VON Canada Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t bother.
Office Support (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON8 October 2018
Besides terrible management and their practices, pay is sub par. This company is the exact reason why unions form plain and simple. Top tier management hire people they can control and manipulate rather than manage, encourage and support. This lack of management is all over the Owen Sound location. On top of poor management,pay scales, time off requests denied - for valid reasons, there are some interesting accounting practices done at this location that could result in funding being removed from the South West LHIN. Class waitlists, funding being awarded for certain programs being used for other programs that are under their own funding.

Basically if you want to have bad bosses, where everyone is unhappy this is the spot for you.

If I could give minus stars I would.
Pros
You get to leave at the end of the day
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work...
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON10 September 2018
great place to work awesome co workers. They are very considerate I don't drive so von put me in a facility which I truly enjoyed,and miss very much. Von is overall a good place to work and grow.
Pros
work with great people and loving seniors
Cons
pay not the greatest for all we do
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive work environment
Recreational Therapist internship (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ON29 August 2018
Fun and productive work environment lots of support from management and peers. Good spot to learn as management very helpful with providing hands on experience.
Pros
Helpful peers
Cons
Casual position to start
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
SMART exercise Trainer (Former Employee) –  Windsor, Ontario28 August 2018
I did not like the fact that I was not always paid for all of the hours I actually worked. I had to fight for my pay, but never did get the money owed to me.
Pros
none
Cons
not reliable to staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most stressful place to work
PSW ft (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON23 August 2018
I wouldn't recommend anyone to work here. Scheduling is terrible. They promise you the world and it's all lies. Management well there is none. Supervisors are trying to run the place and can't.
Pros
None
Cons
Extremely stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good oportunity
Foot Care Nurse RPN (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON11 August 2018
Lots of work available, management great, pleasant environment. Foot care clinic clean and well equipped. In-home visits well organized, foot care providing tools are always available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from VON Kingston
Employee (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON12 June 2018
Very poor management, toxic environments and very unorganized. Understaffed, underpaid and overworked. Has also been sued by the Labor Board of Ontario.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  London, ON29 May 2018
Poor communication, lack of managerial support, salary not competitive, poor work life balance, lack of concern for employees, minimal opportunity to book time off.
Pros
Amazing clients
Cons
Everything besides the wonderful clients and families
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
Technical Field Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 May 2018
Nice people and Team to work with. It is fun to be with all the people who works there. I really like being working there. I learned new Technologies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
providing assistance to the public sector
Continuing Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kentville, NS15 March 2018
working for this company has its benefits when it comes to the employee rewards for doing well and the clients continually give you praise and that tells you that you are doing your job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to see your family 5 hours a week. This is the job for you
CCA (Current Employee) –  Nova Scotia6 March 2018
Honestly, used to be a good job. In the last 2 years it has turned into a completely different place. Staff are overworked and underpaid. Your car will take a beating and you'll never get a vacation day unless you're there for 15 years.
Pros
Working alone. Clients are great.
Cons
Management changes rules every week to what suits them, Mandating constantly(like sometimes twice a week), Always working late and over your daily hours and no travel time
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my care consist of...
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON15 February 2018
Provided personal hygiene and bathing assistance
Meal prep
Light Housekeeping
Assist with their ADL’s
Medication reminders is what a typical home visit consist of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Victoria order of nurses
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON23 January 2018
VICTORIA ORDER NURSES; foundational organization, does its best to aid and assist all people of society.
Solid work base, security, hardest part of the job working with abusive fellow employees.
Management tries its best to keep the non-profit funds incoming. Hard work and endeavors are inputted in team environment.
Learned to be flexible, take each day one at a time.
Pros
Pop corn Fridays
Cons
bullying within the ranks
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terribly run company ... nurse managers are constantly quitting ....
Continuing Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  ANNAPOLIS Valley16 January 2018
Scheduling dept will have u running everywhere. They SAY they will keep u in your own area ... NOt true . Management is horrible and treat the employees like second rate citizens . If you want to be treated like a slave with no appreciation... great place !
Pros
Benefits are ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON29 December 2017
Learned how to manage time wisely
Management is great and nice.
Overall work place culture is diverse evenly.
Hours is the hardest part of the job.
Meeting new people is the best part of the job.
Pros
Meet new people
Cons
Crazy hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work Balance
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  London, ON22 December 2017
This company I would say turned out to be one of the worst I have ever worked for. No continuity of care, clients being added constantly to you by office staff. Almost impossible to get a vacation day. Changes in scheduling hours before you start your shift.
If you are looking to loose your nursing license then work here.
Pros
Medical benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
LPN (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS12 December 2017
Understaffed as with most health care organizations. Very difficult to get time off through the year let alone the summer months. Some managers are very approachable but others are not and this makes reporting a challenge.
Pros
Education opportunities
Cons
Mandated OT
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ovrworked and long hours
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Strathroy, ON23 November 2017
Under staffed, begging for you to work your day off.
Mostly very good clients who are appreciative of your help.
Hardest part is trying to fit everyone in to the time slot they prefer. Some are not so accommodating.
Pros
alot of good clientle
Cons
Long Hours with no break
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Continuing Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Truro, NS27 September 2017
For the most part I really enjoyed my job! The clients were amazing; however, the management team needs some work. Very poor communication between employee and management.
Cons
Lots of mandating
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Home Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON19 September 2017
Nothing matters more to management then providing the best numbers to upper management. Clients are treated poorly at best, but those funding the program need to be given the right answers from the wrong information.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at VON Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 57 reviews
512
410
39
29
117

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.8Culture