WillBros Group, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 95 reviews matching the search See all 191 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Fort macmurray18 May 2019
Worked for wilbros in the e and I department. Extremely poor management more concerned about getting their buddies promoted than doing the job correctly. I was a foreman and quit after watching the project manager promote his friends while the company lost millions. Worst company in the patch for electrical.
Pros
None
Cons
8 hour days poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Site Administrator, Receiver, Subcontracts (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB25 March 2019
great place to work, hard industry given the current economy. I had worked with a great group of people while I was there, most of whom still work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good job
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB18 March 2019
job was behind from the start. KBR and Flint had all ready been removed from the project. So we really had to execute it correctly. this project got Willbros a lot of extra work. it just happened to be when the industry crashed.
Pros
money
Cons
poor industry at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best company's i have worked for
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 January 2019
One of the best company's i have worked for by far and would love the opportunity to work for them again. Most money i made with any company and best safety culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scope of work was varied and challenging
Materials/ Equipment Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 January 2019
My time at Willbros was both a pleasure and a valuable learning experience. The people I worked with were team players that always cooperative and friendly. Willbros was very talented at creating a team spirit and mentoring there employees in a positive manner.
Pros
training opportunities
Cons
subject to Oil and Gas fluctuation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great time
1year Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 January 2019
Good pay, good company. Made lots of friends. Gained lots of experience in industrial. Lots of overtime and got a bonus at the end of the project. Recommended.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy when work to be had. Poor management hiring decisions.
Electrican (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB3 December 2018
I had an awesome group to work with through the 2 years with this company. Unfortunately, some of the management that were hired to run jobs were utterly incompetent. I'm speculating, but that could have been a reason why the work dried up completely when the market crashed while some companies were still able to keep some guys busy.
Pros
Pay, available work hours
Cons
Upper level management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Safety culture and job training programs
AB Welding & Coating Inspector (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 August 2018
Great Company. They have treated me with care and diligence. I have never had to look for work. They have trained me for each task or job they have asked me to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB9 August 2018
Good Managment team, if we were short on supplies we never waited long for material. Good group of people, understanding and fair. Had a lot of fun working here.
Pros
Managment
Cons
They dont exist anymore
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good management.
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 July 2018
The supervisors, Formans, don't know how to handle people. They don't listen to some suggestions to lessen the works and make it easier and save money for the company. They don't put the right people in the job to minimize error and repetition of works. It's a waste of money when they cut short the cables.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive safe fun
lead laborer (Former Employee) –  syncrude aurora28 June 2018
Good pay shift work 7/7
good manaement
good benefits
had our own lockers for work stuff
travel pay
fly in/out
lots of overtime
safety first
all ppe provided
the list goes on
Pros
7/7 shift wotk lots of overtime great pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, quick days
Fuel truck driver (Former Employee) –  Ft. McMurray, AB31 May 2018
Busy days. Shifts start with informational meetings and end with a debrief meeting.
Great people on crews, very helpful.
Camp food was good and chefs are top notch
Pros
Prime Rib night
Cons
Shared Washroom/showers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be a team player
ACCOUNTING SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB10 May 2018
Great field personnel working hard to perform professionally. Mind on task, with no limit to effort provided. Difficult to receive support from corporate office. Bogged down by details, rather than the true objective, and customer service.
Pros
Great Field Staff Working as a Team
Cons
Lack of value from corporate office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 April 2018
Worked with a great group, wish we could've won more bids to secure more work. Very unique approach to managing projects, I have never been more prepared for going to site after going through Willbros' Stage Gate 5 system.
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great wages
2nd Year Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 March 2018
great company to work with a premium for night shift . good leadership fair safety company. great other locations to work at . I Enjoyed mt time there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mediocor company
Welding Apprenticeship (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB7 March 2018
keeps you working
transfers you to other sites after projects are complete
they don't follow the union rates that you are entitled to
very clicky
company going down the drain, just look at their stock
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Culture of People
HSE Advisor (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB25 February 2018
Most enjoyable part of coming to work and working on various sites was meeting lots of different people, so many nice and friendly people made it fun to come to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Excavator Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB3 February 2018
I personally have not had any problems regarding their pay rate, scheduling or scope of work . I would definitely go back if they needed me. I had a ton of fun!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Excavator Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB14 January 2018
Worked up in Fort McMurray Alberta . Worked on civil but job came to a end . Was a two week in one week out schedule so it was an awesome schedule . Guy actually had a life .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall decent company to work for.
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 December 2017
I Was on afternoon / night shift, supporting two welding crews with materials. I had various extra duties including loading trailers and staging orders for day shift both loading and for shop orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WillBros Group, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 191 reviews
553
463
339
221
115

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

WillBros Group, Inc. Reviews by Location