VIA Rail Employee Reviews

Showing all 60 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very very bad place to work
Carman tradesman (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 January 2019
If you want to work for a group of bullies who will come after you the first chance they get. Then by all means apply. All you have to do is look at one of my friends and colleagues who worked here with us at Via Rail to see. Watch this video

https://youtu.be/GSSG0vDacGc

Pretty sad that you have people in this world that do this to innocent people. I still work here and trust me nothing has changed!

I have worked here for a long time. The people who know better are getting out.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Bad management, poor schedule, back stabbing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst goverment place to work.
Railcar Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC20 November 2018
Very poorly managed, especially in the last 6 months. Everything they do is a front, but they never actually follow through. Can't expect much from a company that would promote a guy that would take big risks on passengers health and safety. You have been warned. If all you care about is the pay cheque, by all means. I've lost all respect for this company, who would disipline people for doing the right thing and promote guys who plays risks with customers wellbeing. Very scarey place to work. Its like playing russian roullete.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Diesel Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 December 2018
I have worked here for years and seen all of the things they have done and innocent people they have gotten fired. One of my colleagues this happened to and you can watch his video on YouTube

https://youtu.be/GSSG0vDacGc

Just to see what I am talking about. The foreman don't know what they are doing and will pretend to be your friend and then come after you.
Pros
Ok pay
Cons
Very bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your only limit is yourself
Tradesman (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 January 2019
Challenging environment with great opportunities to learn and advance. There can be long hours with very fair pay in exchange for effort.

With any ambition a person can quickly advance their career while picking up valuable training.

Anyone but the laziest and most inept can look forward to a fulfilling career opportunity.
Pros
Training, salary, team, opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always challenging
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 September 2018
The safe movement of passengers was a very rewarding career. Via Rail is very efficient at using teamwork to safely move their precious commodity. As it is a very safety conscious position, the management are extremely good at providing their employees with the guidance and tools needed to perform their job. The hardest part of my job at Via Rail was the time spent away from home.
Pros
Fun, challenging, rewarding, benefits
Cons
Away from home a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Work Experience
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 August 2018
Great place to work and meet new people and learn new experiences and methods.

The benefits were endless, free travel, managed the Union Station agents at a young age and enjoyed every minute.

Via Rail provided me the opportunity and identified my potential. This was the beginning of my Health and Safety Career, I delivered safety training programs for Via Employees.
Pros
Free Travel
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ne vironment de travail productif et agreable et base sur le respect et la confiance
agent de securite (Current Employee) –  Montréal .8 November 2018
je suis un officier de l armee de terre nationale tunisienne avec le grade de caporale chef + une anciennete de 14 ans.bien sur pour ameliorer ma fonction physique
Pros
transport gratuit
Cons
assurance gratuit + ma famille
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Via rial
Ingénieur électrique (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC22 November 2018
Une compagnie mal organiser , pas stable quand tu es contractuel .
Elle ne respect pas les normes de travaille .
Plusieurs ingénieur ne respect pas la profession .
Pros
Travail équipe
Cons
organisation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture is best
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 September 2018
Benefits and pay is also pretty great, a very fun place to work very hard and has a great sense of community. The life balance aspect is a bit lacking if you mostly work on board the trains, but that's to be expected.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail très intérressant & la direction ¸très sympathique
Agent de ventes au comptoir bilingue (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 January 2019
j'ai travailler à la billetterie , recevoir les clients & d'autres responsabilté
Pros
heure varriable
Cons
pas de vacances
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workspace, friendly peoples
PCO (Former Employee) –  Montreal - Gare Centrale6 June 2018
Good workspace, situation in downtown Montreal
Lack of procedures, need to have contacts inside the company
Encourage to take initiatives
Carriere plan for permanents
Pros
Workspace, people
Cons
procedure, always on the rush
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic work environment
Carman (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 February 2018
A miserable place to work. Management is dumb and lazy, and have no sense of loyalty to their workers; they will cut you down any chance they get. They lack in proper training techniques for new comers, only acknowledging you when you have made a mistake ( with no suggestions for improvment). The money is good, but not one single person enjoys working there.
Pros
Good money, lots of opportunity for overtime if wanted
Cons
Poor Management, mistreatment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcutive
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fallowfield, ON29 March 2018
Managenment Needs to Spend More Time With US Employees instead in the Office

Good Workiing Condtions

It Doesnt Help That We Are a Goverment Owend Crown Corporation
Pros
Love Working
Cons
Long Hours Mangenment Improving
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Rail Car Technician (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC31 March 2018
Let go for not breaking the law. Don't work there if you value a professional and mature environment. Shop is filled with high school gossip and petty backstabbing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 10Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23$ an hour starting
Train attendant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 December 2017
Great please to work so much great experiences terrible management team, very disorganized. You get to work around the country see amazing things however. The money is great if you can stand the long hours and being away from home it’s a great job
Pros
Money is great ans traveling
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but ultimately enjoyable work
Senior service attendant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 December 2017
Days as a new hire are very long, though the workload and length of the day vary depending on position and business of the train. Trains are reliably late, sometimes by up to 24 hours but can result in a massive payout. If you want to work, you will be busy all season. The work requires a certain fortitude but it has its payoffs--an incredible, ever-changing view; co-workers that become close-knit like family; a solid paycheque and steady employment for customer service; dental while you're working, medical from start of season to end of year, winters off!
Nice for those that like travel, enjoy working with people, enjoy some autonomy but are comfortable with hierarchy. Room for advancement, training and movement within the company.
Not nice for people with young families, singles with pets, those who need the predictability of a 9-5.
Pros
Everything is taken care of on the road, lots of overtime, incredible views
Cons
Hotels can be bad, coworkers and management can be difficult, exhaustion
Was this review helpful?Yes 49No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Via Rail -
ACHETEUR CONSTRUCTION (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 January 2018
My first experience in a governemental company.
Was really interesting to understand the strengths, weakness of this company which depends of the government and is managed with strict rules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 11Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canada's shame
Tradesman (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 August 2017
Apply at your peril.

No talking to others allowed - The most miserable place you will ever work. Promise. Not one happy employee here. Managers are ignorant bullys. Union turns a blind eye to most problems. Ok hourly wage but no medical or paid sick days. Rail pass (coach only) benefit you spend 2,000 hours earning is a joke. Terrible shifts. You'll spend years here before you get weekends off. Motivated? Advancement is only as far as the lowest manager/bully position and they only complain, never praise. Ever.
Pros
Ok hourly wage
Cons
Oppressive work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toujours bien remplis
Commis de bureau / réceptionniste (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 August 2017
Une journée au travail n'est jamais typique. Compte tenu de l'achalandage, des imprévus, de la température, des retards, des changements de dernières minutes.

J'ai surtout appris à me débrouiller et me faire un réseau pour pouvoir donner le meilleur pour tout ceux avec qui je dois travailler. Et surtout dans un délai le plus court possible.

Pendant plusieurs années, j'ai été en charge du département et c'est avec cette expérience de travaille que je sais à présent que je peux relever n'importe quel défi.

L'aspect le plus difficile du travaille étant de ne pas avoir de support du patronnât ( qui n'a aucune connaissance du travail en soi).

L'aspect le plus agréable est que chaque journée ne se ressemble pas du tout.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work until cut backs
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 September 2017
Job was full filling and I learned a lot about the managment side of thing as being lead hand at the time . Learn all aspects of all trades as well .
Pros
Free trips and people . Childhood dream I also learn to drive a train
Cons
7 days aweek need long servive to get weekends and holidays off .Salary was mid range
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at VIA Rail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 60 reviews
523
422
36
22
17

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture