Vail Resorts Employee Reviews

Found 76 reviews matching the search See all 1,201 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great office view
Millwright, Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC5 February 2019
Great work environment, coworkers have a passion for ski lifestyle and it shows. Work in every type of weather that you can think of. Must love out doors. Sunrises and sets are gorgeous when viewed from the top of the mountain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going culture but terrible wage
Sales and Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC2 January 2019
long days that could be spent outside depending on department
minimum wage
free pass
potential for staff housing.
fun atmosphere
could have better planned staff events
Pros
free pass
Cons
the wages are terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre Environment
Operations Department (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC4 November 2018
No room for growth, management doesn’t care if you stay around or not. Benefits package is good, if you can manage to stay 3 seasons you will qualify. Wage doesn’t grow significantly when you return. Management is very corporate and will will rarely listen to your feedback as they are stuck in their ways. Employee Experience does minimal to help you when you are treated unfairly. Yes you get a ski pass, but good luck finding time to use it when you are over worked due to them being under staffed.
Pros
They pay overtime when you work extra
Cons
No free time because of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity focused company with SSki lunch breaks
Group Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC2 November 2018
Whistler Blackcomb (WB) was a great company to work at with diversity of people working in the many departments. Essentially WB was its only village within a village. Being one of the most popular Ski destinations in the world it offered amazing opportunities to diversify your resume.
Pros
Family Ski passes and great discounts
Cons
Limitied opportunities of progressing career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best season
ski resort- Ski instructor (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC22 October 2018
Loved working the job out in Canada. If i could get another visa to work out there, i would. Everyone is so nice and the job progression is easily understood.
Spent all my time skiing and loving the mountains.
Pros
free lunch, free skiing master classes, fantastic environment.
Cons
cold?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low salary compared to the big responsibility.
Ski Instructor (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC21 August 2018
Your schedule changes too often.
The best thing about Whistler Blackcomb is all the great coworkers from all over the world. It's a young and dynamic environment,
Pros
Free luches, great coworkers
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo dinámico y unido, gestión poco elaborada pero eficiente, sueldo justo pero no generoso
Entrenador de snowboard y ski (Former Employee) –  British Columbia5 August 2018
Mi experiencia como profesor fue buena y gratificante ya que aprendí a organizar y ejecutar proyecto de medio y largo plazo, también aprendí a liderar y hacer valorar mi opinión profesional
Mi experiencia como supervisor fue mucho más emocionante y productiva pero también estresante y compleja. Tuve poder para cambiar y mejorar aspectos administrativos , dinámicas de entrenamiento y marketing de la empresa sin embargo aprendí a encajar críticas y lidiar con quejas de manera profesional.
Pros
Horarios flexibles
Cons
Sueldo bajo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best workplace
Salomon store Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC12 June 2018
best workplace, great leadership, great employees can't wait to work there again i made some life long friends and got to ski and bike lots , best workplace ever
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Servery Coordinator & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC4 June 2018
Whistler Blackcomb was an amazing place to work for the winter season. I was provided staff housing amazing memories and close friendships. This was one of the most fun places to work in whistler.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphêre d'équipe international
Chef (Former Employee) –  Whistler28 May 2018
En mon avis, Whistler Blackcomb est une entreprise agréable pour les jeunes voyageurs qui veulent travailler fort et souvent. Il y a beaucoup de possibilités de s'avancer et de dévelopement professionnel. Whistler est un endroit célebré pour les sports extreme et une vie active. WB vous donne la chance de vivre une vie active dans un paysage qui n'arrète pas de vous inspirer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun employees, awful wages
Rental Tech/ Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC17 April 2018
Amazing place to live and work if wages and housing were better. Being able to live there comfortably based on WB wages is a pipe dream. Good for a season if you have a lot in your savings, impossible to live long term.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun workplace
Ski Instructor (Former Employee) –  whistler14 April 2018
the mountains are your back garden so that's pretty awesome. The pay is terrible and you're overworked. The people are amazing and the culture is super fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a season like the mountain, very up and down
Rental Technician (Current Employee) –  Whistler, BC7 April 2018
Working for whistler blackcomb while a great experience was not what I had expected. Working in a rental shop with little staff, saw me working more hours, with minimal wage than I had originally planned. While living is affordable through staff accommodation it remains difficult through high prices on food and other activities.
I have however made many great friends and had many days on the mountain snowboarding while working here which is a major positive.

Within my rental shop a typical day at work is meant to be an 8 hour shift but busy days, long opening hours and poor staffing saw many of these days doing overtime without much of a say in it at all.

One positive I have taken from this experience however is my now increased knowledge about sis and snowboards, relating to all snow conditions and abilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Lead hand Sales (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC21 February 2018
It was a fun place to work thats for sure. However talk to any WB employee and they will tell you the same thing. It is really hard to make money at WB.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place year round
Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC12 February 2018
whistler blackcomb is a fairly good place to work if you like being outside. the winter can be a bit cold if your a lifty due to standing outside 10 hours a day. The reward is fairly high though due to a $1900 season pass is free to all employees and staff discounts all over the village. The mountain is a breath taking place scenery and skiing wise. During the summer is all mountain biking and hiking. Whistler is a very active community.
Pros
4 day work week
Cons
long hours, cold days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work and adventure
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Keystone, CO7 February 2018
excellent place to work and learn as well as do adventures like ski and snowboarding and many other different games as well as beautifull place which one would never get bored looking around
Pros
free shift meal, free skiing for employees, discounted meals
Cons
too cold and snowy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream jobs location for outdoors lover
Snowboard Instructor (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC6 November 2017
This is the best location for anyone looking to work in the tourism industry in the outdoors, but a lot of hustling required to live and stay here long term
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel Consultant
Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 October 2017
Good job, good benefits. Family style culture. Office is based on North Burnaby by skytrain. I have learned alot of systems, and get to work online and on the phone so i didn't have to purchase a new work wardrobe
Pros
Fam trips, seasons pass
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing resort, great team and supervisors, higher management and pay not so great
Level Three Snowboard Instructor (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC5 October 2017
I love the resort, lots of great coworkers, my supervisors have been awesome, but the job is a lifestyle job, not a career; which may sound obvious, but after investing ten seasons and multiple certifications, I know the value of the skills I've acquired, and the income opportunity should be greater (as a percentage of lesson price).
Pros
Staff pass with discounts, lots of shred time
Cons
Pay is fairly low, no guarantee on hours, making a living may be impossible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average job tasks but great fun
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Whistler, Canada18 September 2017
The job itself wasn't challenging or particularly interesting, however the staff and management made it a great place to work. We had to work to an extremely high standard of customer satisfaction, due to the premium prices the customers were paying for the food we were serving.
Pros
Skiing to and from work every day
Cons
Extremely busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Vail Resorts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,201 reviews
5515
4367
3196
265
158

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Vail Resorts Reviews by Location