WestJet Airlines Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WestJet
Customer service agent (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 June 2018
working for Westjet is really great, the people you work with are good the benefits are fantastic and you can learn a lot and grow within the company. but you are very underpaid and understaffed and overworking their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Friendly, busy, happy, peacful, positiv
Customer Service Representative/Boarding agent (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL1 June 2018
I loved this job the most! If I had to pick the best people to work with it would be the West Jet Family. Everything great you hear about them helping people is really what it is like to work with them. Every day so so happy for me going to work. I truly feel that I have another family. Most exciting job ever! CEO's Come to the base and meet you and want to know how you are. That is important. They care about moral. They make sure you're happy and if you have a concern they are their to help in any way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fly the skies
Flight Attendant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 May 2018
Fly people from A to B to visit family or friends, go for work, the good the bad and the ugly.
Workplace culture is usually pretty high, but in recent months it is a bit tense with a unionization looming.

The benefits and flexibility of this job are a huge bonus, and will be very hard to give up. The wonderful people I meet on a day to day basis are interesting, unique and wonderful.

It is stressful and tough being away from the family for work, and that is the reason I am making a career change. 11 plus years ago, this job was perfect for my lifestyle.

I love the benefits, cheap travel is a huge bonus attached to this job, family travel will not be financial feasible from now on!
Pros
Cheap travel, great health benefits and profit share
Cons
tough hours, not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for
Flight attendant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 May 2018
They allowed co-worker to send you physical threats without firing them. Flight attendants drink on the job from the bar in the airplane and a lot of them smoke weed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fabulous place to work.
Customer Services Agent (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 May 2018
Working with a fun loving, out going, interactive and caring group of people makes it a great place to get up and go work everyday.

Shifts available day and night to fit your lifestyle and a great team who will trade and cover shifts so you can get to those important events in your life.
Pros
Great people to work with.
Cons
Long hours, physical work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guest Service Ambassador
Guest Services Ambassador, Training Guide (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 May 2018
A very physically demanding position. Requires heavy lifting of baggage, pushing guests in wheelchairs for long distances. Assisting guests check in for flights. Assist gate controllers with boarding guests on to aircraft.
Pros
great support from coworkers
Cons
physically challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An engaging place to work
Guest Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 May 2018
Overall WestJet is a great employer.
There are small issues with work/life balance, especially if you aren't located near the airport you work at. This is most prevalent in the mid-level positions, where shifts are 12hrs (on a smooth day). This can easily result in 15hr days outside of your home, depending on where you're located in relation.
Salary is a little low in some cases, recently revised, but the benefits are great. Vacation time is excellent and bonuses and such are available as part of the total compensation.
Job security is superb - they don't really let people go without extensive cause. Advancement is another story, as promotion bottlenecks fairly quickly. Being able to move can greatly increase those opportunities.
Management, in my experience, has always been good. I have not clashed with people above me often, especially outside of the frontline capacity.
Culture is second to none in my opinion. There is a slight identity crisis currently with fast growth and increasing of employees, but the underlying culture remains.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture has faded away
IT Department (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 May 2018
WestJet was at one time among the most sought after employers in Alberta. As they have grown, the culture has eroded and now it is much like any other large corporate entity. Mostly faceless, all business.

Flight benefits are nice, but any decent salary elsewhere lets you pay for flights yourself.

The location up near the airport is great if you live in the north side of Calgary, but there is nowhere to leave for a quick lunch.
Pros
Casual work attire
Cons
No culture anymore
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Not disclosed due to retaliation. Not a pilot. (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 May 2018
Typical day at work is characterized by non-stop interruptions and borderline harassment from management.

Resources are often channeled away from corporate work by junior and middle managers to fulfil their "secret" projects, which make them look good in the eyes of upper management.

No learning opportunities.

Junior and middle management is inept.

Workplace culture among rank and file is good. People generally want to help and make things better. Management however is incompetent and micro-management is the norm.

HR has good intentions, but is ineffectual in addressing legitimate grievances, because the unspoken policy is to take the management's word over employees.
Pros
Honestly good people with big hearts. Travel benefits.
Cons
No career advancement prospects. Minimal vacation days. No career development opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome!
CSA Agent (Current Employee) –  Cassidy, BC7 May 2018
Working here is great!

I check people in for their flights and deal with any questions or problems that may occur during check in times, caring for guests needs and making sure they have the best experience possible.

my station manager is amazing! very understanding and always willing to help. very supportive and kind

the hardest part of the job is dealing with software related issues when i'm checking in guests


the most enjoyable is just working with my team everyday to make the best day for everyone
Pros
working here
Cons
abnormal software or hardware issues while checking guests in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with great co-works
TAC Agent/Crew Chief Relief/Tow Team Relief (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 April 2018
its great place to work with wonderful people who are willing to go the extra mile to make sure you feel at home.
who mangers seem to be losing the sight of what the employee are going though on a day to day, and don't seem to want to listen
Pros
brenafits
Cons
under paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 April 2018
The best airline you could ever work for. The company culture is unlike any other. The people are super happy and the benefits are fantastic. Anyone would be lucky to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good corporate culture
Manager of Telecom/Project Management (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 April 2018
No nonsense work environment which comes with being a contractor. It is a challenging work environment which requires good time management and knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flight Attetdant
Onboard Customer Service and Safety Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 April 2018
Excellent place to work, good values,culture and attitudes. Can be long hours but rewarding job.People are fabulous and most buy into the culture.Pay is average with ability to move up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work from home :)
Sales Super Agent (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 April 2018
Loved working from home and doing team activities. Working in the call centre, you have to stay at your desk as you are monitored to make sure you are on calls EVERY SECOND. Benefits were good but did not outweigh the salary.
Pros
Co-workers become lifelong friends
Cons
Schedules and shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good values and great culture.
Air-Supply Agent (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 April 2018
I worked for WestJet for 3 years. I loved my job. The people there are simply the best. Even when the day is dull the people will always cheer you up.
The Culture is fantastic. They say they hire people based on their personalities and whether they are "WestJetty" and it truly shows. I have never had the pleasure of working with more people of a similar mindset to my own before working here.
The friendliest people on earth.
The management was always helpful and knowledgeable. Generally, superiors have done the same job before and know what you do day to day and what you go through. They are willing and friendly.
It is a big corporation and sometimes that shows in decisions and policies, but for the most part, as far as working for a corporation, it is great.

Fast paced environments can be stressful and WestJet is no exception. People want and need to get places on time and the job can be stressful, especially when times get messy for customers.
Pros
Flight benefits, health and dental, people rock
Cons
Customers can suck, large compnay, fast paced and hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 April 2018
WestJet is a great company to work for and holds a fantastic culture and people. The benefits are excellent and help compensate for the lack in hourly pay. You will be working as a team to help the advancement and profitability of the company while ensure the highest level of guest service is achieved. Some managers are outstanding at their jobs and others coast along and are not helpful.
Pros
Flight and travel benefits
Cons
Shift work, unsupportive managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience yet
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON2 April 2018
Westjet was a fantastic place to have done my job shadowing. I learned alot for the little amount of time i was there. The people there were very friendly and open to giving advice about my future in aviation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Aircraft Groomer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 March 2018
Had a great experience working here and will miss the job and people i worked with. Always willing to help out there employees and make sure that there is a work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No life lousy pay.
TAC (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 March 2018
Be prepared to swallow lots of Westjet kool aid and have a second job as 25 hours a week at 14.68 is the majority of shifts and Westjet expects you to make them priority! Some of the Crew Chiefs there have a second job. Politics matter more than work performance. Steer clear.
Pros
Some great co workers and working in the industry.
Cons
Favourtism and political correctness plus low hours and pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WestJet Airlines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 233 reviews
5118
467
327
210
111

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.3Culture