WIMPY Employee Reviews

Showing all 180 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent enough
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Worthing8 May 2019
it was good working here however the tips were divided monthly which raised suspicion that the owner was most probably taking a sum of the tips for himself
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Cashier, Waitress and Hostess (Former Employee) –  Mthatha30 March 2019
Its a great place to be, where you meet new people with different cultures and different opinions. Where you learn to be among other people and learn to adapt to the place so that you can love the job even more. working with other people is one of the great things I have learned because working with other people teaches you how to work as team and also as an individual, it also teaches us how to treat other people .
Pros
buy our own lunches
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting Management and Horrible WorkPlace
Waitress - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire11 February 2019
I really enjoyed working alongside and interacting with the customers, however the manager/owner was incredibly rude to the staff members. He was known to be talking rudely about his customers, as well as the members of staff that work for him. I never signed a contract after working with the company for several months. Gave him my pre-employment checks before I started work and he took numerous photos of them on his personal mobile phone, where is the data protection? Most disgusting thing is when they drop the food, we have to pick the food back up and put it back on the plate. A typical day would be coming in for the breakfast shift and starting the washing machine, and prep the food, or being on the floor serving customers their orders. Manager was incredibly abusive when I went on break and came back, instantly complaining I am too slow because dishes have piled up and that I am a bad worker, this decreased my work moral. The hardest part of the job was that most of the staff working at the Basingstoke are Nepalese workers, they are known talking about you behind their backs in their own language. The most enjoyable part of the job is mainly interacting and meeting the customers on a daily basis. Here in Basingstoke there is no management support, no shift leaders, no supervisors, no manager! I definitely would never recommend working here at all!
Pros
Free Lunch, Lovely Customers
Cons
Long Hours, Low Pay, Rude Staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Sandton, ZA16 January 2019
It is a fun and friendly place,busy with flexible working hours at a great atmosphere.and has got best breakfast served daily,at affordable value for money
Pros
free lunch
Cons
flexible hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Waitron (Current Employee) –  Mthatha, Eastern Cape10 January 2019
Wimpy Myezo Engen is a great restaurant to work at. Kind Management that is efficient and approachable. Busy restaurant resulting in accumulating great work experience in dealing with customers, working in a team, deadlines and pressure as well as brand loyalty.
Pros
Patient management and good work experience
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First QSR in India
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  New Delhi, Delhi2 January 2019
A typical day is very robust and full of action, you never know how the day passes at the restaurant. Each day brings new challenges with excitements and ends up in new learning, you never know what the day will bring for you.
Pros
New learning.
Cons
Low pay rates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (contract) (Former Employee) –  Bellville, ZA19 December 2018
Doing cash ups,helping customers over the counter taking deliveries answer the phones.Doing get collection
We weren't allowed for any tips.
Didn'tenjoy working for wimpy
Pros
45min
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Manageress (Former Employee) –  Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng11 November 2018
most enjoyable is meeting new people ,hard work to keep all customers happy,long hours,management can be very nice but on some levels very hard .if you do your best the rest will follow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Manager (Former Employee) –  Haverhill, Suffolk6 November 2018
I have start working with very poor English so I have started from the kitchen being washing up after that I have improved myself and start working in front of the house as a waiters.
I always was very good with my job so my boss offered me to become a manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, with a nice atmosphere
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Brean, Somerset16 September 2018
Whilst there I was taught many different aspects of working in a team.
Each part of the team was important, even when it was your turn to wash up, it all played a vital role.
After a couple of years I moved up to helping the suporvisor and was shown even more parts of the company.
It's a great place to work, as long as you've got the attitude to learn from your team members
Pros
Good friendly staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer care was there best
cashier / waitress (Former Employee) –  mdantasane14 September 2018
always the customers must be happy all the time gud service we deliver in our customers big smile all the time trict customers same level Be face of the company
Pros
no
Cons
over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Chef (Current Employee) –  Wembley Park Station7 September 2018
One thing I enjoy about this job is that I get to meet new people on a daily basis. I have learnt how to be more organised and I can now independently work on my own.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It tought me the basics of communication wtih client and customer service.
host (Former Employee) –  Beaufort West, Western Cape26 August 2018
I would provide seats to all Customers.
I would assist the waiters If there was to many customers.

It was a holiday Job therefor it was not much that I earned.

They had a culture of team work, which was great.
There was not a lot of politics.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working place
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Birkenhead, Merseyside18 August 2018
Wimpy is a great place to work. Always enjoyed my days whilst working. It's was hard working but enjoyable Al the time.we always had a laugh. I loved working there and would recommend it to others
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great at times but not as supportive as could be
Manager/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Essex1 August 2018
long hours, very busy and some stress. possibility to be great but held back by owner views. some good staff but work tiring and late nights could become an issue with younger people
Pros
nice views
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullied out of job by management
Waitress/Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hampshire22 July 2018
I really enjoyed interacting with customers at Wimpy, but the manager was horrific to his staff. Would make jokes about the staff (to their faces and behind their backs), was very rude talking about customers and overall not someone nice to be around. Handed my resignation in and was verbally abused by the manager for voicing my opinions about how I felt my time was at Wimpy. Wouldn't recommend working here at all!
Pros
Friendly Customers
Cons
Horrific Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
appalling
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Lakeside Shopping Centre, Essex19 June 2018
I was there for 2 weeks, within this time I was not paid once a weekly pay with a weeks delay to be given on the day that my second wages were due, staff were rude and unhelpful, Wages were under minimum wage and were not properly paid e.g. cash in hand.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Rude staff, bad pay, uncompliance to pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simply spot on fast food
Chef (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, Western Cape4 June 2018
With breakfast to dinners sorted in a clean open and always respectable restaurant environment, Wimpy has all you need to get ready for the day ahead starting with coffees.
Pros
fast
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Brits, North West29 May 2018
Working at wimpie was a good experience,As it was only for a short period of time and to build working experience and to learn how to work with clients.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Difficult customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cook
Cook (Former Employee) –  Spalding, Lincolnshire27 May 2018
I loved working for this company the pay was great and the owners were very understanding if you had a problem very quick to sort it out and help you there were great opportunities with this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WIMPY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 180 reviews
550
447
349
213
121

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture