Wholesale Club Employee Reviews

Found 41 reviews matching the search See all 47 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very boring
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON20 January 2018
I worked as a service clerk in the general merchandise department. And 99% of the time I would be working alone so it was a pretty lonely and boring job especially on weekends when you don't have shipments to put out.
Pros
my GM manager
Cons
old owner
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A different kind of store
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON11 October 2017
it's your basic retail store with a twist. their is a large business part to it by being dealing with other local business first hand. deals with a large customer base. management is decent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with flexible hours.
Front end assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 October 2017
- diverse workplace
- learned how to provide professional customer service
- most enjoyable part, when customers greatly appreciate your service
- management was great, listened to everybody's opinion/suggestion and provided resaults
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
GM Associate (Former Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BC12 September 2017
the people that work there are the best. The supervisor I had was wonderful and really appreciated the effort that went into cost control, and was greatful that she could trust my judgement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work at for your first job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 August 2017
selfish department managers, busy for the most of the times, when it is quite it is very boring and some employee's does not acknowledge nor follow the rules and safety procedures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 July 2017
Friendly staff
Cooperation between different departments
Busy on weekends and slow on weekdays
Reasonable responsibilities and tasks
In-depth training
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Standing for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting co- workers and helpful managers
Foods Associate (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BC10 July 2017
- Work hard and do your best and you will make it through the day.

- I learned how to fulfill the job I was hired to do

- Management was as helpful as they could be

- Co-workers were interesting and willing to help when they can

- Figuring out what to do next as the manager do not always provide adequate instruction

- Going home or being paid?
Pros
Free food may occasionally be provided to employees
Cons
lack of comprehensive instruction at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and management
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK9 May 2017
Great place to work, the managers are great, and co-workers are great. I work at a till, go put products left at till back, get tobacco products for customers, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wholesale Club
Front end cashier (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 December 2016
Overall, Wholesale Club is an okay job for a high school student such as myself who needs the experience and who will have the opportunity to leave and go to better jobs. There is very rarely any opportunity for career advancement, and the management does not properly motivate or help the employees.
Pros
Nice employees
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 November 2016
understandably low wage however the main issue I had was the management. constantly creating drama among the employees, having favorites that continuously leave and or do less work while those not in the managers good favor have to make up for said favorites lack of work.
Pros
great fellow employees
Cons
horrid management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistent,
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC16 August 2016
It was a not a bad place to work, colleagues were great!
Upper management was very busy and unfortunately did not have ample time for individual stores.
Pros
monthly staff lunches
Cons
extremely long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK31 May 2016
This was my first job I ever had and I loved the people and the work. I always worked hard and even worked extra hours when needed. I varied from 20 up to 37hours. I always worked weekends and enjoyed it.
Pros
Great experience, lots of fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management,hardest job an funy
Meat Clerk (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 April 2016
I enjoy to work at this place, the management is exceptional. I learned that I have management skills that allow me to manage a team without problem. The hardest part of the job is to work in a cold dairy cooler and freezers and to lift heavy things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cooperative team members
Front end supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fort St John, BC28 March 2016
It is a challenge to work over there as being only the supervisor in front end. People would come directly to the front desk and its a big responsibility to make happy your customers. My favorite part is working in Cash office. doing openings and closings and making sure I am balancing safe and not missing any money. Working in Tobacco cage is enjoyable. Doing orders and receiving them is great fun.
Pros
Cooerative team members
Cons
Less hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON20 September 2015
Only part time 12 hrs per week,enjoy working with the public.helpful staff.hardest part of job was remembering product codes. Cust0mers could be very impatient/.
Pros
Great traing, nice employees
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy making customers and other people happy
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 July 2015
Like I said, I enjoy making customers and other people happy. I think there is nothing better than making someone's day with politeness and a big smile at work or where ever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
❸ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS20 November 2014
If youre a student looking for good part time work this is a job for you
Pros
lunches
Cons
hours available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an enjoyable place to work
o Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nelson, BC11 August 2014
It was a a fun job. I learnt how to enter codes which I never did before and I learnt the codes fast so I didn't need the code book anymore. Management wasn't very good I felt she could have done better and my co-workers were amazing.. The hardest part of my job was the grumpy costumers that would come in and yell at me because we did not except visa. I really enjoyed talking to all the elderly people who would come through my till and tell me all their old stores. I love listening to them
Pros
10% disconnects
Cons
The cement floors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 September 2013
I only took it in a time of need, kinda gross to work there you won't be able to shop there after
Pros
discountts on lunch
Cons
smelly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Stock Boy (Former Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BC26 May 2013
Worked graveyards. Stocked the shelves at night. Had lots of fun,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Wholesale Club reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wholesale Club. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 47 reviews
55
421
317
22
12

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture