Wholesale Club Employee Reviews

Found 36 reviews matching the search See all 45 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK3 September 2019
it was a good place to work good vacation time and the manager was very good at his job. very friendly person to work with and mkes sure he has a personal connection with each human
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism runs rampant.
Order Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 August 2019
Full time promises fail to be met and turn part time into casual. Facilities need a huge upgrade. Minimum wage for life. Promotions not given to those deserving.
Pros
None
Cons
Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for someone looking to move up in the grocery industry
Produce Clerk Part Time (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC14 July 2019
The pace of the workday for a morning produce shift depends on how busy it gets for example, some days the produce order comes late and you have to work a little faster to make sure the produce displays are fresh and full. The people are friendly and the hours are alright.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Colleagues, Productive Floor
Produce Clerk (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 July 2019
Starting out at this workplace I had a lot to learn about it's inner machinations but with the guidance of my superiors and the friendly demeanor of my fellow colleagues, this never felt like too large a task to undertake.

Both getting tips from other colleagues as well as experimenting to find faster and more productive methods of working the floor and accomplishing my tasks has been a challenging but interesting task in itself.

The hardest part of the job if you're starting out is meeting the output goals, which can seem daunting at first but will slowly get easier if you're willing to apply the elbow grease.

Would recommend to anyone who enjoys physical activity in their daily schedule.
Pros
Flexible Hours, Physical Work, Paid Breaks
Cons
Steep Learning Curve, Extended time in Coolers/Freezers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Grocery clerk (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 May 2019
-Typical day, clock in, put my stuff away, go to the back to grab my cart and a box to put all cardboard in, go to the back to confirm what task I will be doing for that day and proceed with my responsibilities.
- I learned how to properly organize and stock shelves.
- Management was really good.
- Workplace culture was positive.
- Hardest part N/A
- Enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people.
Pros
Learning greater responsibilities about the workplace
Cons
Distance of location was far
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's air conditioned
MEAT SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Weyburn, SK29 April 2019
Working at the Wholesale Club was very good for customer service training and handling food. typically your days are very repetitive and the routines are daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive happy place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Williams Lake, BC17 April 2019
I worked with a bunch of happy, funny, outgoing people. It was always a blast going to work and knowing I was going to have fun. It felt like I was apart of a family when I was there, and that's what I look for in a job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wholesale Club
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Cornwall, ON6 February 2019
Shortened hours, standing for long periods of time, favoritism, no chance of advancement, no benefits. Co-workers are friendly. When busy it's hard to find help.
Pros
Close to home, some staff friendly, 10% discount
Cons
No benefits, standing for long periods, favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Stock Clerk / Cashier (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON4 January 2019
Employees are valued highly and concerns are astutely resolved, generally benefiting all involved members of the dispute. Customer service was held on a considerably high pedestal, management as well as general staff would frequently do all they could within their power to contribute to an overall positive experience for both new and returning customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace working place
Complete cashier (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC8 October 2018
It is a fast pace working environment. Need to be focused and fast in checking the items purchased against the bill. Keep in touch with cashiers and advise where the mistake is made.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC3 September 2018
It was a fun place to work at. My manager and supervisor was really helpful and flexible regardind schedules. They always.let me learn new things.Best place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work on
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 September 2018
I learned a lot of customer service related skills working on this company, however I did not feel that I could advance through the company. Which was the main reason for me to leave.
Pros
Discounted groceries
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, but not a deal maker
STORE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC19 May 2018
Great if you are looking for a job with benefits like dental care. However, the salary is not competitive and starts at minimum wage. You have to work a lot to increase your salary. If you are part time, the minimum wage will increase faster.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Salary is not based on merit, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first place to work..
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 May 2018
Wholesale is a place filled with a lot of coworkers in highschool, college and university. For that reason you see many people come and go during the year. As long as you are a responsible person and communicate to your supervisors your job is very much secure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work
Produce/Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON31 January 2018
poor managment

lots of unqualified people that work there, people who cant fulfill basic job requirements

Many employees take way more smoke breaks than they are allotted and employees continually show up drunk
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very boring
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON20 January 2018
I worked as a service clerk in the general merchandise department. And 99% of the time I would be working alone so it was a pretty lonely and boring job especially on weekends when you don't have shipments to put out.
Pros
my GM manager
Cons
old owner
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A different kind of store
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON11 October 2017
it's your basic retail store with a twist. their is a large business part to it by being dealing with other local business first hand. deals with a large customer base. management is decent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with flexible hours.
Front end assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 October 2017
- diverse workplace
- learned how to provide professional customer service
- most enjoyable part, when customers greatly appreciate your service
- management was great, listened to everybody's opinion/suggestion and provided resaults
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
GM Associate (Former Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BC12 September 2017
the people that work there are the best. The supervisor I had was wonderful and really appreciated the effort that went into cost control, and was greatful that she could trust my judgement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work at for your first job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 August 2017
selfish department managers, busy for the most of the times, when it is quite it is very boring and some employee's does not acknowledge nor follow the rules and safety procedures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport