Walmart Employee Reviews for Cashier

Found 1,326 reviews matching the search See all 156,558 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bolton, ON19 October 2018
I personally really enjoyed my work experience at Walmart. All the employees that worked there were super friendly and the work place environment was easy to work in, really productive and fun workplace.
Pros
got alot of shifts to pick up
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  sannich18 October 2018
you learn of to be good customer service and improve your customer service.
you learn how to be dependable

you learn how to work the cash register

dailuy work day is really busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK16 October 2018
Work was enjoyable, coworkers were pleasant, had to leave this position due to personal medical reasons. Would go back as it was flexible and a great work atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS8 October 2018
wonderful company to work with was not hard did mostly cashier work i didn't like working nights of different start times
like working with customers
liked using different forms of payment for sells and the manager meetings were awesome would be great to work in the company again like the idea for getting discount
like dealing with merchandise had a lunch room usually got break every 2 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mean co-workers who bully and belittle you.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stettler, AB2 October 2018
When I first started at Wal-Mart I loved it. Then some health issues arose and everything changed. They say they care about their employees, but as soon as something happens that can't benefit them they start to push you out. As well as other employees who would bully and make you feel so little and defeated. Management is so rude and they put way too much pressure on everyone. You get written up if you don't get any MasterCard apps during a day.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable and fun workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Port Perry, ON2 October 2018
The managers are always available to help
Learning new things every day
safe work environment
staff is like family
always interacting with costumers and bettering their experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON2 October 2018
Overall is a good place for students and elderly to work, they have positions for everyone, it’s not a very hard job depending on what your doing and what your skill level is
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pro active, and respectful
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB29 September 2018
In a typical day of work it can go very well or something could go wrong. I have learned how to price match and fix prices, learn all the produce codes. Management always have their work cut out for them but they put in their all to make sure everyone is happy and okay. Management is always there if someone needs to talk and they always have respect for their employees. The hardest part of the job i think is when it becomes really busy and a customer grabs something that doesn't have a tag and all the supervisors are busy at the time, but we always have ways to figure it out.
Pros
we have treat days if we go accident free for certain amount of day
Cons
stressful some days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 September 2018
good overall . i love working there. i regret why left that lovely place, i had my own customers come to me only.Basic Math.
Interpersonal Communication/Written and Verbal Communication.
Time Management.
Product Knowledge.
Telephone Etiquette.
Customer Service.
Dispute resolution.
Dependability
Pros
free lunch
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
weekends
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON20 September 2018
Don't apply here if you like your weekends. I worked at Walmart for 2 years and never had a weekend or a Saturday or Sunday off without having to book it off
Pros
Good pay checks
Cons
No communiction
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Who is your manager?
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 September 2018
When I started to work at Walmart in Hamilton I had a wondering manager and the job, even though it was only a minimum wage, it was actually pretty fun. Of course, I did get told off when I did something wrong, but I never got told off for anything that was out of my control. My manager was understanding of my personal life and treated me with great care. Though sadly half a year later he transferred to a different city and my co-workers and I (the cashiers) got a new manager. The job didn't turn bad, but it certainly was not near as good. Overall, Walmart is an okay place to work. Depending on the manager currently working there it can be just okay, or with the right management, it can be a great job.
Pros
Easy to learn the cash register, follows break laws, more understanding of your personal life than other companies
Cons
It attracts a wide range of customers, including customers that will belittle you and ridicule you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
accommodating, flexible
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON19 September 2018
Being a cashier wasn't my favourite job in the world but I really enjoyed the people I got to work with and the managers I had. They were always willing to show me how to do different jobs in different areas of the store and were accommodating to my hectic school schedule
Pros
ability to advance or transfer departments
Cons
unnecessarily difficult application process
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga Valley, ON19 September 2018
okay place to work with , people are nice and helpful, can be better. the managers have an attitude problem. if you just go and do you job,you will be fine, ideal for students
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not willing to help you get back to work after injury or surgery
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB18 September 2018
I was hired for part time, worked an average of 40-50 hours a week.
Told them my availability was Monday to Friday, never had a weekend off.
Asked for adjusted work hours for school, was denied those hours.
Came back after surgery, incision opened slightly, didn’t complain, I just asked where gauze was. I was sent home, told not to come back until I was 100% better, manager wouldn’t sign off on work adjustment plan, and was told I had to fill out multiple forms and get multiple drs notes, none of which I was compensated for.
If the manager had an issue with you she would get CMs to tell you because she was too much of a coward to do it herself.
Pros
Alright pay, mostly cool co-workers
Cons
Long hours, complaining customers, poor Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 September 2018
It was a good place to work. They really cared about there employees. The only thing I didn't like was the late hours. the people where friendly and courteous to each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relatable and easy to work for.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 September 2018
Work to life ratio was very easy, and if you needed time off, it wasn't too hard to get. But some of the management in there took their jobs to the max and thought they were better than everyone else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, Fun work place!
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth Crossing, NS17 September 2018
Loved working at Walmart, learned cash operations and proper bagging procedures. work never went by to slow because there is always something to do be it in you station or others, like covering greater breaks or aiding in folding and organizing displays when cash slow. Co-workers were out going and made the overall environment a lovely place to be and casual Fridays though costing 2 dollars made everyone happy and help give back as our proceeds went to charity, there were also free snacks on Fridays which made for a nice first break on 6:45-3:30 shifts. Extra hours were easily accessible with the option to sign up for shifts on days off, which is especially great around holidays when money may be tight, definitely recommend
Pros
Free break room snacks on Friday, casual Fridays
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart review
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON14 September 2018
Great workplace
Friendly environment
Great break schedule
Managers care about employees
Employee discount is nice
Christmas discount is a nice bonus
Pros
Free 15 minute breaks
Cons
Not enough cashiers to keep pace on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
cashier (Former Employee) –  smiths falls Ontario13 September 2018
I was very very sick with a bad ear infection, I had came into work to push through my shift on cash because I didn't want to leave my managers short handed. After telling the manager I was dizzy and needed to go to the doctor because my ear had begun to bleed. I was told I couldn't leave and to get back to my job. After leaving I was written up even after bringing back my doctors note.
Pros
really good pay checks
Cons
terrible management and owners
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My expricense at Walmart
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Port Alberni, BC12 September 2018
When I started working there, a lot of co-workers and the managers would always helped me and taught me how the machine worked, how to put the codes in the machine whenever you get vegetables and fruits. A lot of times we would ask a customer for master card. When it was slow, sometimes we would collect garbage and hangers. I would always be friendly to a customers whoever came to my till. I always enjoyed talking to a customers. Sometimes the CSMs would call me and ask me to do some computer work. Of course you have to get at least 90%, otherwise you would have to start over again. I think until I stopped working there, I was getting a decent amount of hours. Sometimes a co-worker would ask me to take their shift, so he or she can work at different places or get a day off for whatever reason. There were also times I would have to call someone on the phone whenever a customer needed. I always asked questions, because sometimes I wouldn't know what I was suppose to do or I gave a customer a wrong change..etc. I think the manages were very friendly and very helpful. I really enjoyed working as a cashier at walmart. because you get to meet new people all the time, you learn new things, once you get used to working you would be faster of doing things. I just liked to scan items and putting codes in the machine. It was fun.
Pros
busy days were always fun, because the time went by real quick
Cons
slow day, less people in the store
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 156,574 reviews
542.4K
444.7K
342.5K
214.7K
112.3K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture