Wilco Contractors Southwest Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck driver
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 March 2019
very bad company to work for as a driver you mean nothing to them no benefits to truck drivers , They treated you like a criminal , they blame the driver for mechanical problems to the truck he is driving and definitely they don't like to fix them , they force the driver to speed and the do over load the trucks big times , and when your pay check finally arrives you better count your hours .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
lead hand (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 February 2019
good place to work, definitely great equipment and great tools. lots of hours and tons of work, but thats a good thing. foreman is good and lets me move up in position each year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Notch Company
Site Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 January 2019
Excellent place to work with lots of room for career advancement. Management cares about employees and helps to instill a good company culture into all employees. Over the years I have learned many things from coworkers and management and have excelled in many categories because of the unwavering support from upper management. Long hours in the summer, however the pay and sense of pride from doing high quality jobs far out weighs and downside to the hours. Safety is of high priority to this company and it shows daily. If you are looking for a job in a fast paced construction industry Wilco would be a perfect fit, especially if you are looking for a company with a very diverse resume and that is truly a professional in the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
landscaper
landscaper (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 January 2019
started here in 2015 and still working and moving up in position. lots of work available, never ran out of projects or places to be. foreman is great, good to work with, crew members are all pretty decent people and all put their work in. long days, but the pay is good and never have to worry about running out of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Foreman (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 January 2019
I started as a equipment operator and my seconded year became a foreman, lots of room for advancement at Wilco the site supervisors are more than helpful and are willing to spend the time with you to learn.
I’d recommend anyone that’s wants to learn and get the experience to apply at Wilco
Pros
Room to advance good training safety orintated
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Landscape Labourer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 January 2019
good place to be, came here form another landscape company and glad i did. have moved up a lot in position and wages since i started. supervisors treat you good and they have a good attitude at work. its hard work but good steady hours and good pay.
Pros
great pay, good supervisor
Cons
long days, hard work outdoors
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for a career
landscaper (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 January 2019
worked here for a few yearsin calgary before I moved away, joined them again in vancouver. great place to turn landscaping into an actual career and get somewhere. started on the shovel, moved my way up every year. long hours, but good work enviroment and the managment were good to work with.
Pros
lots of hours, great pay, room for advancement
Cons
hard work, long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Safe place to work
Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 January 2019
Great place to work
most Supervisors have patience and will coach you on tasks that you haven't done before
good equipment
very safety aware
great people to work with
Pros
Lots of hours
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Current employee (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 December 2018
Fleet manager has cameras in shop and screen in his office, feel like you are always been watched. Mechanics are ok to get along with except equipment mechanics think they are the best and don't speak to the other mechanics. There is no lunchroom, eat while you work. Poor shop setup.
Pros
Money
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an awesome experience
Landscape Labourer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 October 2018
I was glad to finally have the experience of working in the construction field. I love being part of a team where we can all creat or redo, and make people happy and surprised because of the work that has been done.
Pros
Got to have experience
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work for friendly work place
Site Foreman / Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 October 2018
good place to work and friendly management, i would recommand wilco to anyone that want a safe and friendly work environement. Lots of hours and pay pretty good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 September 2018
I worked here for a few years.big company,lots of room for advancement.good training.there are many many branches of Vipond.locations all over north america
Pros
good money
Cons
out of town work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Shop Hand (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK15 September 2018
My job consisted of keeping the shop clean - the floor and shelves. I also watered shrubs, and grass.

Co-workers are friendly.

Management is easy to talk to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Labourer/Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 June 2018
good place to work, lots of room for advancement in position and wage if you put in a good effort. fast pace of construction but they put out good quality work.
Cons
long days, tough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST place imaginable to work
Hoe Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 March 2018
You want my personal review? Stay clear of this company at all costs. Horrible management rude and ignorant cocky superintendents and foreman (they know who they are) that love to drive around in their fancy work trucks and contribute nothing positive to the job and beat people down and make them feel worthless. Horrendous work atmosphere i have absolutely zero positive gains from working for this company it was a complete waste of time and if i could go back in time and re do it i would never have even shown up for the interview.
Pros
decent newer equipment
Cons
horrible management, low work moral, zero perks, unappreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Labourer/OperatorLabour (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 September 2017
Fast pace great place to work. People there that work there are awesome. That's the work plenty of opportunity to move up. Physically hard though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 15Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interview and orientation isn't what happens in the field.
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 June 2017
Was haired to be a foreman for planting trees, shubs and laying sod. With irrigation system skills. Orientation said they won't get you doing something you have no experience in. First crew i go to. Not even close to what i was hired for. The company sets you up to fail.
Pros
Long hours with no brakes.
Cons
Tasks you have no experience with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and lack of knowledge
Concrete (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 May 2017
Absolutely no organization or communication at wilco. Very large crews but none speak English or very broken English. So hence that lack of communication, none have the knowledge as well to do what's required so instead of teaching or training they scream and complain. Which of course is very hard to understand, save the headache and go somewhere else.
Pros
Stand around waiting to work
Cons
To many ppl that have no clue
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced construction
Landscape Foreman (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 February 2017
Landscape construction requiring hard work with various types of equipment from skid steers to hand rakes. Outdoor work with a variety of trades with fullfilling results.
Pros
Building projects
Cons
long summer hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Working foreman/equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 November 2016
wilco is a great company they treat employees well, they offer competitive wages and maintain their equipment it is very well managed. I keep them in mind for future employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 13Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wilco Contractors Southwest. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 26 reviews
510
48
32
21
15

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Wilco Contractors Southwest Reviews by Location