Walmart Employee Reviews for Cashier

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worthless management worthless company worthless policies
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON23 May 2018
don't bother working there, managers don't care if your sick at home, or sick on the job your either there on your shift or get written up. Three write ups your gone....you've been warned
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sports injury
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB22 May 2018
overall good experience , lots of hours to fill, busy workplace but good environment and nice people to work with, lots of hours, but hard to get shifts off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Race problems
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON22 May 2018
The problem I had with Wal-Mart was management and racism in the workplace. I'm a white young male, Wal-Mart accepts everyone which is good but during my time there I worked with a lot of middle eastern individuals and managers who seemed to have problems with the workers that were white but never of their own race. Was very annoying and made coming to work seem like a nightmare.
Cons
Long hours, frequent shifts, burn you out when you start
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Amherstburg, ON21 May 2018
Walmart as a company squanders growth and does not maintain a high quality of standard for their customers or employees. This made it a very difficult place to work.
The management is quite poor and both new ideas and growth are discouraged.
Pros
terrible management
Cons
investment opportunites
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Cashier associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON18 May 2018
Always on the go and keeps you busy, as a job should. They are quite flexible and easy to work with. To anyone who works for this business, know that you are working in a very big operation.
Pros
flexible houirs
Cons
minimum hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with an evident hierarchy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 May 2018
Working as a cashier for 2 years, I learned everything there is to retail at the front-end of any store. The job itself got too repetitive for me, and I just lost purpose of my spot on the “team”. Very very prominent system of hierarchy, the CSMs yell at us because they’re yelled at by the Assistant Managers. CSMs basically run the front end & they control you like a machine. You don’t have a say whether you’ll have your break 30mins into your shift, or 3.5 hours in. The store as a whole is a priority, not you
Pros
Fun coworkers
Cons
Discouraging hierarchy, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not like it at all
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 May 2018
much pressure to ask customers many questions for promotions (mastercards, fundraisers)
bad environment, much attitude from co workers and management due to poor training
made me feel uncomfortable and anxious with the co workers
Pros
good pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an ok place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stratford, ON15 May 2018
I enjoyed my customers and my colleagues. The management could have been better. I learned how to deal with upset customers because we didn’t have what they wanted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brockville, ON13 May 2018
Walmart has a very customer oriented environment. Great place to work, management is fantastic. Shifts can be all hours, not usually working the same shift twice in one week. Hours cut
Pros
Hour long lunch breaks
Cons
very few hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job with some difficulties
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON10 May 2018
this job is very demanding as most cashiers are expected to be happy all the time and the manager at a particular location was very demanding and didnt take into consideration the feelings of the workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very structured training regimen. An overall enjoyable work environment.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 May 2018
When I moved, the Managers would not approve my transfer to another Walmart, nor could I apply to another Walmart store when I had to resign. I would love to work with Walmart in Leduc and I will try to apply to the Leduc store.
Pros
Structured and organised job
Cons
The Company would not let me apply
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and co-workers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NB9 May 2018
Enjoy working here, fast paced environment so the day goes by very quickly. Friendly co-workers who are always willing to help you if you need it. :)
Pros
Very leanient with your schedule.
Cons
None really for me. I enjoy my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was happy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 May 2018
Many years ago it was a customer service driven job. Unfortunately, I had 2 supervisors one of which I worked daily with, and saw the hour ahead of my time arrived, and all my hard work done. The other caught me as I stood and waited for customers at the cashier desk.
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
2 reports
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vegreville, AB5 May 2018
wouldn't go back there to work as they do not have the work hours required to make a half decent pay, no benefits because you don't get enough hours to qualify for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 May 2018
I have been working with this organization since Dec 2015 and i learnt lots of things. Walmart is a place where we can work comfortably my manager is very co operator and understandable person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start your career.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 May 2018
Great place to get started if you have never worked before you gain experience in many areas such as social interaction with many people and you have opportunities to move around the store if they're openings.

Great fellow employees you work with they are always willing to help you.
Pros
You get to meet lots different people on a daily basis
Cons
They have demand for closing shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive and productive workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC4 May 2018
Flexibility in availability of hours .

Friendly-management backed by positive work culture.

Great customer service provided in relation to customer queries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dynamic work environment.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Sudbury, ON3 May 2018
Walmart is the most friendly work place with no discrimination. It is a dynamic work place and very interesting to work with. By end of the day making the customer happy ensure our hap pines.
Pros
Management
Cons
Working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wakmart is walmart
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL1 May 2018
I loved working as a cashier, serving people is fun and the job certainly doesn't get boring. The friends you meet are unbeatable. However, beware of lazy and unprofessional management
Pros
Flevible hours
Cons
tends to be understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre place to work.
Walmart Cashier (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON1 May 2018
Learned some customer service skills, how to work a till somewhat and how to keep shelves clean. Due to always cleaning and stocking them.
Learned how to do a till by myself because I had barely any help and finally the most enjoyable part of the job was leaving finally.
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Little to no help and being there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 140,510 reviews
538.2K
440.3K
338.2K
213.1K
110.7K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture