Value Village Thrift Store Employee Reviews for Production Worker

Found 29 reviews matching the search See all 301 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely terrible
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK5 June 2019
Avoid this place like the plague, pay is only slightly above minimum wage, the work environment is dirty and dangerous and management is abusive and unfair. You're expected to work until you drop, and that's still not enough for them, people look like they want to die in production and management stares at you while you work, and if you make one slight mistake they'll yell at you. Very high turnover rate, you're just another number to them and you'll be treated as such. If you enjoyed being treated like human garbage from unfair management, this is the place for you.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice team members
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON30 May 2019
Horrible management team great team members but management under appreciates the staff and targets certain people as "special" and allow the others to pick up their slack
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management, stressful, and underpaid
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS9 April 2019
So overwhelming for just minimum wage! Management is constantly staring at you well you work. Worst job i ever had!...................................
Pros
Morning shifts
Cons
Under paid and bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS13 March 2019
YOU will be treated like a piece of trash plan and simple. Overworked and underpaid . Lots of pressure and very bad treatment no matter how good a worker you are or how hard you will you will never hear a kind word and will be degraded on a daily bases. I will never put anything in a donation box again.
Pros
there are no pros to working here
Cons
everything, if you like being abused this is the place for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company to work for
Production Worker/ Supervisor (in training) (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE8 January 2019
This company is all about the money and has little to know consideration for it's employees. When you reach your quotas they will double them the next day. It is very dirty and dusty with no ventilation. Safety issues aren't taken seriously unless it is the 'higher ups' who suggest them. Quantity over quality is definitely the goal of this company. A lot of stress with little to no pay off. Employees are disposable! Don't work for this company if you have children as they will expect you to chose them over you children or risk termination.
Pros
Decent benefits, great co workers
Cons
Management doesn't care about workers, low pay, terrible working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of expectations for min wage
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON23 November 2018
very dirty and not enough room for workers to move safely. If you look at the production room it looks like slaves are working in the 16th century. They want you to speed up to the death.
Managers are very lazy and they think they are from a different world than us. They are not there for you and just asking to speed up.
Do not work in there unless you have to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but it's very hard!
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  New Glasgow, NS3 November 2018
I loved the people I worked with, they were like family and I made a lifelong best friend out of it, but the job wasn't worth what I was making and the management didn't know what they were doing for the first year the store opened in town
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
The gross work we did
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value Village
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC24 August 2018
A typical day at work is the same day in and day out, you know what to expect when you walk in. Very repetitive, mundane work. Simple stuff that one could really get a grasp on easily, it's just a matter of being monotonous and tiring, employees are really being pushed to hit daily quotas. As for workplace culture, everyone bonds over the way we're treated and what's expected of us. If you can work under pressures, you're good at repetitive tasks, by all means.
Pros
Great co-workers, discounts, being ecologically friendly
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC24 March 2018
The store manager yells a lot and degrades the workers. I was being trained and was yelled at for not putting out enough items. It's very dusty, dirty and you may have to deal with poo poo.
Pros
sometimes free food, free coffee, benefits
Cons
bad management, dirty, dusty, stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere
Customer Service / Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 March 2018
It was a good job, you had a daily goal that you were given and they let you work towards it, my co-workers were excellent and friendly, and helped out to accomplish the daily goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL7 March 2018
stressful but enjoyable work environment. the people were nice but the work could be unpleasant. Management wasnt always the easy to get along with at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Experience
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON26 February 2018
Worked for the company for almost 9 yrs. Not overly bad to work for them, but many cons most wouldn't consider unless placed in the job environment themselves.
Pros
full time with benefits
Cons
stress and headaches
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace and lots of heavy lifting
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC19 February 2018
Lots of heavy lifting, dusty place, fast pace... I worked in different areas in production and learned every thing about different products to the price point that the company was looking for.... Management was great to work with in the beginning, but then they had a lot of turn over in management and it got a little mess up on what each manger wanted. Workplace culture was great easy going and hard working team members... Really happy to be part of the team... The hardest part of the job was seeing great workers move on... The most enjoyable part was the fast pace and busy day, Loved learning about new products and their price points... They also have great health benefits for full time staff.
Pros
Great health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an ok place to start
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON13 February 2018
When i started here it seemed like a great atmosphere. Then i started in the back being a sorter. You are supposed to rotate on tables so you don't get sore. That does not happen here. My health rapidly declined as you sort 800 plus pound carts. I got migraines and nose bleeds every day to the point my doctor told me to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB9 February 2018
i enjoyed everyone i worked with
learning the different areas of the production aspect within the company.
and again i enjoyed working with some amazing people
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overvworked and underpaid
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 January 2018
As a sorter you have a quota managers are very demanding to make sure you reach these almost impossible quotas. Very dirty and dusty environment. The stress of having to reach quota on a daily basis and dealing with toxic smells and bugs not worth the low pay.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Quota
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON28 January 2018
Fast paced environment , Always learned new things everyday and meeting new people. Heavy lifting over 150 pound was not my favorite but I enjoyed the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB22 January 2018
Productive, fun and a great team of ladies to work with. The Management team are caring and recognize the hard work their employees do.

I would recommend working for Value Village to anyone and have recruited new people to work there.
Pros
Lunches provided for a job well done
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not long term
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC15 January 2018
If you like doing the exact same thing every single day and being treated like a robot that expected to do more and better then what you are capable of, then this is the job for you.
But if you want advancement, acknowledgment for good work, pay raises regularly, then choose a different job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company needs to work on how they treat staff
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC4 January 2018
Staff is treated unfairly, Management has no idea what they are doing. overall it is a negative place to work, staff are unhappy and not looking to make friends with new people. Managers are open about the fact they don't even want to be there. not good for staff moral
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Value Village Thrift Store. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 301 reviews
576
461
384
240
140

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture

Value Village Thrift Store Reviews by Location