Urban Fare Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, busy place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC29 March 2018
Busy, but supporting people. Diverse, nice, friendly staff. Management act like your friends. Very busy. Long line-ups. Good location, easy to commute to work through sky train.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place mate would rate 8/8
Meat Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 March 2018
Urban Fare is a great place to work. I miss the coworkers and environment of the store. I like to do tha cha cha on the table. I do a tha cha cha all night long.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Random Perks
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 December 2017
Occasionally there would be pizza provided from Managment but for special holidays like Christmas, or Thanks Giving or Easter. All you can eat and get fat :)
Pros
Trade Union Job
Cons
Labour Contract is horrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 November 2017
It is a good place to work, everyone is friendly. The only problem is that they don't even give a discount to employees and the food is quite expensive for what the employees earn.
Pros
Friendly peers
Cons
not enough hours to everyone, not even a discount on food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
El Mejor Lugar de Trabajo
Gerente de Restaurante (Former Employee) –  Vancouver BC CANADA16 July 2017
Es una de las mejores empresas para trabajar, ambiente de trabajo laboral amigable y proactive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmosphere and helpful coworkers
Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 July 2017
Urban Fare alberni is a very good place to start your first job or for experience, however it is very difficult to advance in your job as they do not have a lot of people to train you and would rather hire people with experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice staff, cute girls, professional
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC3 May 2017
the place seemed fine. cute girls, nice staff, decently relaxing. professional feeling about it, never a corner-cut or a slew-footing of coworkers. straightforward work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being direct in contact with customers.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC28 April 2017
the most enjoyable part of the job was I could work independent and use my artistic preference to create fruit for sell.
The worse part of the job was the heavy duty which is not suitable for a woman.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to work
Barista/Server (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 March 2017
Loved my team for the most part, but there was a lack of responsibility within some parts of the team which led to others having to pick up slack. Customers were 50/50 but there were times where I felt uncomfortable as to how I was treated as an employee there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Grocery Stocker (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 February 2017
Urban Fare is one of my favourite store. All the managers are so friendly and helpful. Even the team mates are also very nice and cooperative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, and exciting!
Deli/Bakery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kelowna BC29 January 2017
Urban Fare is a great place to work, whether you need part time for school or full time! With so many different departments to work in it's always exciting! After 3 months you start getting benefits, after a year you get 2 weeks paid vacation. And it's part of a union!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Front End Clerk, Departmental Clerk (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 January 2017
Great place to work in and very appreciative and helpful staff.
Co workers are great and helped to lighten the atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at work
Cap Bar Employee (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC27 August 2016
Its a minimum wage job you can't expect a whole lot and thats why im looking to move on, I'm more capable than urban Fare and I want to start progressing/
Pros
Latest you can work is 1015
Cons
petty customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
toxic work enviroment
Grocery Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC21 August 2016
the work place does not respect their employees and and does not honor the union contract. the coworkers are ok but the majority are lacking in any ability to fight for there rights when managment oversteps there boundaries
Pros
easy work
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bakery clerk wasn't challenging enough for me
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 August 2016
It was a good place to work. But wasn't challenging enough and wasn't getting enough hours or pay. If these two things where different I would have lasted longer. But all around good company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team work and working atmosphere is very energetic
bakery clerk (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 June 2016
A superb place to work with great team members and managers. Gained good customer service and communication skills. I love enjoying talking to customers and helping them out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy with people
Receiving/Grocery clerk (Current Employee) –  Vancouver Harbour, BC15 January 2016
people are nice includ managers. if they pay more with benefit, this job will be the best. $10.45 per hours without benefit is explain why turn over rate is high
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Permanent -Part time (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 November 2015
If you like interacting with different people , Urban Fare is fun place to work. Salary is lower than Superstore. You will learn a lot. In any workplace, you always meet good and bad Supervisor , so that will depend which department you are. My advise is do not work in the Restaurant or Cap Bar because it is a hardest job and lowest paid among the rest of the department.
Pros
learn a lot and stable company
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work place
COOK HELPER (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC13 November 2015
working there was a good experience. My co-workers were friendly but the supervisor not so much.She was always in rush and wanted everything to be done quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More job less salary.
Prep Cook/Dishwasher/Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC10 October 2015
I typically work at day time 7:30 to 2:30 and always busy day everyday, there's a lot of things to do but because of that I learned how to multi task job responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Urban Fare. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 33 reviews
57
413
39
22
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.5Culture

Urban Fare Reviews by Location