Vitran Express Employee Reviews

Found 54 reviews matching the search See all 276 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible ....Irate Employees and clients ...Executive managers have one thing on their mind cut cost by removing resources creating a disfunctional
Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 June 2019
Horrible service to customers, employees treated poorly executive management mandates resource cuts ...leaving employees to cover 2 and 3 jobs ...Im very sorry not much good to say unfortunately

Hopefully they see the light and make proper changes
Pros
Haha free bagel once a year
Cons
Too much ...needs serious work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Pricing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON7 May 2019
Please avoid working in this company. Particularly, avoid working in the pricing department. The manager and the supervisor are very selfish. They don’t care for you. Even if you are sick they expect you to come into work. I have haven’t seen such high standards of unprofessionalism.
Pros
None. You get 5 sick days but you can’t use them.
Cons
Everything you can imagine, No growth, I have seen people working there from 15-20 years but still at the same position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very suffocating place
Pricing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON2 May 2019
Very suffocating place to work. If you want growth in your career never join Viran. 15 ppl are working in same department at same level and some if them are there from 25 years. No promotion If you are an international student NEVER join this company they don’t help in permanent residency even if you leave the company. No reward for hard work. No new technology. Sometimes they fired ppl in their probation period just for taking two leaves. Management is nothing. they don’t have any idea what’s going on in office. Specially pricing /rating department is worse and they treat ppl like garbage. If you don’t trust, go and get experience like me.
Pros
Same work everyday
Cons
Sleeping management, no job security, no growth, no one listens you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid like the plague
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC2 May 2019
Management cuts employees and gives more work to remaining employees. Keep piling work on & only 2% raise per year (if you are lucky).
Poor office management, no accountability for those who are not doing their job.
Drug abuse in the office is overlooked.
They expect high numbers from you & only too happy to point out errors, we are human... errors happen.
No clear direction from management.
I would avoid this company like the plague.
Pros
Ok benefits
Cons
Poor management, no job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but no room for advancement
O S & D Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON26 November 2018
Good work life balance, salary is ok, but no room for growth. Makes it difficult to get to a supervisor or management level as staff remains there for a long time and positions do not open up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run very poorly
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON13 November 2018
Company has changed hands all new people. Expected too work extra hours without compansation
Management needs to work closely with employees providing better training
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON5 November 2018
Great company
Growth and Development
Good benefit and pay
No issue
have morning, afternoon night shift
opportunity to grow within company
I can refer candidate
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A happy place to work
A/R Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 August 2018
Excellent leadership. Productive atmosphere, allowed to express ideas and opinions. Good home/work balance. Encouraged to improve skills thru inhouse training.
Pros
great staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
DOCK WORKER/FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON16 August 2018
You are going to need to spend two years to get a first raise it does not matter how hard you work and how committed you are, there is a union that only protects and respond to seniority, new employees will not have the chance to go on holidays on July or August and they do not consider you as a person or human being, not an organized environment and the union woks mainly for seniors, I don't recommend this place
Pros
none
Cons
disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good culture
Data entry clerk (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON12 August 2018
nice place, work timings are odd, it would be great if they rotate shifts so that everyone can work day and night. number of hours vary from week to week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
crazy workplace
Warehouse/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 July 2018
- some great co workers
- safety was not a priority, scary few close calls and nothing done about it
-very good workplace
-hardest part of the job was working with some that didn't take safety seriously
-enjoyed some great workers
Pros
love the warehouse job
Cons
ppor pay and they sent us home when we were done, not full hours was given
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job, not much room for growth
O S & D Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Concord, ON26 July 2018
I worked there for 7 years with no promotion or significant raise, despite excellent annual reviews. I made many attempts to try to learn more and advance but was stopped at every turn and not supported my management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 July 2018
no benefits night shift hate it cold in winter no heat management sucks not happy only good benefit is close to home work your feet off all night and get rushed out the door by the operations manager all in all the wages are good but no dental benefits is a killer when you have a family all deal visits come out of pocket kind of bad not happy so i will be searching for better employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment de travail mauvais
Chauffeur classe 1 (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 May 2018
La compagnie elle n’est pas bien organisée mal géré.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trucking
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan13 April 2018
Set up and take down booth
Contract position
Work with energy efficient products
Lots of independence
Great managers
Very accommodating
Get to talk to lots of people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 April 2018
Working with Vitran was good experience. I learned lot of new tools. Management was helpful. The worse part of the job was hours. Near Christmas they have so much work that we had to work many extra hours means less family time. And during low time they do not give you enough hours and send you home early.
Pros
lot to learn
Cons
hard to manage hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing for having fun
IT Support (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 March 2018
I have to fix users problem on phones and check emails for users tickets . check backup install new machines and replace it with old one. check the anti virus server for viruses and malware .documents problems .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne entreprise
Faire liste de charge pour chaque remorque (Former Employee) –  Lachine, QC23 February 2018
très bonne entreprise. mise a pied a cause d'un gros manque de travail.
Pros
tout
Cons
aucun
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good environment
Dispatcher/Billing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON23 December 2017
Vitran is run like a circus

typical day at work Is I get my bills in the morning and haul out two loads sometimes three loads of delivery's and then a load of pick ups then I call it a day at arond 4:00- 6:00 pm and go home

what have I learned city p&d is the same for every company

management is a joke

co-workers well that's all they are is co-workers I try not to make that aspect of my work personal

the hardest part of the job is dealing with dispatch were at there mercy
Pros
Good Environment
Cons
long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but took time out for fun in slow periods .
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 October 2017
Overseeing operations on a daily basis . Ensuring targets are monitored and achieved . Prioritizing orders for customers in a timely manner . Troubleshooting.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report