Waste Management Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible, Especially Brampton Locations!
Driver Rolloff (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON18 April 2018
I'm a professional driver, 15 years AZ experienced, i was lured to Waste Management by a recruiter promising me the world and lots of compensation. What they actually are is a CULT, the way they do things will make anyone with half a brain run.

1. No Job Security( Your at the bottom of the Union Seniority, no assigned truck, no role, they lay drivers off while hiring new ones)
2. Generations of family members employed, who are deeply entwined with management to get dedicated routes and favouritism.

Stay Away, you will feel lost!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ancient trucks, production tracking by GPS, cameras that watch you, rat urine stench.
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Golden, BC21 March 2018
If you enjoy driving 20 year old garbage trucks that smell like rat urine and enjoy being watched by cameras while you do it then this is the job for you.
Pros
Rat urine smell
Cons
20 year old trucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American values in canada
Yard Labourer (Former Employee) –  Exeter. Rd london20 March 2018
I worked for this company for 6 months as yard man. The pay and benefits are top notch. The problems i had was with the site manager and his two subordinates. It was like the three stooges. No daily planning , fly by the seat of thier pants attitude. Very frustrating. No respect for the night mechanics . the site manager was harrasing employeess and corperate wiped it under the carpet, the drivers do nothing but complain about management
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
DPS Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2018
working with Real Estate agents, answering the phone, learned to deal with Real Estate agents, the manager was a pro
easy workplace
dealing with Real Estate agents
working with the staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Double standard mentality
Heavy Duty Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 March 2018
Would not recommend, if your not liked in the group you have no chance in making it. To much politics only take care of their own kind. I had tried but as you can see I was not their for long.
Pros
Non
Cons
double standard mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not that bad
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON14 March 2018
hot and fast paced it does smell yes its a garbage factory. the hours were very good as well as the people. if you don't mind getting extremely dirty and smelling like garbage, then this is the job for you!
starting wage was minimum.
Pros
good people
Cons
smells bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management sucks
Maintenance Department (Current Employee) –  Ontario28 February 2018
Absolutely disgusted by the management at this company. From Managers hiding threat complaints from friends of the managers to HR doing nothing about it. I also have had the pleasure of watching the management team openly racist and sexist. Stay away from this company even if it’s the last place hiring.
Pros
Wage, benefits
Cons
Management, job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exremely hard work
Truck Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax Regional Municipality, NS27 February 2018
I was on the back of the truck slinging garbage.

I have never enjoyed work so much, until I pulled out my back. once that happened I had to leave.

the hardest part was the physical labour, and having to go help out other routes once you finished.
Pros
I was the most fit in my life during this job.
Cons
extremely hard physical labour
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a green company
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  North Battleford, SK15 February 2018
Worked for them for 13 years ..12 as a driver and 1 year Osr..good company with lots of experience in the waste and recycling,of unwanted products..like wood,plastic,cardboard,paper,drywall..so many different products from special handling of asbestos to oilfield to garbage and recycling compactors ..over all a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with
McDonald's Team Member (Former Employee) –  glanbrook14 February 2018
good pay
good people
hard work
makes you care
fun place to work
good facility
short drive
good area
lots of wildlife
hard to stay warm
good career opourtunities
Pros
all outside
Cons
cold
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garbage collecting at its worst!
Garbage Collector (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON12 February 2018
I got treated like a prisoner as a temporary employee no one wanted to help me learn the controls on the truck and I did not get proper training on my first day I got thrown into doing everything by myself.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Long hours, gossiping
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Company lied to me.
Roll Off Driver (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 February 2018
Accepted a RollOff driving position with Waste Management in Brampton, Ontario.
Left a great job with 20 years experience (5 weeks holidays)
and a dedicated daily run - Monday - Friday.
Just prior to the end of my probationary period (3 months) I
was told I was fired - no warning,no reason.
Be careful, this Company is all about PROFIT.
Pros
Money
Cons
Long hours, every Saturday, lies by Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive working environment
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Region of Peel8 February 2018
This company is fair and always looking after their employees safety and well being. Very good company to work at. Good salary and benefits and good compensation offered to all employees.
Pros
full benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay salary for routine work
Strategic Accounts Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 February 2018
Limited areas for career advancement. Very less emphasis on skills development of employees.
Huge areas of improvement including professional behavior.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work and fast paced
Forklift operator, (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 February 2018
I got hired onto waste management through a temp agency because I was a fast and hard worker. I worked on the sorting line for 9 months and then I was given my forklift ticket and got to run the compactor and dump the bins
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Journeyperson Truck and Transport Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 February 2018
good people to work with, lots of travel time between satellite sites, lots of help from drivers in some locations, plenty of experience on many applications of refuse units
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine
Russell, Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 February 2018
it was an okay job i really enjoyed how they feed us and made sure we were okay. Some days were really long while some days it was short, staff was willing to help us learn/
Pros
food
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work with
Manager - Talent Acquisition (Current Employee) –  Ontario31 January 2018
Its a privilege to work for Waste Management, Very process Driven approach. Whenever you recommend and job improvement process they always welcome you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 January 2018
Worst place to work for always breaking down favs on the line for the full timers and very bad place they are always fighting with management never hire .
Pros
none
Cons
miss Management lead hands
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management, poor truck conditions
Driver (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC18 January 2018
The team I worked with made the job fun and tolerable.
We had to fight to get everything from our uniforms, to getting our trucks fixed properly fixed.
Perhaps if we had better management it would have been a better experience.
Pros
team worked great together
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waste Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,024 reviews
5824
4854
3725
2318
1303

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture