Winners Employee Reviews

Found 1,173 reviews matching the search See all 1,224 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON11 July 2019
My position as a cashier was to aid in any questions or problems that the customer had. As well as ensure that the customer is satisfied with their visit and/or purchases. The staff, managers and customers made this job extremely easy, everyone was super nice, and willing to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place I would work again
Associate/Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB10 July 2019
It was a great place to work at first. Over time, I began to notice that management played favourites with certain staff members. A stock truck arrives almost every morning and the demands to put out the merchandise within a specific timeframe are ridiculous. Being the head of a department is stressful and busy enough. Having to assist customers and help with the front cash and carry-outs while still being expected to put every piece of stock out in places where there isn't any room. It was a very tough place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conflict between managers, all of them wants to be a bods
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON6 July 2019
It wasn’t healthy working here when everyone from the managers wants you to listen to him and do what he asks you to do, not other managers. Bad communication or almost no communication between managers makes it hard for sales Associate to not to know, who to listen to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ils prétendent que tout va bien...
Associé aux ventes (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 July 2019
La gestion fait semblant que tout va bien et se passe à la perfection, et ils se vantent d'être "le magasin numéro 1" au Canada niveau vente, niveau service à la clientèle et niveau qualité d'emploi...

Du peu que j'ai vu, tout est TRÈS mal organisé : personne n'était au courant que j'avais une entrevue quand je suis arrivé sur place. UNe fois engagé, on ne m'a jamais donné les heures que j'ai demandé alors qu'on me les a promis au moment de l'embauche. La formation était du gros n'importe quoi... que de la lecture, on était un petit groupe et on était laissés à nous-mêmes. On s'est fait lâchés sur le plancher, aux caisses, en moment de rush sans jamais avoir fait de pratique... n'importe quoi.

Ça paraît qu'ils sont pressés à nous mettre sur le plancher parce qu'ils sont en manque de personnel. Malheureusement, ce n'est pas un environnement de travail adéquat ni agréable et aucune promesse faite n'a été tenue. Je ne mentionnerai non plus pas le maigre salaire offert pour le travail à faire... ça ne vaut pas la peine.
Pros
La diversité
Cons
Mauvaise gestion en générale, fait trop de promesses en l'air
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job and staff is amazing but super disorganized and always changing management
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC1 July 2019
Ive been working here for almost 4 years and the job itself isnt bad and the people i work with are awesome but the company has its issues and we changed management like 4 times in 4 years which isnt ideal. Its an ok first job but theyre so unorganized and unappreciative of their employees its mind blowing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff good pay
Cashier / salesfloor associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2019
i enjoyed the poeple at this job they paid good they dont take out alot of taxes the only task i dont like there is cashier it is kind of complicated bn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start up job
Cashier and customer service (Former Employee) –  Outletmall Winnipeg28 June 2019
Management was great although they tend to put a lot of projects on your plate expecting it to be done in an unrealistic time frame when it has to be done alone.
Pros
Always something to do.
Cons
Sometimes too much things to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Malsain
Équipier aux ventes (Current Employee) –  Lachenaie, QC27 June 2019
Toit d'abord, il vous demande d'être disponible 7/7, mais vous donne 4h. De plus jl'orsque j'étais aux études durant l'année 2019 j'ai fait du 30hrs semaine et maintenant que jw demande de ne plus travailler le dimanche ils ne me donnent plus d'heures du tout Même si ils savent que j'ai une automobile à payé etc.. pire entreprise pour laquelle j'ai travaillé. En plus d'aucune reconnaissance du travail acharné émis pour cette entreprise.
Pros
rien
Cons
Aucun syndicat, coupure d'heures extrêmes, aucune reconnaissance du travail
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON27 June 2019
I've worked at Winners for 2 years now and it is my favourite position by far. The staff are very friendly, and the managers are flexible. The company itself is very open and inclusive. Overall a pleasant experience working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Picker (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON25 June 2019
I got the opportunity to work with all types of people with different personalities and abilities. Overall it was a great work experience to work with some awesome people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ease to learn at a working day.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC24 June 2019
We work as a group being individual and also has support from management. Never feels stranded and estranged. We have something like potlucks or some kind of celebration every alternative weekend. everyone is amazingly helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC23 June 2019
Winners PG is a great place to gain experience. The training is quite hefty, but they train you well. Management is fairly easy to talk to, but they over promise their staff. Everyone being promised the same promotion makes for awkward lunch breaks. Company talks about how they are all about internal advancement, but will hire completely new associates as full-time instead of promoting an already existing, quality employee who has worked hard, has open availability, & clearly wants the job. A few of the managers are quite two faced, & they speak negatively of certain employees often. Hours of part time associates are cut OFTEN based on how the business does for sales, & it's quite unfair. Though if you're a student looking for experience, they are awesome at working with a scarce availability. Although prepare to have 2 of your 4 shifts cut/shortened often. If you need financial stability, they can't guarantee that.
Pros
Flexible schedules
Cons
Pay, Over promising, Inappropriate behaviour from managers, internal advancement is rare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool; kid
Assistant Cashier (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB17 June 2019
was really really really okay. maid me see life in a new lite. the man i call musia and will from this day forward has maid me happy in ways i could not keep going if it was not for the man i call the lord
Pros
free produts
Cons
death of fammily.;(
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, communicative managers
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 June 2019
The overall environment of winners is great, the only real downside to this job is that the shifts you get as a regular associate are very minimal, to the point where you will only work once a week.
Pros
Awesome coworkers
Cons
Minimal shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pressure work environment and short staffed
Merchandise Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 June 2019
I have been working as a coordinator at winners, didn’t enjoy any moment of working in this position. There was a lot of pressure from management and never had enough associates to help me. I literally had to handle 4 people’s job.
Pros
You get to see new merchandise and buy them before anyone else
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Service à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  Quebec City, QC10 June 2019
Nice workplace friendly coworkers, but the management could use a little organizing it can become difficult to work when the management is not really stable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome entry level job
Merchandise Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON4 June 2019
Awesome for making friends at work. Great place to start out of school and get some customer experience. definitely not a long term goal or a place to advance financially.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Merchandise Analyst (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON3 June 2019
Time goes by fast due to the fast paced-nature of the environment. Constantly working with an array of merchandise categories, sorting and organizing into a flow that makes business sense while showcasing an appeal to the end consumer. Worked with many self-directed individuals who are professionals and hardworking. While the work was challenging, there is a sense of accomplishments at the end of each project that makes moving to the next one satisfying.
Pros
Unique variety of items to choose from
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Merchandise Processing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 June 2019
Maybe it's my location but I find majority of the aspects working here to be great. Ive had many managers while working here in my years and they are all very friendly, understanding, open, flexible and are willing to help theyre associates develop within the company. I see alot of people saying that growth within the company is difficult but from what I've seen and experienced, as long as youre willing to communicate that you want to develop and how you want to develop, they'll sit down with you and create a development plan to get you to where you want to be. Everyone i work with is fantastic and ive made great friends. Of course theres the few people youre not gonna get along with but that happens everywhere you go. The days get long and tiring but if you like a job where youre alwaays doing something, this is it. Never a dull moment. Being MPC at a location of almost 100 associates, does get stressful only because its hard to keep all employees on the same page of NCO, and how to do things according to standard but its only helped me develop and get bettter at my job. Ive been here for a few years now and im still learning new things every day.
Pros
Lots of development opportunities
Cons
Big locations can be stressful sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile environment; a lot like high school
Sales Associate/Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB27 May 2019
Management at Okotoks winners and the employees that have been there for 5+ years are like the popular group of girls in high school. If they don't like you, they make your life awful. Management would penalize you for taking days off by cutting hours. If you asked for more hours they would tell you that they can't give you any, but would constantly be hiring new staff.
Pros
You get 10% off being an employee.
Cons
Management is not overly nice. Hard to take days off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Winners. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,224 reviews
5384
4422
3291
286
141

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture