VIA Rail Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Rail Car Technician (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC31 March 2018
Let go for not breaking the law. Don't work there if you value a professional and mature environment. Shop is filled with high school gossip and petty backstabbing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcutive
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fallowfield, ON29 March 2018
Managenment Needs to Spend More Time With US Employees instead in the Office

Good Workiing Condtions

It Doesnt Help That We Are a Goverment Owend Crown Corporation
Pros
Love Working
Cons
Long Hours Mangenment Improving
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic work environment
Carman (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 February 2018
A miserable place to work. Management is dumb and lazy, and have no sense of loyalty to their workers; they will cut you down any chance they get. They lack in proper training techniques for new comers, only acknowledging you when you have made a mistake ( with no suggestions for improvment). The money is good, but not one single person enjoys working there.
Pros
Good money, lots of opportunity for overtime if wanted
Cons
Poor Management, mistreatment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Via Rail -
ACHETEUR CONSTRUCTION (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 January 2018
My first experience in a governemental company.
Was really interesting to understand the strengths, weakness of this company which depends of the government and is managed with strict rules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but ultimately enjoyable work
Senior service attendant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 December 2017
Days as a new hire are very long, though the workload and length of the day vary depending on position and business of the train. Trains are reliably late, sometimes by up to 24 hours but can result in a massive payout. If you want to work, you will be busy all season. The work requires a certain fortitude but it has its payoffs--an incredible, ever-changing view; co-workers that become close-knit like family; a solid paycheque and steady employment for customer service; dental while you're working, medical from start of season to end of year, winters off!
Nice for those that like travel, enjoy working with people, enjoy some autonomy but are comfortable with hierarchy. Room for advancement, training and movement within the company.
Not nice for people with young families, singles with pets, those who need the predictability of a 9-5.
Pros
Everything is taken care of on the road, lots of overtime, incredible views
Cons
Hotels can be bad, coworkers and management can be difficult, exhaustion
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23$ an hour starting
Train attendant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 December 2017
Great please to work so much great experiences terrible management team, very disorganized. You get to work around the country see amazing things however. The money is great if you can stand the long hours and being away from home it’s a great job
Pros
Money is great ans traveling
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Bilingual Stock Checker (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON26 November 2017
The bumping system privilege does not encourage junior workers to compete.
Good company in term of facility, equipment available to perform duties and tasks. Social advantages such benefits and a pass to travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 November 2017
great place, great benefits
great people very good company to work for
lots of perks, free uniform
get to travel train pass cell phone
great management team
Cons
no fixed schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bonne compagnie
Contrôleur ferroviaire (poste de cadre) (Current Employee) –  201ash9 November 2017
Je n’ai rien de négatif à dire au sujet de mon employeur actuel c’est une énorme entreprise qui gère très bien ses employé
Pros
Possibilité d’avancement
Cons
Travail sur les shit
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bonne compagnie
Électromécanicien (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC10 October 2017
J'ai adoré mon expérience chez Via Rail Canada, le salaire qu'il donne en commençant très bon et beaucoup d'avantage à travailler là.
Pros
salaire, avantage sociaux
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work until cut backs
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 September 2017
Job was full filling and I learned a lot about the managment side of thing as being lead hand at the time . Learn all aspects of all trades as well .
Pros
Free trips and people . Childhood dream I also learn to drive a train
Cons
7 days aweek need long servive to get weekends and holidays off .Salary was mid range
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toujours bien remplis
Commis de bureau / réceptionniste (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 August 2017
Une journée au travail n'est jamais typique. Compte tenu de l'achalandage, des imprévus, de la température, des retards, des changements de dernières minutes.

J'ai surtout appris à me débrouiller et me faire un réseau pour pouvoir donner le meilleur pour tout ceux avec qui je dois travailler. Et surtout dans un délai le plus court possible.

Pendant plusieurs années, j'ai été en charge du département et c'est avec cette expérience de travaille que je sais à présent que je peux relever n'importe quel défi.

L'aspect le plus difficile du travaille étant de ne pas avoir de support du patronnât ( qui n'a aucune connaissance du travail en soi).

L'aspect le plus agréable est que chaque journée ne se ressemble pas du tout.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canada's shame
Tradesman (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 August 2017
Apply at your peril.

No talking to others allowed - The most miserable place you will ever work. Promise. Not one happy employee here. Managers are ignorant bullys. Union turns a blind eye to most problems. Ok hourly wage but no medical or paid sick days. Rail pass (coach only) benefit you spend 2,000 hours earning is a joke. Terrible shifts. You'll spend years here before you get weekends off. Motivated? Advancement is only as far as the lowest manager/bully position and they only complain, never praise. Ever.
Pros
Ok hourly wage
Cons
Oppressive work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee friendly and great work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB12 July 2017
A typical day at work involved mostly to assist inbound calling clients with train reservations and customer service. The job itself was very satisfying and rewarding . Workplace culture was mostly great and everyone on the floor was very helpful to one another. Team Leaders and the Manager were easy to work with and would be willing to assist employees with their needs.The hardest part of the job was to deal with irate clients, but that was a part of a days challenge .The most enjoyable part of the job was to know that the client was satisfied and confident with my service towards his or her needs.
Pros
sometimes get free meals when we worked extra hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Industrial Engineer Responsible (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 June 2017
Great experience in the project very good company people with a lot of experience in their field. A lot of implication, most of the people eager to learn new things.
Pros
Flex days
Cons
1 year contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Many anonymous (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 June 2017
Great company to work for! Excellent depth and breadth of experience is available to all employees. Great for entry level as well as experienced personnel.
Pros
Experience & benefits
Cons
restricted by available government funding
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult environment
On board attendant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC24 May 2017
Work long hours ( up to 18 hours a day). Management not really interested in helping new comers and bullism is somehow present.If you are not strong enough it is not for you.Poor class job.Low education required.
Pros
Good coins
Cons
Long hours, bad environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented.
On Train Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 May 2017
Great Company to work, except there's no work / life balance, but if you don't care, it's the best place to work. Great benefit. Breakfast, lunch and dinner id=s paid if you are working.
Pros
everything
Cons
long hours and out of home for more than one day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operational Experience
Maintenance Controller (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 February 2017
Through out my short time at Via Rail, I have demonstrated my organizational skills, which in turn allow me to ensure a smooth operational shift. I ensure that all crews receive the proper information prior to starting their assignements and conduct themselves in the safest way possible. Although difficult to always work overnights, I give my best at all times and am well focused on the company's objectives and end goals. Ultimately, I keep the passengers needs in check and ensure they get what they are paying for.
Pros
Operational challenges
Cons
Working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for the right person
Senior Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 November 2016
Great place to work great people but very sparratic hours great for the right personality type long periods of time from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 6Report