Vitran Express Employee Reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search See all 267 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run very poorly
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON13 November 2018
Company has changed hands all new people. Expected too work extra hours without compansation
Management needs to work closely with employees providing better training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON5 November 2018
Great company
Growth and Development
Good benefit and pay
No issue
have morning, afternoon night shift
opportunity to grow within company
I can refer candidate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A happy place to work
A/R Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 August 2018
Excellent leadership. Productive atmosphere, allowed to express ideas and opinions. Good home/work balance. Encouraged to improve skills thru inhouse training.
Pros
great staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
DOCK WORKER/FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON16 August 2018
You are going to need to spend two years to get a first raise it does not matter how hard you work and how committed you are, there is a union that only protects and respond to seniority, new employees will not have the chance to go on holidays on July or August and they do not consider you as a person or human being, not an organized environment and the union woks mainly for seniors, I don't recommend this place
Pros
none
Cons
disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good culture
Data entry clerk (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON12 August 2018
nice place, work timings are odd, it would be great if they rotate shifts so that everyone can work day and night. number of hours vary from week to week.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
crazy workplace
Warehouse/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 July 2018
- some great co workers
- safety was not a priority, scary few close calls and nothing done about it
-very good workplace
-hardest part of the job was working with some that didn't take safety seriously
-enjoyed some great workers
Pros
love the warehouse job
Cons
ppor pay and they sent us home when we were done, not full hours was given
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job, not much room for growth
O S & D Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Concord, ON26 July 2018
I worked there for 7 years with no promotion or significant raise, despite excellent annual reviews. I made many attempts to try to learn more and advance but was stopped at every turn and not supported my management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 July 2018
no benefits night shift hate it cold in winter no heat management sucks not happy only good benefit is close to home work your feet off all night and get rushed out the door by the operations manager all in all the wages are good but no dental benefits is a killer when you have a family all deal visits come out of pocket kind of bad not happy so i will be searching for better employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment de travail mauvais
Chauffeur classe 1 (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 May 2018
La compagnie elle n’est pas bien organisée mal géré.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trucking
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan13 April 2018
Set up and take down booth
Contract position
Work with energy efficient products
Lots of independence
Great managers
Very accommodating
Get to talk to lots of people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Vitran Express?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 April 2018
Working with Vitran was good experience. I learned lot of new tools. Management was helpful. The worse part of the job was hours. Near Christmas they have so much work that we had to work many extra hours means less family time. And during low time they do not give you enough hours and send you home early.
Pros
lot to learn
Cons
hard to manage hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing for having fun
IT Support (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 March 2018
I have to fix users problem on phones and check emails for users tickets . check backup install new machines and replace it with old one. check the anti virus server for viruses and malware .documents problems .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne entreprise
Faire liste de charge pour chaque remorque (Former Employee) –  Lachine, QC23 February 2018
très bonne entreprise. mise a pied a cause d'un gros manque de travail.
Pros
tout
Cons
aucun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good environment
Dispatcher/Billing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON23 December 2017
Vitran is run like a circus

typical day at work Is I get my bills in the morning and haul out two loads sometimes three loads of delivery's and then a load of pick ups then I call it a day at arond 4:00- 6:00 pm and go home

what have I learned city p&d is the same for every company

management is a joke

co-workers well that's all they are is co-workers I try not to make that aspect of my work personal

the hardest part of the job is dealing with dispatch were at there mercy
Pros
Good Environment
Cons
long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but took time out for fun in slow periods .
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 October 2017
Overseeing operations on a daily basis . Ensuring targets are monitored and achieved . Prioritizing orders for customers in a timely manner . Troubleshooting.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work atmosphere
BILLING CLERK (Former Employee) –  Oak Bluff, MB17 August 2017
The managers were awesome! I enjoyed my experience and time at Vitran. I learned a lot from my fellow co-workers and bosses, including: learning a new software program, and learning how to create invoices. Everyone was very friendly.
Pros
Free lunches, Casual day, Cake on birthdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forklift
Forklift Driver/Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London, ON7 August 2017
Unloaded, staged, and reloaded trailers to quickly distribute a variety of products while confirming product manifests. Trailers would arrive with the daily pickups and unloaded with a forklift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be aware
Routing clerk (Former Employee) –  Lachine, QC24 November 2016
A seemingly good company on the outside, but absolutely archaic on the inside.
Dispatch screen is an aluminum tower that turns around.
The leash is very short. Any issues within 3 weeks means your demise.
Also, this job is for you if you enjoy being watched at all time via security camera.
Pros
Nice operation manager, Keurig machine
Cons
Archaic system, short leash, ancient drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
member of the OS&D team (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 November 2016
I loved working here !! Was the best ever except it wasn't busy enough as that is why i got laid off. People who work there are amazing people as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for ( supervisors need people skills )
fork lift operator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 August 2016
first let me say that I love working at Vitran express . The company to employee regulations are fair .I do agree with the policy of seniority. after all when you work for a company for 30 years you should have priority over someone that just stated .

even though the older guys get priority for overtime I get overtime every week . and I have only been there for 3 months .

the company provides employees with very good benefits , sceduled salary raises and union work conditions .

I do however have a problem with the supervisors , all but one need to really get some people skills and follow the union rules . yelling and being rude to employees has to stop immediately and upper management should get involved . stop being vindictive and threaten employees with making them hand bomb all day long if you do not agree with what they have to say .

Coworkers ....

for the most part they are great , but as in any company there is always a few bad apples . fortunately management knows about them and they pose no threats .

overall this is a great place to work for and if your looking for a job this is a great place

thank you
Pros
decent pay, good coworkers, great patient upper management
Cons
supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Vitran Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 267 reviews
539
465
391
231
141

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture