VIA Rail
Happiness score is 61 out of 100
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

VIA Rail: 139 Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Canada139 reviews

Ratings by category

3.3Work-life balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Showing all 139 reviews

J'adore mon emploi chez VIA Rail! Je n'avais jamais connu une culture aussi collaborative. J’aime mon équipe, mes projets et mon salaire!

Featured review

VIA Rail selected this as a representative review
C'est vraiment un endroit où il fait bon travailler! Les projets sur lesquels je travaille ont un impact positif sur la société (Yeah!), ma gestionnaire est très compréhensive et mes collègues formidables, ce qui facilite la conciliation travail-vie personnelle. J’ai un très bon salaire et plein d'avantages sociaux, dont la télémédecine illimité pour moi, mon chum et mes enfants. Comme je suis au siège social, je peux faire du télétravail et la conciliation travail-vie-personnelle se fait vraiment bien. Mes collègues sont vraiment agréables et collaboratifs. Ce n'est pas un environnement ultra compétitif où tout le monde protège ses projets et essaie d'écraser les autres pour avoir une promotion.Les avantages sont vraiment bien! En plus, on fait des heures normales, ce qui nous permet d'avoir une vie en dehors du travail. Il y a beaucoup d'approbations à obtenir avant de pouvoir avancer, ce qui ralentit les projets. Par contre, comme j'ai beaucoup de projets, les journées passent vraiment très rapidement. Ce que j'aime le plus : mon équipe, mon gestionnaire, des projets qui ont du sens et qui contribuent à rendre notre société meilleure!

Pros

Télétravail en mode hybride, Possibilité de bien concilier vie perso et travail, Salaire avantageux et avantages sociaux (j'adore l'appli Dialogue1), Une équipe formidable!, Une culture d'entreprise réellement inclusive (en tout cas, plein d'initiatives pour le devenir), L'arrivée d'une toute nouvelle flotte (c'est vraiment excitant!), Une équipe de direction qui a réellement a coeur le bien-être de ses employés, Le sentiment de contribuer à un mode de transport plus écologique au Canada.

Cons

Les décisions se prennent plus lentement que dans le secteur privé, Il y a beaucoup d'étapes d'approbation, Selon le type d'emploi, on peut travailler de jour, de soir, de nuit (les trains roulent toute l'année (24h/7jours), Être à la merci d'un changement de gouvernement
Was this review helpful?

Productice send fun

I would rather not work here if I had the cherche. Decent but doesn’t allow you to have a life outside of the job . I don’t appreciate working here every day every night but you do what you can to put money on the table and feed your family .

Pros

Free lunches

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

3 August 2022
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your experience at VIA Rail. Feedback is important to us! If you want to provide us with more details to help us improve, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.

Insights into VIA Rail

Based on 40 survey responses
What people like
  • Ability to meet personal goals
  • Feeling of personal appreciation
  • Fair pay for job
Areas for improvement
  • Time and location flexibility
  • Support from manager
  • Energizing work tasks

Disappointment

Zero communication in the office or head office. Nobody has your back. Goes on strike every couple of years to negotiate for an agreement in the union, because they don’t listen or care about the workers. Hours are intense and seasonal work for the first 10 years of your career.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

28 July 2022
We acknowledge receipt of your comments and thank you for sharing your feedback. The union and VIA Rail strive to negotiate and provide the best working conditions possible for our unionized workers. The collective agreement governs scheduling and seniority.

Overall good company

I would recommend working there without hesitation. Definitely a structured environment when I was there and hopefully that’s changed now. Other than that It’s d go back if a position fit my profile

Pros

Good salary & Benefits

Cons

Middle managers
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

26 July 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your experience at VIA Rail. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us if you see a position that fits your profile!

This great opportunity offers chances for advancement and training possibilities

I had the privilege of working for Via Rail for 14 years. I was given the opportunity to follow several customer service skills improvement courses over my tenure at Via Rail.Friendships are abound and opportunities exist for real for the candidates whom are really dedicated to offering nothing but the best in customer service quality!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

26 July 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so delighted to read your positive comments, and we're pleased that you have enjoyed your 14 years with VIA Rail.

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Inclusive, fun, diverse workplace

Love working here. Staff and management make it a safe work environment and fun. Good easy to follow traning. Team is patient and understanding. Love working there
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

30 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so delighted to read your positive comments, and are glad that you're enjoying your experience at VIA Rail.

Vie de chemin de fer

Paye était bonne mais ça commence à faire dur comparé au autres entreprises beaucoup d’employés quittent

Pros

Assurances dentaire, maladie et autre

Cons

Horaire instable
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

26 July 2022
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre avis. Les commentaires sont importants pour nous aider à nous améliorer. Si vous souhaitez nous fournir plus de détails, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Stay away if you're looking for a stable job/shifts

Took me 20 years before i managed to have my week ends off. No much support from management. You do your time, collect your pay checks and that's it. Chances for a better job is slim to none if you're not the bosses relative/friend. Pay is good but pension plan is now awful. You will find better with a private company
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

17 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Feedback is important to us, and we are sorry to hear that you are not fully satisfied about your experience with us. The reality of VIA Rail's operational nature dictates busy schedules on weekends, resulting in the need for more availability in employee schedules. As an organization governed by a collective agreement, clear rules for scheduling are provided and respected by both parties. If you would like to provide us with more details to help us improve, please do not hesitate to contact us.

It’s the railway. Get ready to work

Get ready to work. The management team is better then most other railway companies however it’s still very dependant if you make them look bad or not. Work life balance is terrible, meetings constantly on days off and when working even if you are low staff and drowning in work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

17 June 2022
We acknowledge the receipt of your comments and will review them internally. We are regretful to hear your experience at VIA Rail is not fully meeting your expectations. We assure you that we continually strive to foster a healthy, balanced and positive work environment for all. If you want to provide us with more details to help us improve, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.

Good working condition and good people to work with and excellent pay wirh benefits

Via is a great place to work,you wear the clothes they provide but you select them.The job requires the experience and knowledge of operating a passenger train, your treated like a person not a number.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

17 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so delighted to read your positive comments, and are glad that you're enjoying your experience at VIA Rail.

Super environnement de travail

Belle ambiance de travail. Travail d'équipe est valorisé. Flexibilité des horaires de travail. Excellents avantages. Belles opportunités de développement et d'avancement.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

17 June 2022
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre avis. Nous nous efforçons de créer un environnement de travail positif pour chacun et nous sommes ravis que vous appréciez votre expérience chez VIA Rail.

Pays well to make up for the instability

When you start at via, you are on the bottom of the seniority list, have to have 24/7 availability cause they will schedule you for really any time of day. They will also change your schedule every two weeks and give it to you the day before you start your new schedule. Also in the beginning expect to be laid off 1/3 of the year, and them to call you back only a couple days before starting work again after being laid off for 4 months and not hearing a thing from them. Also I’d take notes of the promises they give you during the interview because what they said for me did not end up matching up at all. But overall great pay, good people, and good benefits.

Pros

Great pay, great benefits

Cons

Long hours, unstable hours, unreliable management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

17 June 2022
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your experience at VIA Rail. We are sorry to hear that it is not entirely what you expected. We are governed by a collective agreement, which includes clear rules for scheduling, and our hours of work are based on the train schedules. If you want to provide us with more details to help us improve, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.

Very good employee environment to grow professionally.

Everyone is friendly and helpful. I learnt a lot during my 4 months internship at VIA Rail. They actually care about your skills improvement and professional growth.
Was this review helpful?

Ouverture d'esprit et bienveillance

Belle ouverture d'esprit de tous les membres de VIA Rail, être accueilli par la présidente et CEO lors de la journée d'accueil est apprécié. Très vite dans la pratique en ressources humaines, beaucoup de soutien des gestionnaires. Télétravail dû à la pandémie avec quelques passages au bureau donc plus difficile de connaitre tout le monde. Cela se fait plus lentement. Belle compagnie au service des Canadiens.
Was this review helpful?

Horrible no stability and pay is bad

The Job itself is very easy, theirs not a lot to get done. Everyone is always in a good mood and that help for sure. The problem is that we’re not well payed at all that’s #1, #2 theirs never any hours and their always laying people off with nothing and then they call you back to work and here we go again 4 weeks later you get laid off again. I think it’s a horrible company to work for but they have great people

Pros

Free travels

Cons

No stability, dreadful company
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

6 April 2022
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your experience at VIA Rail. We are regretful to hear that it did not meet your expectations. Like many businesses, we were impacted by COVID, which impacted our schedules and staffing. We are looking forward to welcoming back everyone to work. If you want to provide us with more details to help us improve, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.

Great place to work

Work Schedules can be very stressful at times esp during holidays and school breaks! Long hour Shifts can be tiring with little rest. But I have created so many memories!!! Best memories! You will love it!
Was this review helpful?

Disorganized toxic work environment

Extremely toxic management structure with no respect for union. Does not promote from within based on competence, HR supports and encourages negative working relationships between leadership and staff. Leadership is not held accountable when breaking the law, which is very uncomfortable. Senior leadership has no respect or love for railroading meaning corners are cut in all the wrong ways.

Pros

You don’t do much

Cons

There’s no tools or parts to do anything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

9 March 2022
We acknowledge receipt of your comments and will review them internally. VIA is committed to fostering a healthy and respectful work environment. Any employee with concerns of an ethical nature can have them addressed by following the process outlined in VIA Rail’s Code of Ethics, or by contacting the VIA Rail Ethics Compliance Officer. Information about this safe and confidential process is available to all employees on our internal network.

Demandant mais gratifiant

Une belle cause/mission en laquelle on peut croire, des conditions compétitives et un environnement de travail avec ses défis

Pros

Salaire, bénéfices, télé-travail, mission, ambiance et collaboration avec les collegues

Cons

résistance au changement, peu d'agilité, périodes de rush fréquentes
Was this review helpful?

fair place

good day at work is average. good hours and no overtime i would recommendand fairly east to apply.staff are long timers.culture ok flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?

toxic management nepotism

nepotism and friends get management positions union is a joke (Unifor)our union reps don't know how to negotiate on your behalf with management lots of grievances as management often tries to act and discipline against our signed collective agreement

Pros

pay and benefits

Cons

variable shift, hard to balance family life terrible management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from VIA Rail

8 February 2022
We appreciate your comment. We have very strict rules regarding the appointment of our managers and that we respect all the rules of the collective agreement. You can contact us directly if you would like to give us your comments and provide us with more details to help us understand your situation.

Bon stage

Le stage de permet d'accumuler de nouvelles experiences et il y a une possibilité de continuer à travailler à temps partiel ou à temps plein après le stage. Horaire flexible et le télétravail est possible.

Pros

flexibilité, télétravail

Cons

faut être debrouillard
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at VIA Rail. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 139 reviews

Ratings by category

3.3 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
4.0 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.6 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.2 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare VIA Rail with

  • Companies
  • VIA Rail
  • Employee reviews