Walmart Employee Reviews for Sales Associate

Found 410 reviews matching the search See all 149,717 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail toxique
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Terrebonne, QC16 August 2018
J'ai travailler 8 ans avec le même patron, sa allais bien, et ensuite il y à eu les changements internes qui ne m'ont pas plu du tout, finir plus tard, courir d'un bord et l'autre du magasin car les associés de l'air de vente doivent être partout, mais pas assez d'employer sur le plancher ( en moyenne 3) pour tout couvrir cette grande surface.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers were great but management wasnt
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 August 2018
it was an ok place to work. pay wasnt that great and everyone starts part-time and seen alot of people let go when their part-time status was up and were let go so they didnt get full-time and benifits,
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 August 2018
a typical day at work was good, i learned a lot about sales. management was OK, workplace culture was great. the hardest was dealing with rude customers. the most enjoyable part of the job was my co workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opportunity to move up within the company
Full Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON21 July 2018
Multiple opportunity to move up within the company, requests for days off usually met, plenty learning opportunities, joyful work place, fast paced and time management
Pros
time off requests
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North York, ON17 July 2018
Get along with everyone
Management needs to understand student lifestyle more and accommodate when needed
Hardest part of the job is working multiple departments without anyones help
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON11 July 2018
Environment was good.
ALways on the move and something to keep you busy with. Wage is not the best but good for summer students or part timers to have
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate (Electronics)
Sales Associate Electronics (Former Employee) –  Vegreville, AB3 July 2018
It was great learned lots and got to teach people on the items they were looking for and how it works as some customers had difficulty understanding how the products works.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 June 2018
This location has really fallen into the dirt. Most of the management team are really great to work with, it is unfortunate how some people can bring a whole team down. Schedules used to be easy to deal with but they require to much availability for a simple part time job. The pay is as bad as it can get and expect to get your hours cut all the time.
Pros
nice employees
Cons
pay, schedules, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place`
Part-Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 June 2018
overall pretty easy job, usually just going around taking care of the area and helping the customers on inquires or other things. The store i worked did have minimal staff so many times you had to cover other areas in a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working Very live and great people
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON22 June 2018
I have worked experience and learned better ways to work really hard with people and show great customer service. In Portrait Studios at Walmart i got their always on time ready for work I had a wonderful manager and gave wonderful work.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn about retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pincher Creek, AB15 June 2018
Walmart treats all employees as an expanse. No thanks is shown for a job well done. Good place to learn retail skills Very little training is provided on the floor in using the telzon gun. You have no supervision so learning how to do your work properly is a your own.
Walmart does not hire enough employees so workers can get stressed out and cut corners to complete their job even if it is not done properly. Staff turn over is too high so only a few employees are around with any experience.
Pros
Retail knowledge, till, stocking, customer service can be self learned
Cons
Not enough staff, cut shifts without warning. Good work not rewarded
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours, bad managment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 June 2018
At Walmart you will defiantly get a lot of hours, was in school and was still able to work 20+ hours. loved the people I worked with but management was a huge issue, had about 6 management changes in the 8 months that I worked there. Never really got trained, did not really had a job just wherever was needed.
Pros
enough hours, good pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy store
Sales Associate Pets & Food Dept. - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 June 2018
Overall I really enjoyed working at this store. Large turnover in Assistant Managers and several were lacking in people skills. Maybe the position went to their heads. Customers could be very challenging at times due to the store being very busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team building skills
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 June 2018
a typical day at work was great helping customers in need of search of items, it helped me learn a great sense of team work and team building and to keep a clean work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work, not so great management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON4 June 2018
work is easy, very routine based. Would recommend this job for students, retired folks needing to keep busy, new comers or anybody really. Overall fairly good
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good at first
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB18 May 2018
It was good at first, I loved my co-workers, and I was good at my job. However the management couldn't seem to get anyone's schedule right. I'd book things off for months in advance, just for that day to come and be called and told I was supposed to be there. The managers were rude and felt as if they were humanly superior.
Pros
Co-Workers were great
Cons
Managers didn't know how to do their job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They expect you to work hard for minimum wage
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON18 May 2018
While working at walmart i was made to be running around and pushing myself all while they searched for ways to save a company money
Really it all depends what department you go for

I was in Fresh foods,
it was really bad, and some of the things i seen made me not want to work there such as, cooking food on the expiry date
Pros
10% off everything if your full time
Cons
Too exhausted at the end of the day to look for another job
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Walmart Canada
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Bradford West Gwillimbury, ON15 May 2018
Working at Walmart Canada isn't to bad of a job. It's laid back, environment is nice, employees are nice to work with. Even the management is nice. The only down part about the job in my opinion is the hours for the job can get ruff. Most of the time you wont get scheduled when you want to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fellow associates are good to work with and supportive.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Corner Brook, NL10 May 2018
Walmart is typically very busy, but management and other members of the staff work together well to get things done. The hardest part of the job would have to be coverage as there are not always enough people scheduled. Overall it is a good place to work and very fair when it comes to breaks and requesting time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and learning experience
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON9 May 2018
Learned to manage time and work effectively in a fast-paced environment, learned to efficiently stock and handle customers in a packed environment, learned to pay attention to detail and become more flexible.
Pros
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 149,735 reviews
540.6K
442.8K
340.7K
214K
111.6K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture