Whole Foods Market Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
FOOD PREP (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON6 May 2018
My experience at whole foods market was very enjoyable, The staff were very nice and the tasks were easy to catch on and complete.
Overall very good job if you are looking for a happy, positive enviorement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very negative culture
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 May 2018
incredibly dishonest company that promotes a bully culture to keep the bulk of employees revolving in and out.

left because i was constantly being asked not only to break store policies but on many occasion Canadian laws.

ive never been somewhere so negative towards employees and customers.

the bad press they get in the news doesnt even scratch the surface of how sleazy they get here.
Pros
free food sometimes, basic health benefits
Cons
mentaly exhuasting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst dollar for your work....
Receiver/Prep Chef (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC1 May 2018
Everyone is lit....
Pay is the worst part x100
Work you'll do vs pay you get? Not even worth it.
Would never go back. Management gave out pathetic raises.
Manager never cared about anything but numbers.
Lit people.
Pros
Free Food and Lit People
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere, great co-workers and follows job culture
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Unionville, ON1 May 2018
I really enjoyed working here, I would walk into work and just feel a great energy upon entrance. My coworkers were always happy and we made sure we made others happy as well. The work as a cashier was easy and it made the day roll by very quickly.
Pros
30% off with additional discounts based on health
Cons
Early morning store meetings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working environment, lots of fun, staff like family.
Whole Body Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 April 2018
I worked at Whole Foods Market in Toronto for 6 years and had the time of my life. My co-workers were like family to me. The work load was heavy with labour cuts, which was eventually why I left the company. Overall I have no regrets and would recommend this job to people who want to work hard and have a good time doing it.
Pros
All the amazing people who work there
Cons
Pressure to work harder and faster
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst pay for your hard work
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC12 April 2018
Actually... literally... seriously... the worst pay for work ratio in a job ever.
Pay your workers more plain and simple holy cow i've never seen a certified chef ever be paid less, same with the prep chefs.
Its actually the worst ever. And that is just the pay.
Pros
food and people
Cons
almost everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Cheese Buyer, Supervisor, Team Trainer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 April 2018
Whole Foods has there mission statements on the wall of every store, I feel they personally live by none of them. The company also puts far to much pressure on their management team to succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 March 2018
Whole Foods was a great place to work! I was passionate about my work because I loved Whole Food's values and the people who supported them. The management were all very accommodating while I was in school and they always offered to train me further in areas I wanted to learn more about.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for after highschool
Bakery Team Member (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON8 March 2018
Started here at 18 and the advancement I was able to make in the 4 years I was there was acceptable. I would recommend working for this company to anyone who is at a standstill in life
Pros
20 percent discount
Cons
Nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A terrible first job experience.
Meat and Seafood Team Member (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON5 March 2018
Whole Foods Oakville has an issue with rampant harassment in the workplace, horrible management that involved threats and humiliation, and a heartlessness that extended to laughing while questioning me about having to take a day off for my grandmother's funeral. Do not work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dead-end job as a kitchen equipment cleaner
Prepared Foods Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 March 2018
kitchen cleaning department is understaffed. hard and dirty work. pay is only a bit over minimum wage. no other department wants to train you when you ask for a transfer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive enviroment
Pastry worker (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON1 March 2018
Every day there always mixes to be made, when you don't know a procedure (since it is new tto you), it does not hurt to ask so you can remember again. There is a schedule that must be followed and completed before wrapping up for the day so it does enforce time management. There are many different cultures under one roof, each with their fair share of tales. The toughest part is remembering the schedule for each week because you do not fully know what you will do each week. Overall is was great experience.
Pros
Choosing when to go on lunch and breaks
Cons
Random schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place to work in, but always short staffed
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC28 February 2018
its a great company but it's always short staffed. would be working overtime or working by yourself when someone calls in sick. the pay per hour isn't an issue though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Job but pay is low
Grocery Team Member (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC20 February 2018
I enjoyed working at Whole Foods and it was a very easy job. Sometimes customers were difficult but that's to be expected in retail. We got free snacks often which was nice.
Pros
Free food often, very relaxed job
Cons
working on feet all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, good people, good management
Stores Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON3 February 2018
I appreciate the opportunity to have worked at Whole Foods. I learned a lot. Management was fair. I enjoyed working with my co-workers. Thank you
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly fast paced environment, a little too tight knit
Customer Service TM (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 January 2018
For the most part this is a very fun environment great for people of all ages. The benefits are great and you have the opportunity to learn a lot about health and nutrition.
There is a lot of internal hiring which is great, but team leaders often have personal relationships with staff so there is a lot of favoritism that happens. Store leadership does not take enough strides to make sure department heads are doing a good job. Its hard to go to HR because they too are friends with the same department heads you want to complain about.

Bad customers are regularly rewarded for abusing staff

Perfect part time job for student, and full timers get benefits.
Pros
Benefits, very friendly
Cons
A lot of standing, rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are respected from management
Baker (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC26 January 2018
Interesting place to work, l have learned a lot from working there. Meet interesting people from employees to customers in community. Great sales and employee discounts.
Pros
free lunches once a month
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely.
Bakery (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 January 2018
I typical day at work is helping the customers. I think the customers would make it the worst, as they're hard to handle. Other than that, it's a lovely experience. The company really makes a family out of the team members.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great employees terrible management
bakery team member (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC13 January 2018
Horrible relationship with management. Ended up fired but receiving a settlement for unjust termination. Team members were great and fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Customer Service Lead (Former Employee) –  Unionville, ON8 January 2018
Do not work in customer service. Team leader is god awful. Store team leader just as bad. Extremely inconsiderate uncompassionate, heartless, rude, selfish management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Whole Foods Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 6,009 reviews
52.1K
42.1K
31.2K
2370
1262

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.9Culture