Walmart Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier position was good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 October 2018
My job position was as a cashier, and my job roles consisted of cashing out the items of customers and bagging them properly. Other roles also consisted of counting cash, and helping with creating Walmart rewards mastercard. Also, customer sills and communication was key to this position.
Pros
Good Money
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a happy place to work at
Night Manager (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON20 October 2018
manager push too much and expectations are higher than average. Can be let go just like that with no care for financial security. A very negative culture,
Pros
none
Cons
long hours, negative staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company but lack of career advancement & compensation
F/T Customer Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC20 October 2018
Most enjoyable part of the work is fast paced environment and flexible working hours. Big company and the location is near my home so that I spend less in commuting from home to workplace.
Pros
Location
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Cashier / Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 October 2018
Focus on the company and your individual experience while employed there
Provide reasons for why you liked or disliked working at the company
Ensure any facts you include in your review are true and accurate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going
Produce Sales Associate (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC19 October 2018
It was a fun place to be, but the management was a little bit incoherent towards employees, the hardest part of the job was the strain the work had on your back if not lifting boxes properly. On the other hand the most enjoyable part of the job was the climate of the workplace.
Pros
Occasional free food
Cons
shortage of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright not the best
Store Standards Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB19 October 2018
Good starting job but not a long time career. Pay is terrible only minimum wage but management is okay the work is easy But customers are a pain overall not a career choice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for starting out
Customer Service (Bakery) (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ON19 October 2018
It is a good place to start getting work experience and to pay for education. They have some really good people working for them. The most enjoyable part of the job was the good people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Haha beep this job
Sales Associate & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 October 2018
Everything is beeping lame from the customers to the management, best job for first timers who really don't know how the workplace actually works or also good for extra money only if your really beeping desperate
Pros
Getting called back to get on the floor when I haven't finished my lunch break
Cons
Having to work there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB19 October 2018
I enjoyed working at Walmart.

Most of my fellow employees were pretty great to work with.

It was busy most of the time, which helped the time go by quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bolton, ON19 October 2018
I personally really enjoyed my work experience at Walmart. All the employees that worked there were super friendly and the work place environment was easy to work in, really productive and fun workplace.
Pros
got alot of shifts to pick up
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Walmart?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful environment that cares about associates
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Peterborough19 October 2018
Wal-Mart puts customers first. The culture is strong on respect for the individual. Training and advancement available. I started as a part time cashier and quickly moved up to customer service mgs and then asst mgr. Training it's exceptional and the workplace environment although busy and hectic is like a family. There is much room for growth and development within the company. Associates are treated fairly with timely evaluations as well as an open door policy to meet concerns.
Pros
Valuable experience gained within a leader in retail industry
Cons
Very long shifts sometimes late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  sannich18 October 2018
you learn of to be good customer service and improve your customer service.
you learn how to be dependable

you learn how to work the cash register

dailuy work day is really busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC18 October 2018
The job has had its ups and downs, I’ve enjoyed my time, was able to advance quite quickly with the company. Overall, I would recommend this place to work at.
Pros
Payed 1/2 hour lunch on Sunday
Cons
Pay isn’t the greatest for the people that have been the for awhile
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never bored working here.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB18 October 2018
I worked in fabrics and crafts, it was interesting and challenging for me. I had great people to work with and learnt a lot about sewing. I now make all my own clothes and make many crafts.
Over the five years I worked there I would say it was great.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Shifts were never consistant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rating
It is expected of the associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 October 2018
Walmart employees take responsibility for greeting customers, locating products, price-checking items, and organizing store shelves and displays.

It is expected of the associate to be apprised with updates on items within the Walmart; updates on type of merchandize, uses, price, product category, product instructions, and arrangement of products. This is to enable the associate to be able to answer customers’ inquiries and give them quality service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morale
Merchandising Manager (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON17 October 2018
Morale is low at the store I work at because there is a significant lack of staff, and people willing to work. It makes it hard to want to go into work each day. I used to love working here but the management team expect far too much from people who currently work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manque de personnel
Caissière (Current Employee) –  Lasalle (30)17 October 2018
manque de personnel, beaucoup de chose à faire, pour le peu de personne
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job, Bad Management.
Fashion Associate (Former Employee) –  Carleton Place, ON16 October 2018
While I worked for the company a short time I got more training from fellow associates than my manager. She only ever talked to me when she needed something done and never liked to answer questions. It took 5 or 6 pages over the store speaker to even get her to answer, and when she did she'd never really be any help. She was also fond of paging me to clean up an area of our department while she was standing in it.
Pros
friendly associates, good hours
Cons
bad management, lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK16 October 2018
Work was enjoyable, coworkers were pleasant, had to leave this position due to personal medical reasons. Would go back as it was flexible and a great work atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sams review
CES Salesfloor Associate (Former Employee) –  barrie ontario16 October 2018
After working in the alliston walmart for about a year I realized mangers get fired daily not a good look on what your job is like.As well as 10% off like where is the 30% or something like mcdonalds but other then that the staff are friendly and so are most of the mangers not all.
Pros
discount card
Cons
mean customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 156,806 reviews
542.5K
444.8K
342.6K
214.7K
112.3K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture