Wawanesa Insurance Employee Reviews

Found 70 reviews matching the search See all 129 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company to work for
Claims (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 February 2019
Unless you're friends with management or a male you will not get anywhere in this company. Many people have left for this reason. I have many complaints and they will not hesitate to ambush you to try and force you out. I do not recommend this company and they do not look after their staff or care about their concerns
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Auto Insurance Broker Co-Ordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 February 2019
code applications, customer service
insurance
management tried very hard to ensure their employees are treated well
team building activities
rude customers/brokers
great internal culture goes a long way as far as raising employee engagement and motivating employees at the workplace goes
Pros
professional and impressively knowledgeable on every level of the industry
Cons
Old-school mentality/ micromanagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun enviroment
Commercial Lines Underwriter Senior (Current Employee) –  toronto1 February 2019
great culture, good family and work balance
learn a lot
a lot of advancement available
great management
people are the most enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technically challenging and productive environment
Senior QA Test Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 December 2018
A stable insurance company to work with and offers a lot of opportunity to grow in terms of career.

Good management support for their employees in terms of their desire for personal career advancement

Provides a competitive retirement package
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that gives back to the community!
Employee (Former Employee) –  Canada24 November 2018
Wawanesa is a wonderful company to be a part of. Management is amazing - professional and impressively knowledgeable on every level of the industry. Work environment is great with employees who are exceptionally trained in their respective positions. Being the third largest insurance company in Canada, they get their fair share of clients which allows for peace of mind in terms of job security. Wawanesa has multiple programs which allows us to give back to the community. With that being said, Wawanesa is also a company that cares for its employees. They offer wonderful benefits package and competitive salaries. It truly is a great company!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible employer
Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Toronto7 November 2018
- No training
- Old-school mentality/ micromanagement
- No life-work balance
- Hard work is not even recognized
- No place for professional growth
- Company will overwork you
- Salaries are low
- Everyone hates it here. People keep quitting from all departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job info
CLAIMS REPRESENTATIVE II (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK31 October 2018
I worked for 9 years in the start of my career there it was great, however they have went down hill over the years and their expectations were not realistic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS15 October 2018
Great place to work, tight knit smaller office in Dartmouth and very professional leaders who help you exceed and move to new positions. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer to work for.
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 September 2018
Nice place to work. Very cooperative and willing to help/teach senior staff employees. corporate support and encouragement to improvise knowledge by pursuing courses leading to CIP/FCIP designation.
Pros
Tuition fees reimbursement for industry related courses.
Cons
Pressure due to tight deadlines set by Dept. of Insurance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice working environment
Application Developer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 September 2018
It's my fortunate to worked as a co-op student at Wawanesa Insurance. Really nice working environment, friendly people, willing to help. I have learned a lot from there, and I wish my future position can have the same environment that would be perfect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Group of people
Bilingual Inside Claims Rep I (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB5 September 2018
Love all the employees, just a large load of work, not often off work on time. No travelling. Great workings hours. Bilingualism is a need to work in the Moncton office.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive. Busy.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 August 2018
Good place to start out in an insurance company. Good breaks. Cafeteria. Good and friendly staff. Good environment. Medium paced. Not hard work. Good values.
Pros
Friendly staff and co- workers
Cons
Not very good pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Quality assurance analyst (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 July 2018
Great Company to work for. Great work life balance. I enjoy the challenges and result oriented culture. The company has a great learning plan and helps employees meet its goals.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Not much opportunities to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only reason I am considering leaving is I am considering relocating and there is no position for me in the area I am relocating to
Assist supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 June 2018
great company, great culture, Wawanesa goes above and beyond to make this a great place to work, lots of opportunity for advancement depending on your interests.
Pros
great culture
Cons
no current option to transfer to another office
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manque de leadership
Agent en assurance de dommages (Former Employee) –  8585 decarie28 May 2018
Gestionnaire sans aucun leadership et sans expérience en gestion
''Micro-managers'' avec une vieille mentalité (old thinking = old results), franchement si vous êtes jeune motivé et ambitieux, ne perdez pas de temps Wawanesa Qc n'est pas pour vous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confusing work environment
Analyst Programmer (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 April 2018
The management of our team doesn’t appear to know their function. Morale in the department continues to plummet due to questionable or non existent decision making. Unsure of direction or purpose. Piles of work but no direction or vision. Time for a change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to start
Software Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 April 2018
For Winnipeg, it is not bad. Some manager does not promote their employee. Benefits are good but they paid less that same positions in the market. Some of equipment and rooms are pretty old.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management
QA Analyst (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 March 2018
Nice work culture
Good work life balance
nice salary benefits
scope of learning new things
Leadership is Excellent
supportive Team Members
No discrimination
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Human Resources Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 March 2018
I enjoyed my time working at The Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company. The environment is very social and collaborative. The organizational structure is pretty flat so there isn't as many opportunities for advancement. Overall I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working experience terrible manager
Buisness Operations Support (Term) (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 March 2018
I worked here on a 6 month term position. The work was interesting and co workers seemed friendly. My Manager how ever did not get to know her staff and had a personality that made it very hard to strike up a conversation with. I hope anyone who works here does not get this particular manager as she made the work environment a very bad place to work in.
Pros
enjoyable work
Cons
Terrible Manager / leader
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wawanesa Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 129 reviews
547
428
327
211
116

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture