University of Waterloo Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Experience
Catalyst Girls Engineering Conference Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON15 January 2018
3-day workshop where you get to teach students introductory skills to programming and soldering. Day consisted of supervising the students and making sure they take all safety precautions while performing the activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Research Technician (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, Wellington12 January 2018
This a very good excellent placement where I was able to gain practical hands on experience with patients. I gained enough experience to work independently.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational work place
Front Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON5 January 2018
Very professional and educational workplace, helping people achieve a learning opportunity for working with diverse people, ranging from seniors to international students and those with disabilities. Very productive and fast paced environment helping you achieve a tremendous experience in customer-relations!
Pros
Educational and professional environment
Cons
Less room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team spirited workplace with friendly work culture
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 December 2017
Good workplace culture
Competent leadership and management
Comfortable secure work environment
Promote teamwork and respect
Respectable institutional name to work for
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Laborious long standing hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Campus Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Water7 December 2017
Wow Waterloo is amazing, from the people to the culture. The school grounds are so nice and friendly. I never felt out of place working there. As a student they are tolerable of your schedule and have great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great apportunity to do research
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON4 December 2017
I am learning a lot. The environment is great. THe salary is very low.
My work time is flexible. It's not very stressful. It's Not compatetive which is not good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very broad potentials present
Research Analyst (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON30 November 2017
Worked as an analyst here. Great place to work. Salaries are above expected. Really depends for which professor you get to work for. My professor was great and I had the opportunity to write a paper at my own pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finance full time students
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON28 November 2017
Complete autonomy and flexibility.
Contract per term - four months - by competition.
Paid by corporate HQ.
Works for Professor:
- marking exams, finals and midterms
- preparing and delivering tutorials
- office hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON23 November 2017
It's a pleasant experience to be able to work under Prof. Safavi and Prof. Shaker's supervision. I have learned a lot from their rich knowledge and hardworking spirit. It's an honor to work with CIARS group members.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
MARKETING ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON21 November 2017
They treat their employees very well. Everyone worked hard to make you feel comfortable in the position. They take the time to transition you into the position and teach you new skills while letting you develop pre-existing skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kicked out after 20 years of loyal service
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON20 November 2017
After working for 20 years at the University of Waterloo I was forced to resign from the University. The department I worked at had a meeting with the University administration and they decided that my job could be changed to a part time position that students can do instead of me.

I realized that UW want you to be loyal to them but they don't have to be loyal to you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working at TA
Teaching assistance (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON17 November 2017
Good experience of TA in Waterloo and UAE campus for a year.
Great assignment and enjoy with undergrad students. Also, Professors were so kind and provided valuable advices.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Consultant Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON15 November 2017
UW working environment is productive and competitive, as well as comfortable. However it lacks the appropriate space for entertainment and recreation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, Ontario11 November 2017
As an undergraduate research assistant, the onus is on you to find work for yourself. There are often times in which there is very little to do (in terms of work assigned to you), at which point you have one of two options. You can either chill/slack off and your mentor/manager usually won't care, or you can somehow take initiative and find more work for yourself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Data Processor (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON3 November 2017
Great work environment
Learnt a lot of valuable information about data processing
Work well in a team environment
Positive work culture
Management team is very supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Store/ Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON1 November 2017
The place is a calm and productive working environment. I typically have my entire day filled with work, but I don't get too stressed or overwhelmed. The employees here are very kind and teaching.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Oppurtunity
Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON31 October 2017
The Women's Centre at the University of Waterloo is a student run service for students and the general public. There is a wealth of knowledge at this centre along with many fun events for anyone interested. It also provides a safe space for those who want/need it. There is also peer counseling which I think is a wonderful resource to have on a university campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Research Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON30 October 2017
The work is challenging and exciting. Learned a lot during the period I was there as a research assistant. I am looking forward to be working at the University again!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work while in school
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON25 October 2017
This position afforded me the opportunity to fund my graduate studies while developing my teaching skills. My colleagues were smart and fun to collaborate with and I appreciated that the job was right on campus where I was studying.
Pros
on campus
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 'problem solving' oriented, bigly competitive, and multicultural University.
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON20 October 2017
Salaries are marginal, but this is general problem of all Universities and Colleges across the Ontario. Working hrs are virtually unlimited, definitively not a 9-5:45 job, but rather long haul mission.

If you love education process, science, debate on any subject this is the place to be !! :)
Pros
Extremely stimulating environment
Cons
Long work hrs, work overload, for marginal salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Waterloo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 286 reviews
5175
495
315
21
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture

University of Waterloo Reviews by Location