West 49 Employee Reviews

Found 118 reviews matching the search See all 119 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON20 March 2019
I really loved my co-workers, they were really outgoing and super positive! They taught me how to greet customers, fold the clothing properly and many more! The management was well taken care of from my supervisor and honestly, the hardest part of the job was when I had to get used to the daily routines in my first few days at West 49.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Getting used to the different routines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK3 March 2019
Working at west 49 was fairly boring due to other shops having better selections than us. Co-workers were nice to work with and get along. Wouldn't work there again unless pay was higher than minimum
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assist Manager/Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON29 January 2019
I loved working for West 49. I wouldn't say YM as a company is great, but West as a banner store was very enjoyable. I worked with an amazing team. Really had a great DM and RM
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment To Work In
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tsawwassen, BC24 January 2019
Great People
Lot of friendly customers
Poor Management
No real leader in the work space
Great Breaks
Lot of work for a minimum paid job
Overall management could be changed
Pros
Paid Breaks
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed it
Key Holder/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC3 January 2019
I enjoyed working here more than Boathouse, but the staffing and rules within the company changed when it was bought out by stitches, and I didn't like the new rule set
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business behind skateboards
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 December 2018
Shift work, long hours if your salary. Learned about the skate industry and how to run a business. Day to day operation selling, cleaning coaching and training staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Bramalea City Centre18 December 2018
Management was terrible the only fun thing about working here was the other sales associates!
The management were racists and just really bad people.
Pros
Cool sale associates
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC18 November 2018
This job was nice to be at, the environment was healthy and the work life was awesome. I made some good friends there and realized my potential is a lot greater than what I had previously thought.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here was fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK21 October 2018
Working at west 49 was a fun job. Management isn’t the best but your co workers make it a good experience. It was like being a little family. Fairly easy job too
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a stable job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 September 2018
I flaw about West 49 is that they hire students to set up the store then let them go; then hire people around the age of 18 to work as associates and cashiers.
Pros
Perks
Cons
Very little shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about West 49?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace with amazing management.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 August 2018
It was sad to see the store close. The experience and knowledge gained was remarkable, and the companies goals and culture were on point for the industry they were apart of. The management made the job better, being truly connected and wanting the best of the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON2 August 2018
I worked full time at this company. Well underpaid for a lot of hard work. And not so appreciative head office staff. The only one that was positive all the time was my district manager. As a salaried employee you are taking advantage of a lot. It’s a great starter job if you are looking for a management position but definitely not a good career.
Pros
Coworkers, Bonus incentive program, environment
Cons
Poor salary, difficult to advance positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, challenging and rewarding
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON17 May 2018
Good company to work for, during the time that I was there the company was sold so going through some changes was challenging but manageable. As a Store Manager they do expect you to do lots of extra "free" work out of your own time, often I had to take work home with me ex. employee reviews, scheduling, coaching etc. Offered benefits and competitive wages. No room for advancement within my area during that time unless I relocated. Great time working with visual merchandisers who were all so friendly and hard working. District Manager was awesome, always available and present. Big focus on customer service and training which is always a plus. Store was large, clean and well lit, very nice to work in. Staff were all wonderful.
Pros
Store was new, staff, wage, product
Cons
Advancement, working from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 May 2018
I do not have much to say about working here as it was not for long and it wasn't a job that I wanted to have. I only took it just to take it and have money in my pocket as a high school student.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC7 May 2018
Working a lot on hitting minimums for the month when it comes to sales. Selling anything from shoes, shirts, socks and skateboards. Very demanding when it come to minimums
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 May 2018
This was such an incredible first job for myself. It came at a great time in my life. I was really involved in the skateboarding community at the time, and I felt really at home working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK26 April 2018
The initial manager at my store was not professional at all. Very immature in front of customers and also degrading to me and other staff personally. The new managers were much better but I quit work due to returning to school full time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and awesome place
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB12 April 2018
I had a very fun time working here. I felt respected and wanted as an employee. It made me sad to hear of the location shutting down..................
Pros
Fair pay, good team, good discounts
Cons
Only season work. No incentive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St. John Island, NL7 April 2018
Will promise you everything and give you nothing. Lies and manipulation. If your skinny and pretty you can probably have relations with someone to get to the top.
Pros
None
Cons
Abusive, manipulation, corrupt
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Back to School Position
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON15 February 2018
This was a fun job. The training exercises were interactive and team building. The job overall focuses on meeting sales quotas which if you are not used to, can be overwhelming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at West 49. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 119 reviews
540
434
328
210
17

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
4.0Culture