Walmart Employee Reviews for Cashier

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Moncton, NB18 April 2018
Good place to work
nice and friendly staff
always give its employees more hours and always looks to hire new employees.
chance for career advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work with fair salary
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 April 2018
Walmart was very good about giving schedules far in advance and accommodating vacations, sick days, etc. Management was very good and overall it was a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 April 2018
I enjoyed working with the staff and guests.
It made me happy to help people find what they were looking for throw out the store.
I had no problem handling cash and debit transactions.
Pros
Good peolpe
Cons
Unreliable scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could've been better.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hanover, ON15 April 2018
It was a great job for a little while, I was excited for it in the beginning but the "honeymoon phase" wore off quickly and I became so against working there that my willpower to work and make it fun and engaging went downhill.
Pros
Discount Card
Cons
Short Lunches, Rude Workers and Customers, not safe or sanitary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its really good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 April 2018
i enjoyed my work there ,great environment for working,helpful staff
and clean environment all around .that great time whith walmart i leave job because i got security licence .
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its walmart
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON14 April 2018
being a cashier you're on the bottom of the corporate ladder, therefore you work more days in a row than there is in a week and calling off sick was never an option.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks your soul within a year
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB14 April 2018
Avoid if possible, money is decent but the work environment was incredibly negative due to employees as management. They cared more about selling Walmart mastercards, than providing satisfactory customer service.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Fellow employees/management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON12 April 2018
Walmart is a funned easy environment to adjust to. The associates are always welcoming. The management team sometimes is hard to deal with. Theres is always room to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON11 April 2018
As a walmart cashier, I got to meet so many amazing people. Not only were my fellow co-workers amazing people but I got to meet so many amazing customers. Overall, a great place to work.
Pros
Unlimited hours.
Cons
long days, but more money!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB8 April 2018
Basic Job Description: Receive and disburse money in establishments other than financial institutions. Usually involves use of electronic scanners, cash registers, or related equipment. Often involved in processing credit or debit card transactions and validating checks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun place to work, nice management & co workers!
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Summerside, PE7 April 2018
Seriously loved working there! My co workers were amazing, the hours were awesome, & the pay was good! Walmart gets 5 gold stars from me. Anytime I visit PEI I make it a point to visit Walmart there & say hi to all my old buddies!!
Pros
Breaks, pay, co workers, managers, random free pizza
Cons
Busy days
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier at walmart canada
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Cobourg, ON5 April 2018
Walmart is an amazing company to work for, there are many chances to grow within the company, accepting to all cultures, very busy but always something to do the most enjoyable part about the job is seeing familiar faces, hardest part of the job is not being able to please everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its very good place to do work i really enjoy to do work at walmart
Walmart Cashier (Current Employee) –  Courtenay, BC5 April 2018
its my pleasure that i got a job at Walmart. its very good moreover its very respectful job and i never give up i always try good as i can do so i thankful to Walmart.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  North Battleford, SK4 April 2018
Typical day at Wal-Mart goes by fast when its steady. You learn a lot about Wal-Mart policies and the benefits are great. Management is helpful and will address and concerns you have with the company or employees. A difficult part of the job is getting used to everything on your own after training but once you get the hang of it the job comes easy. The most enjoyable part of working at Wal-Mart is getting to know the managers and other employees who work their.
Pros
Half Paid Lunch on Sundays
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive opportunties, poor management
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Carleton Place, ON4 April 2018
Walmart, though a successful company, does not value the day to day interests of customers or employees. There is little advancement opportunities due to favouritism, and the environment for employees is unwelcoming and uncomfortable. There is little appreciation for good work, but is often demeaning and hard on employees, despite of good work. This workplace has internal management issues that were not addressed in the year I was there, and was overall an unchallenging, poorly managed store.
Pros
Above minimum wage payment, fun days
Cons
hard on employees, favourtism and little advancement opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place.
Walmart Cashier (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON3 April 2018
This is good,fun place where I love to work and want to work in future. All associates are friendly and are happy to help each-others, moreover managers are really very nice and happy to give solutions to problems. they try to complete everything before time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 April 2018
Working at walmart isnt a fun or health place to work.
The location i work the managers treat you like garbage.
And the costumers arnt that great either
Pros
Benifits
Cons
You get treated like garbage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good environment, co-oporatvie co-workers most of the time
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON30 March 2018
very flexible work times. Most of the staff is very nice. Depending on which store you work in, customers may be very hectic, things may be busy and fast paced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job if you don't want much advancement and just want to go do your job and go home again.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB30 March 2018
Company policies do not allow for flexibility when it comes to personal situations without having to take a leave of absence. Head office is all about the money and not the local store employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Miramichi, NB27 March 2018
I enjoyed working at Walmart for the time that I did, did not enjoy the atmosphere but the job was easy. Strict rules around coupons in which they would get mad when you mad an error.
Pros
Ensure comfort
Cons
Unpaid lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 136,897 reviews
537.3K
439.3K
337.2K
212.8K
110.3K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture