Verspeeten Cartage Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON17 January 2019
Very busy
I learned how to Dispatch
Management was ok
I didn't like the workplace culture
The most enjoyable part of the Job were the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work but they change your dispech any time
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Ingersoll, ON2 October 2017
I was drive owner operator truck in this company that time dispech no good they change ur load and give your load to some body without any reason thats bad thing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Owner Operator (Former Employee) –  Ingersoll, ON6 September 2017
I truly did enjoy my time working for this company.I had a great team behind me and whenever I needed anything they helped me out, no questions asked and in returned I did my duty as best as I could with little to no complaints. I drove no matter what they had.
Pros
Lots of Steady Freight
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad atmosphere, boring work, 95% trailer work
Truck and Coach Technician (Current Employee) –  274129 Wallace Line, Ingersoll, ON20 June 2017
Union workers, super lazy, most boring place I've ever worked.
There's licensed guys here that don't even know how to take out a dog house.
Place is a joke.
I can't emphasize how many trailers there are, plus garbage trailers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving on the open road
Driver (Former Employee) –  Ingersoll, ON1 April 2017
I loved driving on the open road , into the United states and being one with the road. The Hardest part of my day was driving with the Americans, sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for. Only reason for looking for other employment is to avoid the travel time and driving distance.
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ingersoll, ON9 January 2017
Review all invoices coming in by email, fax and through mail.
Code and separate HST, verify signed by authorizing person, and enter into Truckmate A/P system.

Tuesday mornings I do a weekly cheque run on all US invoices and invoices needing to paid quickly.

Match invoices with purchase orders and packing slips.

Complete month end invoices matching to statements, acquire missing invoices, do month-end cheque run and meet mail out deadlines.

I learned about the trucking industry, that each company has its own priorities and essential knowledge and that I really enjoy learning knew industries and broadening my experiences.
Pros
VEry caring and family orientated people.
Cons
Very long commute and driving time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment, good pay and good people.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ingersoll, ON2 January 2017
This place gave you the family feel and the positive work place environment.
The pay is decent and the drivers are fantastic people.
Defiantly recommend to apply.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, wonderful people, corrupt management that will push you out the door after your first injury.
310T Apprentice Technician (Former Employee) –  Ingersoll, ON13 April 2016
Honestly a great place to work, nowhere is perfect but this is pretty much as close as you'll get to it. just don't get hurt and if you do, don't report it.
Pros
great people great hours multiple shifts, shift bids every 6 months great benefits
Cons
kick you out after your wsib claim is over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local driving for Auto part delivery
AZ Driver (Former Employee) –  Whitby ON5 January 2015
I was paid hourly, and it was a union shop only in the last year, which was an upgrade as far as pay goes. The company closed down our yard but I enjoyed the people I worked with, and while management wasn't always easy to deal with, they were always up front as well. Best trucking job I had, but that is damning by faint praise in an tough industry.
Pros
Pay was hourlly, equipment well was well maintained
Cons
repetitive....traffic was horrendous some days...
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a great place to work im always on the road dont spend alot of time at the yard
AZ Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Ingersoll, ON29 November 2014
Verspeeten Cartage is a great place to work family oriented
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company to work for.
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Ingersoll, ON12 March 2013
Awesome people to work & they treat their employees very well a very busy working environment . Have full benefits after 6 months. I work weekends only .would love to find a Monday to Friday job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 14Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with a variety of different duties
Payroll Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ingersoll, Ontario18 December 2012
Learned all aspects of the trucking business including payroll, dispatch, customer service, filing, benefit packages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 11Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, fun co-workers, good benefits and good salary
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Ingersoll, ON27 July 2012
The transportation industry is very high paced and stressfull. I enjoy being busy and welcome a challange. I have learned so much since starting at Verspeeten in 2001. Verspeeten has upgraded their systems and most are custom programs. I have learned how to clear loads over the border through FAST system, ACE system and Manifest.

The hardest part about my job is the afternoon shift. My co-workers are great people and most are very knowledgable about the work.
The most enjoyable part of my job are the people. The people I work with in the office and the drivers themselves.
Pros
benefits (medical, dental, glasses), wage - comparable, great people, up to date computer systems
Cons
many weekends that need to be worked, can be very stressfull, afternoon shift (2:30pm to 11pm)
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 17Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Verspeeten Cartage. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 14 reviews
56
45
32
20
11

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture

Verspeeten Cartage Reviews by Location