William Day Construction Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy equipmemt operator
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Timmins, ON19 March 2018
Very good place to work.... Benefits are great, paid lunches and very friendly, most of the supervisor are great to work for. If you get laid off after 3 months it means your a bad apple. They keep and treat you well if you show a good work ethic.
Pros
Great benefits and paid lunches.
Cons
Some supervisors needs humain resources advice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people and steady work
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Timmins, ON3 December 2017
For working in Construction we are always working locally which is nice. Hours usually really good with opportunities for O/T.
Equipment very well maintained, maintenance dept on top of issues pretty quick. Lots of emphasis on safety.
Pros
paid lunches, good benifits
Cons
Job uncertainty but thats construction
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON9 October 2017
Good hours, and easy enough work. learning experience has been good even though its not the field of work i would like to be in. Hardest parts about work is definitely the winters, minimal time with family and always seems hard for them to give time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would be a good company if management actually listened to their employees
Rock truck driver At Hollinger\Pamour\Dome (Former Employee) –  timmins on3 April 2017
They favour men over women, the management is very young, no work ethic.
Middle management is pretty good, but they look you in the eye and lie.
Lower management is all about cutting each others throats.
Cons
Lack of knowledgable management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working environment was very good hours of work where very good
PARTS COUNTER/NIGHT SECURITY (Former Employee) –  Azilda, ON14 March 2017
Was shift work 12 hour shifts 2 weeks days and 2 weeks nights had a long weekend every other weekend benefits where good and also pension plan . Crew i worked on was very enjoyable to work with the salary and the hours of work and no advancement was the reason for leaving this employer
Pros
working enviroment
Cons
long hours when on night shifts, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sexist, chauvinistic, male-dominated, dead end job.
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON2 March 2017
You go where they tell you and do what they tell you. If you do that, with no questions asked and no delay, maybe you'll get to keep your job. It also helps if you're in one of the family cliques. To their credit they do employ women, though most are in a clerical position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get the experience then get out.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON10 January 2017
Not worth the time management is horrible trucks should be scraped only good is pay n hours if you get in other then that working for then is cross you're fingers and hope to not die in there horrid trucks or heavy equipment.
Pros
Hours and pay
Cons
Useless management and equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Heavy Duty Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  Copper Cliff, ON8 September 2016
Great place to work. Made a lot of friends, enjoyed my time there.
I learned a lot of new techniques and ways to fix equipment. Unfortunately I was laid off, but I would work there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company to work for
labourer/operator (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON27 June 2016
The workplace was good and ok. However the management is terrible. If you need a job work for Day, but get out and away if you can.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stupid company stupid place
Truck Driver/Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON27 May 2016
Nothing good to say about any of them and the management of the company.......Ignorant and rude all of them.....ka ka ka company over all..... they will find a way to get rid of you in less than the 90 days before your benefits......
Pros
nothing
Cons
everthing!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a day at work
Excavator Operator (Current Employee) –  Timmins, ON25 August 2015
Your work days are what you make of it.....I mind my own business , I always offer help in any way, because of my experience I am always consulted in certain jobs, and respected, I do overtime especially if a job has to be done asap, I put in my 12 hours do the best I can in a safely manner at all times..... and make sure I go home to my family.
Pros
schedule of 5 then 5 off
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a learning experience!!
Labourer (Current Employee) –  Copper Cliff, ON13 January 2015
labourer, shovelling, sanding, salting doorways and receive ore trucks at Nickel Rim Xstrata
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hammer Down and no time to stop
Driver (Former Employee) –  Sudbury7 February 2014
Well if you wanna work for the city dump then go work at the city dump. All there trucks are scrap and falling apart im suprised MTO hasn't yanked them off the road yet. Its a disgrace to see how some people operate the hunks of junk. But pay is good untill you get your experience or move up higher in there rankings. If your lucky to do that then now you will be driving a new hunk of junk from none only then your local International dealer because someone had a good idea to stop buying real trucks like a Kenworth. Enough said approach with caution.
Pros
Paid lunches in a filthy environment
Cons
long hours but it's trucking
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good learning experiance
heavy equipment operator /supervisor (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON22 November 2013
all in all very good employer just low on salary,older equipment but make due with what u got at time ,good people working for them just wanted to advance my knowledge more ,but good company to get learning experience
Pros
work 12 get paid 12, paid threw lunch
Cons
older equipment always breaking
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright place
Heavy Equipment Operator/ Labourer (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON15 May 2013
management not very coordinated but overall all around good company
Pros
ben lively
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 5Report

See more William Day Construction reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at William Day Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 17 reviews
52
44
37
23
11

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture

William Day Construction Reviews by Location