons Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great for career exposure
PIPING DESIGNER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 September 2018
WorleyParsons has good salary's and benefits however don't expect to get a wide range of exposure. You may get stuck doing the same type of work repeatedly. Big company mentality. You are just a number
Pros
good salary
Cons
no exposure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with WP
Director, Manager/Head-Process Department (Former Employee) –  calgary, canada4 September 2018
It was all good. I was able to do what I wanted to do both Administration and technical roles as agreed.
Over 9 years I had various roles such as
Director, Manager/Head-Process Department; all technology sectors and HSE/Regulatory
Manager-BU Process Department
Manager-Process/Project development (TOTAL/Mabrook)
Chief Engineer-Process engineering
I worked on many projects
Pros
Very challenging and exciting
Cons
Ran out of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good guys, easy work, good money
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Alberta24 August 2018
easy work if you like being outside. good group of guys usually big crews 20+ guys so youll fit in somewhere. lots of help and just be friendly and easy going and youll be golden.
Pros
good guys
Cons
cold out sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in WP is like working for yourself
Senior Instrumentation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 July 2018
In WP management was very supporting and appreciating that is objective oriented.
The hardest part is to meet the project schedule.
WP Team was like a family.
The best part was to get client satisfation
Pros
Best professional experience in Canada
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and recruiting
Apprentice Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 July 2018
They easily black list you from ever regaining work just because you take a few days off for being sick when you come back to work they lay you off. Then when you reapply for work they won't rehire you. They judge you from the past other than work experience. Wages and benefits are good.
Pros
Wages and benefits
Cons
Not recognizing former employees for there work experience and ability to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with
SENIOR AUTOMATION DESIGNER (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON18 July 2018
A company with good focus on project management. Great opportunity for growth. They take great care of employees and provide good feed back on how projects were carried out. Lessons Learned)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WorleyParsons Markham Office
Project Information Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2018
Not a bad place if you are an engineer. Not a great place if you are in IT. Probably pretty average work environment. I would return, but only as a transition to somewhere else.
Pros
Best coffee machine I've ever drank from.
Cons
Not much upward mobility opportunities for IT in Markham
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal company
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Alberta7 July 2018
Great work schedule and great places to work at all over Alberta. You learn a lot and will be taught the proper way to work safe and prevent injuries along the way.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They like social people, not professional people
Principle Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 June 2018
This company has the talent to identify good engineers and laid them off. It is full of social people instead of professional people. There's no perfect company, but this company in deed developed kind of culture in a very different way from to be professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working with Worley throughout
Sr. Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 June 2018
It was the most enjoyable learning experience of my professional life. Typically everyone is mutually very helpful and work culture is excellent.
Good management supportive and encouraging to engineers whether young or old. Also providing lots of learning opportunities and continuous training.
In nut shell I liked Worley too much without any hiccups and did not find any hardest part in job to describe.
I enjoyed all along, so no complaints except they let go people like me due to sudden downturn in the engineering sector.
Pros
Very good work culture, very supportive bosses and colleagues, good Salary and recognition, Respectful atmosphere
Cons
Nothings come to mind except shortage of some technical standard of their own
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about WorleyParsons?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Steamfitter/Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 May 2018
management is really good and the workplace culture is enjoyable and fun to work. A lot of new things first year apprentice can learn while working with experienced people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Piping Design Squad Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 May 2018
Was there for 19 years, many varied and challenging projects successfully completed with the assistance of many talented and helpful co-workers.
Enjoyed all the challenges assigned.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and helpful job, room for advancement
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON16 May 2018
Liaises with onsite contracting forces, attended construction meetings, Pre-Start health and Safety Reviews and reviewed construction inquiries.

Attended meetings, as necessary, and liaises with various stakeholders to coordinate resources, determine project criteria, and provide information as requested.

Leading capital and maintenance electrical projects (numerous) from conceptual sketch and scope, up to construction (and/or demolition) drawings and all pertaining calculations, material specifications, enquirers, quotes, installation issues and incorporating red lines within “as built” drawings.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working within my individual group
Piping Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2018
Enjoyed working within my individual group. I had opportunity to grow professionally in my career and had great co-workers who were supportive. I also received several wage increases.
Pros
good co-workers, good wages
Cons
layoff with the O&G downturn
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great field staff
Water Resources Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 May 2018
I loved my job when i worked at this company but i have realized that loyalty to this company holds no value. If the companies profits do not increase then letting go of valuable employees is done with no regard.
Pros
safety is held in high regard
Cons
business development poorly managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, hard times
iM Support Technician II (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL4 May 2018
Great company, met a lot of amazing people.

Unfortunately during hard times, management was disorganized, and employees were asked to work multiple roles when staff were laid off or terminated. No pay raise for years, even when taking on extra work or a promotion. Also took away a lot of benefits. Helpful suggestions were never taken serious or even acknowledged.

Company did what was needed to survive during hard times, hopefully it has bounced back.
Pros
Relaxing environment, lots of support
Cons
Reorganization during hard times took a lot away from employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with a focus on staff who socialize with the right people rather than produce anything useful.
Engineering (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 April 2018
A company which is focused on things other than client requirements. Internally like a lot of other companies the focus is on diversity, gender equality, equal opportunity etc. This focus erodes competiveness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Senior Instrumentation and Controls Engineer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 April 2018
Good place to work for. Management is proactive in providing opportunities for advancement. Got along well with supervisors, management and co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well oiled monster of a machine
Subcontractor, Journeyman B Pressure Rig Welder (Former Employee) –  Blackfalds, AB20 April 2018
Everything flows smoothly and efficiently. I learned to fit pipe extremely well due to the sheer volume. Management was very professional. I miss it..
Pros
Long Hours/ Overtime
Cons
Work ourselves out of a job sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Piping Designer - Checker
Senior Piping Designer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta11 April 2018
Worked on brownfield engineering projects for Shell Canada Ltd and Syncrude Canada Ltd. Both plants are heavy oil upgrading facilities which upgraded raw bitumen to synthetic crude oil.
Pros
Lots of variety and complexity in the project work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WorleyParsons. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,383 reviews
5431
4533
3294
275
150

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture