Waste Management Employee Reviews

Found 219 reviews matching the search See all 3,635 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front Load Driver (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC13 November 2018
The managers were so nice and considerate. You are praised when they like things you do. My favourite job I've ever had, I'd reccomend working there for sure. Pay is really good too!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for workaholics - No work/life balance
Route Manager (Former Employee) –  Canada25 September 2018
Typical day at work involved starting at 3:30am (this was never mentioned during the hiring process.) and finish around 1pm in the office but drivers will still call your cellphone until the end of the day (4-5pm). The start of the day would be a huddle with the drivers to discuss a short topic for 5 minutes. This had to be done on a precise and rigid scheme adopted by all offices and locations in the whole company. Same as the pre-trip inspection routine for the drivers.

As a manager there is extreme pressure to find "faults" in driver's behavior on the road or through the camera systems installed in the trucks. A minimum number of drivers need to be "coached" every day to meet higher management's expectations. Failure to meet these requirements would end up in the manager being "coached" for failure to meet these expectations.

I believe the compensation would be decent if no overtime or only occasional overtime was required. But in the end work required to be available even when at home and on Saturdays (from home), averaging 60-70 hours of work every week.

People working at the company are good and friendly and the direct superiors and colleagues tried to promote a friendly atmosphere. Unfortunately the job requirements and expectations for the position are extremely challenging due to corporate's requirements.

It would be a good position for a young person willing to learn and step into management and progress from there.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady job
Residential driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 August 2018
Great drivers, and management. Steady work, new equipment, knowledgeable staff. Decent pay and benefits. Its a great job to have living in and around the Edmonton area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible, Especially Brampton Locations!
Driver Rolloff (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON18 April 2018
I'm a professional driver, 15 years AZ experienced, i was lured to Waste Management by a recruiter promising me the world and lots of compensation. What they actually are is a CULT, the way they do things will make anyone with half a brain run.

1. No Job Security( Your at the bottom of the Union Seniority, no assigned truck, no role, they lay drivers off while hiring new ones)
2. Generations of family members employed, who are deeply entwined with management to get dedicated routes and favouritism.

Stay Away, you will feel lost!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
money good, environment trash
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC31 January 2019
Red seal mechanic typical day includes scrambling around try to fix a dying fleet, where management questions your judgement even if you are licenced or qualified. Even when you are right with diagnostics of a problem, you won't get acknowledged and even get blamed for down time of vehicles. Money is great, got multiple signing bonuses but they will work you till you die! Mentally draining job too. Do it for a short term and you'll be alright, anything over a year and it will feel like you've wasted your life with waste management.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else, politics, gross smell
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast physically demanding job. independence
Curb Side Waste Collector / Recycle Driver (Former Employee) –  KW17 May 2018
During my time with waste management I found them to be a very good employer in a fast paced hardworking environment But they treated their employees very fairly. the work was demanding but you got to work independently.
Pros
Uniforms, Fair compensation, Safety Minded
Cons
Dirty Job, Long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Managed!!! stay clear
Driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 December 2018
Worked there somewhat recently and had been there for many many years. This place is micromanaged. All drivers are great. Upper management has good intentions but the message is lost with local management ignoring corporate ways to suit local situations. Expected to work in an unethical manner by overcharging customers as a way of generating more revenue. The moral is very low there. NO safety bonuses anymore, NO barbecues anymore, NO Christmas party anymore. Once was a great company now gone downhill quickly.
Pros
drivers, customers, pay
Cons
management, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American values in canada
Yard Labourer (Former Employee) –  Exeter. Rd london20 March 2018
I worked for this company for 6 months as yard man. The pay and benefits are top notch. The problems i had was with the site manager and his two subordinates. It was like the three stooges. No daily planning , fly by the seat of thier pants attitude. Very frustrating. No respect for the night mechanics . the site manager was harrasing employeess and corperate wiped it under the carpet, the drivers do nothing but complain about management
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, lot of work to do though
Strategic Accounts Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 May 2018
Nice team to work with, good benefits. Management of workload and resources can be improved further. Communication between the headquarters in US and offices in Canada will help the company get even better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management sucks
Maintenance Department (Current Employee) –  Ontario28 February 2018
Absolutely disgusted by the management at this company. From Managers hiding threat complaints from friends of the managers to HR doing nothing about it. I also have had the pleasure of watching the management team openly racist and sexist. Stay away from this company even if it’s the last place hiring.
Pros
Wage, benefits
Cons
Management, job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 September 2018
Typical day on the job is to take an incoming call or email, sometimes both at the same time, and processing the clients order. It is clearly a high demanding job and must be able to adapt fast to keep up with company policies and client needs. This job requires me to be mentally organized and focused. The hardest part of the job is when clients are not satisfied. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with a great team. What I learn from this job is that the company continues to adapt and grow in many ways for their clients and employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term mechanic saskatoon saskatchewan
Mechanic (truck and transport) (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK7 December 2017
stayed with this company for a long time because i had just started a family and need the medical benefits. This company does not no the meaning of the word team. It is every man for him or herself here!! Not having the equipment to do your job which includes trucks, parts to fix the trucks, a good reliable crew to get the routes done are just some of the many faults at this company! All you want to do is get the job done and go home but management makes this a absolute nightmare. The cut throat world at the management end of this company is something else. I left this company feeling i had wasted years of my life!! To make a long story short don't get trapped here and feel like there is nothing else out there. The day i left this company that night i got the best sleep of my life!!! Get out while you still can. You clock in and start working. You have to learn to multitask because you might be working on a truck in the bay and a Driver comes in needs something done on his truck so you have to stop doing what you were working on and help him/her . Management / drivers always making mistakes and trying to blame mechanics .
Pros
excellent pay
Cons
bad work environment shop, trucks, yard ect
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive working environment
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Region of Peel8 February 2018
This company is fair and always looking after their employees safety and well being. Very good company to work at. Good salary and benefits and good compensation offered to all employees.
Pros
full benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive, loosing business
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 November 2018
Over all good place to work . Due to tough market competition its hard to make some extra hours , Management is very helpful but very straight when it comes to safety . No room to grow
Pros
None
Cons
40 hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
mechanic / assistant shop manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON17 January 2018
A good place to work, support for learning new skills was provided.Good work culture and Benefits Package with incentives in place. Overall a good place to work but lacking in job security.,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Residential Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 February 2019
the best job i had i was not happy the company closed down i would have liked to retire there but the show must go on so on to bigger and better things if they hire again i will apply
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welcome to 1985
Driver (Former Employee) –  Manitoba12 June 2017
Sadly,the garbage industry,at least the companies i have worked for,are in a perpetual struggle with the employees,who they view as untrustworthy adversaries,and droids who will work as hard and as long as the management demands they will.There is a huge push in the last few years to be safe on the job,unfortunately this does not mean you will be allowed to have a short enough work day to facilitate being safe on the road.Pay is very good,as are the benefits,but expect to work 10to 12 hour days endlessly and many saturdays as well. If a good work/Life balance is what you are after,this industry is likely not for you,sorry.
Pros
Pay Benefits
Cons
See above
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Office culture & staff
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 May 2018
Started 8 am everyday. Enjoyed the team environment. I learned how to lead a team and out proform quota's every month. I enjoyed the management vision and goals set. Hardest part was only 8 hours in a day to perform job. Enjoyed incentives and company functions.
Pros
Commission structure and bonuses
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fabulous place to work
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Mount Forest, ON11 January 2019
I worked at there transfer station from the day it opened to the day they closed it down. I loved my job there and all the people were wonderful. very good working environment
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Site manager/ loader operator (Current Employee) –  Elkford, BC30 December 2017
good place to work. enjoying being home at night time with the family. Waste management has good steady work which is sometimes hard to find. the benefits are a good addition as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waste Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,635 reviews
5999
41K
3874
2383
1375

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture