Windsor Arms Hotel Employee Reviews

Showing all 22 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 May 2019
So bad there is one person there who bullies everyone and is allowed to he has made countless people walk out on their shifts and not come back. And the money is decent that's how bad it is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant work environment
Pastry (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 April 2019
-the majority of kitchen equipment is old and doesn't work properly
-I found that cleanliness was not a priority
-parts of the kitchen had a strong unpleasant odour
-management can be rude and unprofessional at times
-the kitchen lacked structure
-staff facilities (break room, washroom) could be much better

+I found my hourly wage to be reasonable
+the work wasn't difficult
+close to bay station
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place To Work
Doorman (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 April 2019
The Windsor Arms is a great place to work!

I started as a part time doorman, and the role was great. There was also a lot of opportunity to move up and gain additional experience, as they were able to get me more shifts as a butler and banquet server.
Pros
Great customers and lots of opportunity.
Cons
It's a small hotel, so if you need a specific day off, lots of notice is required.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay very far away
18 St Thomas St - Hostess & Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2018
Stay very far away from this place. The owner is extremely toxic and will talk to you and treat you like your worthless. Don't let the Yorkville facade get to you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, tense, unappreciative
Spa Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 August 2018
The spa is a beautiful little space with a magnificent view off of the terrace.
The staff were a wonderful group of people.
Unfortunately the management of the hotel/spa was a very difficult person to work for, never open to new ideas or incentives.
Pros
great location
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better do not work here
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 July 2018
Owner is disresptful and verbaly abusive staff, can not keep employees.
It is a tonix enviorment where is no growing oppurtunity. Huge turn over of staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 Star because there is no 0
Night Auditor part-time (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2018
Worst place ever to work. Seniors are nice to you the first week while training and starts getting to know you but after You start on your own, they yelled at you and not only that but they are bully. There is no management and only one Indian old lady does all your paper work she is the only nice and honest. The whole atmosphere is toxic. You start at front desk and 2 weeks later You are doorman or waiter.
Pros
None
Cons
All of the above plus employee bathrooms are terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic culture
Cook 2 (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 June 2018
The kitchen staff is actually quite amazing to work with. The co workers are all very helpful. Although the pastry chef in particular is a horrible person and shouldn't be allowed to talk to other humans. The job has a great learning curve and can be fun had it not been for him. He contradicts all of his own instructions and constantly demotivates people.
Pros
Amazing co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place whe high tea is required knowledge
Server / Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 April 2018
Working together with the manager for successful operations, must knowledge in high tea services and tea product knowledge. Inform customers of the services provided and deal with large parties and small parties at the restaurant.
Pros
Interaction with great customers
Cons
hot beverages
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overbearing owner lacking management and people skills
Catering and Special Events Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2018
The Windsor Arms is a beautiful hotel, it really is a shame that the owner does not give staff the room and resources to do their jobs effectively. There would be a lot more special event bookings if the owner stayed away from day-to-day operations.
Pros
Beautiful hotel
Cons
Owner abuses hotel staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look elsewhere, honestly.
Guest Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2018
Underpaid job, gossips all around, employees complain on each other.
When I was reading reviews at first, before I got job at Windsor Arms, I didn't believe them. Honestly, I regraded right after and started to look for a job shortly after my first day there.
Apparently, later on I found out, that everyone at my department get the same salary, BUT ME..for some reason.
The owner's goal is to pay employees as little as possible.
No one stays there for longer than 3-4 months, "employee traffic flow" is huge.
No benefits, I can barely survive on salary they pay.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential would be good if owner could keep Spa Managers for more than few months
RMT (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 December 2017
1 or 2 clients ONLY per day! Huge turnover of Spa Managers. Each manager changes all the rules over again every few months from what other therapists have told me. Each of the massage rooms are very poorly ventilated to the point where the clients complained of how uncomfortably hot they were to me all the time. They provide you with a fan but it just blows the hot air around the room. Such a shame. I've heard many past therapists have complained but the management will not fix the problem & don't care.
Pros
Nice RMTs & other service providers
Cons
No clients, tips often go missing a lot, clients would say they tipped but when pay came around I wouldnt get them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but no room for growth
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 October 2017
This job was very easy to understand, with the computer system and handling orders. Staff was welcoming, however there was no room for growth in my future there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional work place
Restaurant Chef (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 October 2017
Well organized,efficiently run, well structured,excellent management
Good choice of coworkers .plenty potential for growth.excellent company benefits
Pros
fantastic company to work for
Cons
Number of hours I was scheduled for to little
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 16Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience but underpaid
Receptionist / Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 January 2017
Working in a hotel environment allows you to interact with many celebrities and public figures. Co-workers are nice but management is bad and unorganized. For the amount of work you do the salary is not acceptable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place i have ever worked
Chef (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 August 2016
I took the owner to the labour board and won. 65hours a week and the owner felt salary meant what ever he wanted when he wanted.
A horrible experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boutique Hotel
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 August 2016
Great people to work with, fast paced working environment, good pay.

Learned how to be more professional with guest interactions, senior management is caring and helpful.
Pros
Great people to work with, fast paced working environment, good pay.
Cons
No lunch provided for staff, small staff lunch room
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perp Cook
Perp cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 July 2016
I was a Co-op student at Windsor Arms Hotel. Everyone treated me really well and I learned a lot. Working under pressure and really fast. Windsor Arms really help me for other kitchen.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Guest Services Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 April 2016
Absolutely horrible. Low pay. No respect. No breaks. No employee benefits. Poor management.
Has potential - but not with the current owner/management
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Politics.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 March 2016
Needs to be organised, Good Supervision needed, Employees should be respected and treated equally. Needs good Judgement on Employees.
Cons
No breaks, No Food to employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Windsor Arms Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 22 reviews
53
43
35
21
110

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
2.1Salary/Benefits
1.8Job Security/Advancement
1.9Management
2.4Culture

Windsor Arms Hotel Reviews by Location