Westburne Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job and the people I work with
Executive Assistant to the Vice President (Current Employee) –  Alberta31 October 2018
This is the best job I've ever had, I love working here and the people and executives I work with on a day to day basis.
Felt like I belonged from the get-go.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible culture. No training on anything.
Wire guy (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 August 2018
Terrible place to work. Empty promises by management. No training unless you spend hours trying to maneuver an ancient system. Managers not willing to train employees. Unless youve been there for 5 years no one will help you. I would recommend working elsewhere.
Pros
Free time googling new places to work.
Cons
Management not willing to offer support
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typically Corporate Structure
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK24 July 2018
Terrible place to work. they don't subscribe to family and want you to spend all of your time at home training. They give no support from upper management and when the upper management need to look good to their piers they fire someone without notice so it looks like they are doing something about it. They is some much "behind the back" going on that you fear for your own safety and well-being.
Pros
There are some people that care.
Cons
long hours no teamwork, everyone for themselves
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible and worse company westburne-rexel
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 April 2018
Work as a warehouse worker but give me too much task a task that is for 2 persons sometimes you cant even take a break , politics never ends, unprofessional warehouse manager and unorganized warehouse who ever the manager is in charged ... salary is not what you work you work twice as your salary if you work for your rate one day they will just fire you.
I dont recommend this company!
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, productive place to work
National Accounts Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB6 April 2018
One of the best electrical distributors out there. I just need to go elsewhere to advance in the field I want without having to move to another city..
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gret people to work with
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Smiths Falls, ON6 March 2018
I will miss the people that I worked with. The company is on solid ground with growth in it future. I would recommend this company to any young person looking for a career.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you like googling things
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK1 March 2018
Spent more time on Google than there was work to be done, very boring job with little to zero pay off in end except emails stating the "job" was awarded to someone else in industry
Pros
Free lunch every once in a while
Cons
Boring, management out of touch, sexist
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coaching
Business Development -Sales (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 January 2018
With the number of years in the lighting business, I have learned to apply the laws of the lighting formulas to price a number of projects in the greater Toronto area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse clerk
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 October 2017
Good balance and work enrovment
Work with team communicate with other
long term employment
be team work
long hours as necessary own transportation
open communication
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours various shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy work culture
Branch manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 July 2017
Worked here for ten years and was unceremoniously laid off ON my ten year anniversary. (Best thing to happen in retrospect)
Salaried employees will work twice the amount of paid time.
Sales people will kill themselves trying to meet unrealistic targets.
Upper management is SO out of touch. The company itself is constantly being sold to corporations who clean house when they take over.
Fellow employees were usually good. It's a very male dominated company and the Good Ole Boys club is in full effect.
Women are administrative. Men are management with few exceptions.
Pros
Great customers
Cons
Long hours. no job security. horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport

Want to know more about Westburne?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, good people, good benifits
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 June 2017
I worked in several departments from order picking, receiving and VMI. A typical day was pick up the the customer order sheet, go to the location and pull the quantity of the item ordered. Input all issues into the computer and print paperwork and shipping labels. I would then box, skid and wrap items and send to shipping department.
The workplace culture is good. most people get along with everyone, however the job can be stressful.
The hardest part about the VMI department was the tight deadlines to get the product to the customer and the constant rushes that had to get out right away.
The most enjoyable part of the jobs was working with some really good people and always busy.
Pros
People
Cons
Warehouse Supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Domaine de la construction
Représentant (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC8 May 2017
Bonne compagnie pour le marché électrique de la construction
Pros
Bon salaire
Cons
Pas d avancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Premium place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 April 2017
Solid place to work with a good environment for training and advancement. All staff take a min of 40 hours training each year but are encouraged to do more. Lots of senior staff there to teach the business. Strong social club that holds events and also a baseball team. They are always looking to add strong team players to the group.
Pros
Team environment
Cons
Fast paced and can get hectic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work until recently.
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON27 April 2016
I enjoy the working with fellow employees and dealing with customers. Upper Management is very demanding to the Detriment of the employee's.
Pros
Good Benefits and Company pension
Cons
Expect long Days and lack of help when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective, informative, fun.
Assistant advisor, showcase coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 September 2015
Westburne is a great organization. I see the company as one big family. Everyone is ready to help and is looking out for one another. The workplace is very organized.
Pros
Helpfulness
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 19Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor organization to work for
Account manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto19 January 2015
Very very disorganized
Little to no training or assistance
Management was misleading, unrealistic and always looking for ways to undermine the employees' every move.
Co-workers were the greatest part of going to work. They understand the delusional operations of the company and despised the incompetent management.
Pros
None
Cons
Answering to idiotic management
Was this review helpful?Yes 64No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON13 July 2014
Good people to work with.
Interesting customers.
Lots of variety throughout the day.
Pros
Lots of variety throughout the day.
Cons
No bonuses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 11Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Inside sales (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 October 2013
Was a great experience working for Westburne although too short of a timeline due to lay offs.
Pros
Great people to work with.
Cons
When sales are down, the staff get moved around and some get laid off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Westburne. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 19 reviews
54
44
35
21
15

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.8Culture