Volkswagen Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the better car lots to work for in the city, as a salesman
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 February 2018
Working for other dealerships i will say this was one of the better in the city, there monthly guarantee salary was very decent. the employees on the sales floor were decent to work with, wasn't to much "sharking" at this place, however fair warning most of the staff here are die hard VW fans and everything else is just a joke in the eyes of most. so fair warning you may stand out if you don't think VW is superior. Most of the managers are fairly decent there and actually offer good support and advice when it comes to business, i only had a problem with one manager, the negative mood swings of this individual on days would really lower the morale of the department. overall not a bad place to work arguably one of my more favored dealerships to work for.

Rarely does management hand out phone lists! they do have weekly phone training, its a bit tedious but not to bad, how ever no pages of clients to call, Rare to be doing cold calls here
Pros
free lunch every Saturday, great monthly guarantee, rarely have to do cold calls
Cons
typically 6 days work weeks, frowned on for not attending events during non work days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical dealership
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB15 February 2018
One of the most unethical places to work. The pay is good but that is just to keep you working there. It is only about numbers in the end doesn't matter how they get them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB13 February 2018
I really love my job but looking to advance my career and settle down with my partner. We are happy here in Medicine Hat but are both willing to relocate for our happiness.
Pros
Love the job and the customers
Cons
No room to advance internally
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
expérience ça va salaire et assurance maladie ça va pas
Receptionist (Contract) (Current Employee) –  ZARZIS1 February 2018
Vraiment c'est une bonne expérience , j appris beaucoup des choses,
confidence en sois, motivation, travaille en groupe et la responsabilité ect...

globalement bien mais salaire ça convienne pas avec mes effort voila
Pros
heure de pose bien
Cons
pas assurance maladie transports
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very negative work enviroment
Product Adviser - Sales Management (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON24 January 2018
A typical work day I would stock in vehicles that came in on trade and /or we bought at auction. I would enter the vehicles information into our computer system and then send out any work orders for safety and clean up of the vehicle. I also managed the online account and posted vehicles online(auto trader- company website-Kijiji). I also managed our online auction account. I would post photos and any claims or reports against vehicles and post them online for auction.
I also sold used vehicles from a retail stand point. dealt with customers and also helped manage staff.
Pros
Close to home, Clean office envoirment
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC4 January 2018
i learned how to do oil changes, use the tire machines, how to bleed brakes, change fuel pumps, wash cars, and to change brakes. i liked working here for work experience because the people here were awesome and really nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good earning potential
Sales and Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON14 October 2017
Great Product. Attracts qualified customers. Family type atmosphere. Regular schedule however must be flexible to work around the timeline of the client.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Specialist (Current Employee) –  GTA11 October 2017
Being in sales - management or non management, the day would go by looking into sales targets. Calling customers or helping sales people make appointments.

People skills all the time.

Great culture and friendly.

Hardest part - not being busy sometimes.

Enjoyable part - being busy all the time.
Pros
Distance, money and SELLING!
Cons
Sunday closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the tasks at hand
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK23 September 2017
I enjoyed working there while I was kept, I only had a couple of co-workers I didn't particularly love working with but it was still a job I liked working at with many things I got to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mauvaise gestion
Préposée à l'esthétique (Former Employee) –  Terrebonne, QC21 September 2017
La gestion met beaucoup de pression sur les employé.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient shop
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  North York, ON14 September 2017
The staff are friendly and helpful. The garage is busy but you get what you asked for when it comes to services rendered. Great experience working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work culture is good
General Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON5 September 2017
great team to work with, and management do support their employees, if one have problems, other willing to help, and working as a team, they also provide internal training opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON2 September 2017
Nonstop throughout the day,
Customers usually pleasant, most staff members are good to work with. Dog friendly environment.
Fast paced in between filing and answering phones
Pros
Able to see Lots of dogs
Cons
Some management were degrading
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad.
LOT ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC1 September 2017
It's not a fun place to work but if you just want a job it will be a choice. I worked there for 3 months but I learned some stuff which is valuable for my future career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail
Responsable de la garantie (Former Employee) –  West Island, QC28 August 2017
l'environnement de travail était plus que convenable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic working environment
Car Porter (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON25 August 2017
First shop I have ever worked at and I'm glad I ventured into the automotive industry. Volkswagen is a fantastic company to work for. Competitive wages, friendly team environment and staff who are easily approachable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volkswagen wasn't the problem, Steele was
Receptionist/Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS23 August 2017
The company itself was definitely not the reason I had issues... it was the management of the dealership. There was basically zero compensation for your work or efforts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for part time student
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  British Columbia13 August 2017
It's super stressful
I learned how to cope under stress
Management is great
multitasking
Most enjoyable part of the job is going home

This is ideally a great job for a student
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
pay isn't the greatest
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, productive place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC4 July 2017
loved my coworkers and day to day life at goldkey. its a very casual, friendly environment and the people are easy to work along side of. overall great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tres agréable
Technicien automobile (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC27 June 2017
Était agréable d'y travailler. L'équipement dans cette atelier et la formation continue.
Pros
L'équipe a l'époque
Cons
Le changement apporté
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Volkswagen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 3,974 reviews
51.8K
41.2K
3649
2186
1103

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture