Winners Employee Reviews in Ottawa, ON

Found 53 reviews matching the search See all 1,287 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Multitasking Working Place
STORE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 September 2013
*typical day at work: had some experience when we had only 4 staff where we should have 7 staff. But we managed it with our team work.

*what i have learned: Multitasking job and customer service.

*management : Really organized with good communication system.

*my co-worker: Really helpful and friendly.

*hardest part of the job: Doing closing.

*most enjoyable part of job: Giving customer service at cash point.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management has metal health issues.
Sales clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa west end4 September 2013
Manager often late to open store even in the dead of winter but would have no problem pointing out staff being "2" minutes late for their shift. Manager takes credit for staff member finding and assisting client in medical distress. Manager would Facebook staff and get too involved in their personal lives and advise some staff as to whom they should or should not associate with. Manager would witness staff being verbally abusive to other staff and would do nothing to correct issue even though Winner's values would state this behavior was not to be tolerated. Privacy act was violated by manager who would divulge staff medical issues to other staff.
Pros
Most coworkers and clients
Cons
No positive feedback from manager - critisizum abundant
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well managed and well kept
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 July 2013
management ensured that each department was well kept and organized. closing time was rarely a hassle because everything that usually needed to be done at the end of the night had already been completed.
Pros
staff outings
Cons
favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace that taught me a lot.
Cashier/Fitting Rooms (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, On27 July 2013
I have learnt so much at winners. I loved organizing clothes, helped me to be a very clean and organized person.
Pros
good management
Cons
rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 July 2013
Learn a lot, great co-workers and management, great productivity
Pros
Great productivity
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place to work. You won't see the day go by.
Cashier/Customer Service/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, Ontario12 June 2013
A fair place to work when it comes to work/home life.

I enjoyed working ithmy co-workers.
Pros
Enjoyed being busy and made many friends.
Cons
Standing all day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with
Merchandise Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, On3 June 2013
Organize sales associates, decide which items should move from the backroom onto the sales floor, trains sales associates, and assist with markdowns and front line efficiency.

I learned about reading sales reports to translate to new ideas to increase sales, management of sales associate, and a whole lot of customer service skills.

Management worked as a strong unit that made up for another individuals weaknesses. Very good at organizing staff although lacked toughness when it comes to decision making.

The sales associates have many strengths and weaknesses and needed a lot of supervision. The other coordinators were knowledgeable veterans that may not have been strong workers but were efficient in their positions.

The hardest part of the job was probably prioritizing tasks. There is always a lot of work to be done in retail to provide a fashion trendy store and a clean environment.

The best part of the job that there is never a dull moment and time flies when you are busy at work.
Pros
Guarenteed hours, and benefits package
Cons
Sportatic hours each week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable.
Cashier, customer service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 May 2013
I basically, serve customers at cash, picked clothing off the floor, swept, washed the bathroom etc. I've learned to multitask, work underpresser, and customers are always right. My coworkers are kind and out going we get along great. Hardest part of the job was no being able to work as much as i wished to. The most enjoyable part was cleaning.
Pros
serving customers and cleaning
Cons
long hours, and no shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace!
Cashier and Inventory (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 March 2013
-loud noises at work (ex: back to school days)
-learned how to coordinate tasks, activities, events and people effectively
-perfect management
-perfect co-workers
-hardest part of job: security
-most enjoyable part of job: teamwork
Pros
built upon my customer service and teamwork skills
Cons
security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very multi-cultural work environment
Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 February 2013
A normal day at work, I would be covering cash which deals a lot with customer services, holding onto the jewlery counter keys and providing customers with service as they need it, covering fitting rooms or working in the warehouse.
The management is great. They are very flexible when it comes to letting go of some things when it comes to school when I explain to them. It is a very friendly environment. The hardest part about the job is having to deal with some customers who may be very disrespectful sometimes.
Pros
being rewarded with gift cards for some work done.
Cons
not getting paid enough to do a lot of the work that is being asked to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
customer service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 February 2013
enjoyed working in a fast paced environment. interacting with customers. work environment was great
Pros
great employees
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Going Work Enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 August 2012
-A typical day at work would include stocking shelves, assisting customers with inquiries, cash debit and credit transactions.
-I started working at Winners in 2006, and it gave me a good introduction to customer service, which carried me through to advancing in better customer service jobs as I got older.
-Management is amazing, so much fun.
-Co-workers come and go because it is Retail, but everyone is great.
-I really don't think I could find anything wrong with this job.
-The most enjoyable part of the job is that you get to work in a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more Winners reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Winners. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,287 reviews
5410
4437
3304
292
144

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture