usg Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Do Not Recommend
Board Line Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL18 April 2018
I was there for a little over 4 months and did not enjoy the experience as I originally hoped. Even though I was still training as a Paper Hanger, I viewed the job as being overkill as there is too much to do for that one job. The kicker? Only one person does that job which can place a lot of stress on that sole operator.

Management is not that great, unorganized, and the way breaks are set up is terrible. I never in my life held a job where I could not go to my own car on my break. Honestly, the breaks do not feel like breaks. The line is constantly running and if anything goes wrong, we have to cut our "breaks" short and return to work. There's also no set time for them either; you go when you can!

The place is very unkempt and dusty which I viewed as a health concern for myself. The coworkers were okay. There were a few that I could connect with.

The pay and benefits were decent, and they have a huge concern on safety which is great but it's overdone to the point of redundancy.

Overall, I do not recommend this place as an employer. But the choice is yours.
Pros
Pay, Benefits, Safety
Cons
Management, Unorganized, Poor break structure, Jobs are overkill, Very unkempt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA30 March 2018
Management was the worst and the coworkers were even more terrible
They are rude and cutthroat. Never know what you were going to be faced with.
If you can avoid this place, then do it. It not a safe place to work.
Pros
Not being there
Cons
Being there
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If u have a family not a place to work because managment dont care if u need to leave for ur wife or kids
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Oakfield, NY15 March 2018
The work itself isn't hard but they talk about safety is #1 no it isn't at no time r u to work on moving equipment unless it's ok with management then they turn there head while the work is being done and if u want xtra hours on down time when maitenece work is being done u better b one of those that kiss a lot of butt or ur not working that means no pay
Pros
Money isnt bad
Cons
Watch ur back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ran poorly
Production operator (Former Employee) –  Glendale az11 March 2018
The employees run this place not the management the management don’t keep they word this place is ran very very poorly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros
Good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Board Operator (Current Employee) –  Shoals, IN12 February 2018
No room for advancement unless u know the supervisor or foremans. Everyone knows how the old saying goes and it’s the same here. Supervisors don’t know how to do their job or are just to lazy to do it and pawn it off on other ppl.
Pros
Days off each week minimum 4
Cons
Don’t supply knee pads. Hard to acquire raises. Supervisor act like raises come out of their check.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with family values
Property Manager (Current Employee) –  Storage16 November 2017
Great company to work for. Everyone is friendly and appreciate family and personal time off. There is room to transfer to other locations as the company is growing.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Working every weekend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un gran lugar para trabajar
Gerente de Administración Comercial (Current Employee) –  Ciudad de México, D. F.23 October 2017
Una compañía global en franco crecimiento, donde tus buenas ideas y compromiso son tomados en cuenta.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
เป็นคนเงียบใจดี
โฟร์แมน (Former Employee) –  กรุงเทพมหานคร9 October 2017
ปความพยายามคือความสำเร็จความอทนเป็นแรงบันดานให้ไปข้างหน้า
Pros
ได้ประหยัด
Cons
อาหารจะซำ้บ่อย
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to go if unless you are out of options
Operator/Laborer (Current Employee) –  Shoals,Ind7 September 2017
This is not a place that you will want to go to work unless you are out of options High turnover There is a reason for this. Poor management top down
Pros
Pay and close to home
Cons
Management from plant manager down. This will never change until he retires.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!!!
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Rainier, OR2 September 2017
Rainier plant is horrible! Management lives in their own dream world. They are more concerned about ridiculous programs than making a product. I would highly recommend staying away they will drive you over the edge.
Pros
Vacation
Cons
Management, useless programs, liars and cheats.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work at.
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Préfecture de Rabat1 September 2017
a good company to work for, The atmosphere was nice so were the teammates. i was an account manager and had to deal with different people and different situation. But the job was always done the right way.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL6 April 2017
I loved working at USG!! The environment was friendly and very nice. The benefits were fantastic and there was always something new to learn. Great teamwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice place to work and experience new things regarding various sites that I got deployed.
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Abudhabi27 March 2017
The management should really go much deeper regarding the employees needs and satisfaction and also should recognize the skill and ability each employees has within them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Growth Enviornment
Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee) –  East Orange, NJ4 February 2017
Productive and growth environment. Supervisors had excellent interpersonal skills. Pleasant working enviornment and staff training highly encouraged. Clean atmosphere and procedures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad job
Mill Operator #5 (Current Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IA19 January 2017
Good job for the money, a more effective and more personal management would make me happier. Top dogs like to walk all over you. A company that expects the best but doesn't treat you well on good performance. Overall a decent work place. I'm sure there is better and much worse too. I tolerated it for 5+ years now
Pros
quarterly bonuses
Cons
poor management, worthless co-workers..
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, very clicky. Lots of favoritism.
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Mediapolis, IA25 July 2016
Great pay for the job you do. The training process is very slow. Have to learn all 5 jobs on each line to earn your raises. Can be a raise every 6-8 months. Very slow process. Should have all 5 raised by the time your one year anniversary comes. Management shows obvious favoritism. Very very clicky with wrestlers from the area. Make you work weekends to either run production or to clean. Almost never get a whole weekend off without feeling guilty about it. Expect people to work too many hours for no reason. Safety wasn't great.
Pros
Good pay.
Cons
Lots of hours. Poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 85No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It pays well
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Danville, PA21 June 2016
It pays very well but you work swing shift. All about safety there are no accidents that is what they say. Great job and you have to be ready to move fast and think on your feet when something happens. Overall a great place to work.
Pros
They have a lot of incentives to keep people modivated
Cons
Swing shift for some dept.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to wrok
Tableau Developer/Administrator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IL14 June 2016
Its well reputed organization with well managed, atmosphere balanced work enjoyable work style with all.

Coworkers are very nice will help in all the aspects, management is very friendly...
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Direccion y gerencia
Jefe de turno (Former Employee) –  Colima, Col.6 June 2016
Alto involucramiento con gerencia, altos valores y rasgos de desempeño.

Respeto, mejora continua, honestidad.

Involucramiento y desarrollo en todas las áreas de trabajo.
Fuerte cultura de seguridad, calidad y alto desempeño productivo.
Alto soporte para el desarrollo de proyectos y confianza en tu talento.
Pros
Desarrollo profesional, altos valores morales
Cons
Rol de turnos
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productieve organisatie
Debiteurenbeheer / Incasso (Former Employee) –  Almere31 May 2016
Nadat USG de beurs op ging veranderde de mentaliteit van deze organisatie. Het was een geweldige organisatie met doorgroeimogelijkheden en luisterde naar de werknemers.
Het uiterlijk was formeel, maar binnen informeel.
Het personeel was belangrijk, waardoor je als werknemer graag nog een paar tandjes harder ging.

Het was een gezellig , leuk en mooi bedrijf, target gericht, wat ik ook heel graag wilde halen en dit ook realiseerde. Tot de targets onmogelijk werden toen ze beursgenoteerd werden... hoger en hoger en minder mensen. Reorganisaties waarbij mensen van buitenaf aangenomen werden voor een ander beleid, haalde de gezelligheid uit deze organisatie. Wat héél jammer was, want het was een top organisatie en ik hoop dat deze Hollandse organisatie zijn charme weer terug krijgt.
Pros
Er was een top restaurant en de kantoor inrichting is erg mooi.
Cons
De mentaliteit die veranderde nadat ze de beurs opgingen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at usg. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 41 reviews
511
48
311
26
15

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture