Wine Rack Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Lower management,
CEC/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON8 June 2018
Your direct manager in store is great and encouraging but upper management is not encouraging or supportive. Great discounts and incentives, but more could be done for staff satisfaction.
Cons
Working alone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if you want part time
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 June 2018
Just don't expect to make lots of money. The shifts are only 4-5 hours long and you get no breaks. You are also expected to stand at a table the whole time.
Pros
free wine
Cons
4-5 hour shifts max
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, easy going place to work. Great Atmosphere
Wine Merchant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 May 2018
I loved working at the Wine Rack. I had great co-workers who were just as enthusiastic about working as I was so we always shared the jobs that needed to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Wine Merchant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON14 May 2018
Great retail company to join. They offer solid part-time work with the possibility to advance. They are flexible with hours and offer great incentives to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Cliquey
Wine Merchant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 May 2018
There is one group of friends who advance very quickly within Wine Rack. They claim to have an internal promotion system, and will talk about it during the interview and any job fairs, but in reality, if you aren't a part of the main clique...it is unlikely that you will get hours, let alone a promotion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place for part-time...
Wine Merchant (Current Employee) –  London, ON10 May 2018
Management was a little bad, but overall was a decent place to work for a bit while in school to pay for tuition. My location was quite flexible most the time. We could easily contact the manager and let her know if we needed specific days off, switch shifts with co workers.
Pros
free wine from time to time, company competitions with rewards
Cons
load shifts can be early hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wine Rack is an excellent place to start a career in Retail
Area Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 May 2018
Wine Rack is an excellent place to learn and develop a worth wile career. There are many programs to get involved in that will help develop and tone your management skills.
Pros
It's the type of business to start a career in
Cons
Management lax initiative to develop people. One needs to learn how to do it themselves
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wine Rack Day
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 April 2018
A typical day of handing out samples to customers walking by, upselling purchases and interacting with the public on a day to day basis. Making connections with customers and selling wine based on customer interactions.
The hardest part of the job would be refusing to serve customers. The most enjoyable aspect is when customers return to tell you how much they loved your suggestion.
The workplace culture is all about supporting your team and staying positive, while having fun.
Pros
Wine homework
Cons
Retail
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company if only looking for minimal hours.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Ontario23 March 2018
Fun customers, great products but they are not innovative or interested in keeping up on the latest market trends. Not transparent with staff, and, there is a true disconnect between upper management and store level. Extremely poor reviews given to keep raises minimal. Store managers are not making much more than merchants and no raises are given that are adequate to the cost of living increases felt in today's world. If you Google what the top people are making though, it will blow your mind. Great job if you are semi retired or just looking for a few hours here and there with free wine from time to time.
Pros
Free wine
Cons
No appreciation of employees sacrifices. No chance for moderate income.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing set of people to work with
Wine Merchant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 March 2018
Working with Wine Rack is a great first step for anyone interested in alcohol retail. You learn quickly how to interact with a diverse set of people on a daily basis. Pay not to "attractive", but there is some opportunity for advancement depending on how far you want to go with the company.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Wine Rack?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail but with booze!
Wine Merchant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 March 2018
Wine Rack is a fair enough company to work for, with flexible hours and opportunities to advance in the company, though the pay does not necessarily reflect the skills of the employees. You will learn a lot about dealing with ALL types of people, from entitled and snobby, to poor and addicted. Most of the customers love the stores and I believe that the neighbourhood mentality of the stores are really what drives sales. People can walk in and know they will see their favourite employee working, have a chat and a wonderful experience picking out wine.
As an employee, there's free wine involved, contests and company-wide incentives. As a manager, I found there was a lack of support and a lack of appropriate pay for the hours and grunt work involved in selling your soul to the company.
Pros
Free wine
Cons
crazy customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unreasonable goals and unhelpful upper management
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON24 February 2018
Nope, nope, nope.

This company has no regard for the physical and mental health or welfare of its managers and wine merchants.

I've worked in retail for 25 years. This company is less organized than most.
Pros
Wine
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Environment, Flexible Hours, can be monotonous,
Wine Merchant (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON18 February 2018
Wine Rack is a great place to work at if you're a student looking to get some experience.
The working environment there is great. It gets you out of your comfort zone, working with customers and helping them choose the wine that meets their needs.

The hours are flexible. However, working there can be monotonous.
Pros
Free Wine, Friendly Working Environment
Cons
Monotony
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Clerk/Acting Manager (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON5 February 2018
Loved working there. Only left to go to a place that could offer me more oppurtunities to advance as I was getting married and planning a family. If you love wine you love it there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Wine Merchant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 November 2017
Fast passed
Fun work environment
Always learning
Free wine every now and then for sampling
Free to be creative with events and setting up displays
Lots of fun people to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Wine Merchant (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 November 2017
great place to work, learned a lot of great work experience.

very warm and welcoming environment even the higher up management would come to stores and work and learn more about their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another day
Wine Merchant/Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Nepean, ON15 November 2017
Worked for a good manager but found as employee my opinions did not matter. Worked casual and lots of nights. No benefits and dealt with a lot of crazy customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Wine Merchant (Current Employee) –  Mississauga Valley, ON20 September 2017
Very great staff awesome manager as wel we all work as a team and help each other as well very organize and respectful and responsible I love working there because you get to meet very good people and understand more about wine and how they are made and also for my manager she is a wonderful person as well
Cons
4.5 hours 4 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile, dishonest, corrupt and poor-paying.
Sales associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 July 2017
Awful, abusive, disorganized and inhumane. Not one person I know who works there wants to work there. Intense pressure for sales drives customers away, and the shortage of hours for a living wage makes for a hostile, gossipy work environment to steal others hours.
They make you take a Customer Excellence Certification program, and it's essentially an assistant manager position with a promise of a maximum of 30 hours, no pay raise, and you have to do the 20 hours of so of training on your own time, for free.

Worst place I have ever worked at.
Pros
Free wine
Cons
Not enough hours for a living wage, constant sales pressure and abuse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wine rack review
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2017
A typical day at work would be stocking, cleaning, dusting, wine sampling, recommending good wines and cashing out customers. Working on the floor is always easy for me because i am a great sales woman. The company isn't too hard on employees, as long as they are keeping up sales. i have had 3 managers since i've started working at the wine rack and i seem to get lucky because they are all very nice and understanding. The last 2 years i learned a lot about wine and the different qualities and benefits. The shipments are definitely the hardest part of the job, sometimes very brutal. You are expected to lift over 100 boxes of wine, stock and collapse all boxes by yourself in less than 2 hours for minimum wage. Other than the shipments, i actually can say i love my job.
Pros
free wine
Cons
body pains from shipments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wine Rack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 67 reviews
519
417
318
28
15

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture