Walmart Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working for company inspite of bad mangers
Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON7 May 2018
I enjoyed working at Walmart as long as everyone was held accountable. I really like the profit share provide for employees. certain jobs there are much better than others within the store
Pros
profit share
Cons
most management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the people I work with.
Customer Service Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BC7 May 2018
Start: Open customer service desk.
Learned: How to work at a fast pace while dealing with difficult and sometimes rude customers.
Management out of touch with day to day operations at associate level.
Workplace: Very busy and usually understaffed.
Tough part: Having to wear 2 or 3 different hats during any given day (customer service desk, cashier and re-stocking) to keep ahead.
Best part: Enjoying the friendly and fun banter with majority of customers.
Pros
Work with and meet very interesting people.
Cons
Typical big box store operation being controlled and managed from Head Office elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good learning exp
Dairy Stocker (Current Employee) –  Guildford, BC6 May 2018
I made great relationships with the people i worked alongside and I enhanced my time management skills through this environment. Overall, I would recommend working here part-time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience for a beginner, albeit with some short-comings
Store Standards Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON6 May 2018
Good managers and co-workers
Gives an understanding of the retail world
Machinery necessary for the job wasn't always functioning, which required extensive physical commitment
Pros
Experience
Cons
Equipment not up to mark
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON6 May 2018
great place to work. enjoyed my time there. lots of growth potential. lots of on the job training. needs to be more salary competitive for amount of work required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 May 2018
There were a lot of managers who do not appreciate the workers and constantly demand the most while providing nothing towards the organization. Overall mediocre experience but a great learning curve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vegreville, AB5 May 2018
wouldn't go back there to work as they do not have the work hours required to make a half decent pay, no benefits because you don't get enough hours to qualify for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor pay
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC5 May 2018
Poor pay for the amount of work expected to be done. The managers are also not very organized. I would not recommend anyone to work here who is not desperate for a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Peace River, AB5 May 2018
Scheduled cashiers breaks and dealt with customer services.
Management was easy to work with.
Hardest part is angry customers.
Most enjoyable was the coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work it you are willing to put in the effort and get involved
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 May 2018
Overall, I loved working at this company.

A typical day at work would include: keeping the store cleaned at all times. Helping with stocking the shelves. Dealing with the public.

I worked got involved with the Social committee and the Health and Safety committee.

I was friends with both the staff and management. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

The hardest part of the job would be the people who don't do their work and leave it for others who are already busy.

The best part was working with the staff, we had fun while we worked.
Pros
The hours were flexible which I could work around my schedule
Cons
Staff who did not do their work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, wonderful workplace culture at Walmart
Personnel Manager (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB4 May 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job was the meeting the people and getting to know the team at Walmart. I was sent for training in a Walmart a training site at another Walmart that showed me the ropes. I found the training to be satisfactory and meeting the back up team to be wonderful individuals and always helpful to me when I ran into problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience
Cashier/ Customer care specialist (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON4 May 2018
ok experience, managment up on you a little too much, people there made it better, pay higher then minimum wage base on work experience. overall ok expereince
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work environment
Merchandising Associate (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON4 May 2018
I very much enjoyed my time working with this company. If given the opportunity I definitely would like to be employed with them once again. Id recommend anyone to apply for a job position with Walmart.
Pros
Friendly employees
Cons
Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 May 2018
I have been working with this organization since Dec 2015 and i learnt lots of things. Walmart is a place where we can work comfortably my manager is very co operator and understandable person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start your career.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 May 2018
Great place to get started if you have never worked before you gain experience in many areas such as social interaction with many people and you have opportunities to move around the store if they're openings.

Great fellow employees you work with they are always willing to help you.
Pros
You get to meet lots different people on a daily basis
Cons
They have demand for closing shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult environment to work in
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON4 May 2018
Walmart Canada does not reward or acknowledge their hard working employees. If anything, the harder you work and do your job above and beyond what is expected, the more they start to treat you horribly and take advantage of your kindness. Workplace was very labour intensive and unsafe at times.
Cons
Long hours, sexist workplace, misogynistic management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company but Management make very bad decisions without speaking to the Team
Customer Service Representative/Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 May 2018
Worked for over 20 yrs, good company but they are always trying to cut cost and sometimes it ends up costing them more money. This was part of the head office. My team was awesome we had each others back most of them from my Shift was there for more than 10 yrs.Will recommend you find another job this company is not stable anymore more and no Loyalty. They forgot what that word means.
Pros
Christmas Lunch
Cons
Management needs training on how to talk to employees and too much favouritism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of thew job
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS4 May 2018
The staff and management of Walmart are really kind and understanding, great customer services and enjoyed working in the deli and fresh side of store!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive and productive workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC4 May 2018
Flexibility in availability of hours .

Friendly-management backed by positive work culture.

Great customer service provided in relation to customer queries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enjoyable good environment
Department manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 May 2018
Best thing of walmart its management. They are too good and everytime if anybody need any help they always give their hand. I love and enjoy to work in walmart. it is the best place for me to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 140,057 reviews
538.1K
440.2K
338.1K
213.1K
110.6K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture