University of Waterloo Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 38 reviews matching the search See all 338 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good security, lacks advancement and work life balance
Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON4 March 2019
Good culture, and strong security in the job. Salary low, work life balance, no ability to work from home, management not flexible to changing markets, low ability for advancement.
Pros
Security, Culture
Cons
Lacking advancement, not much work life balance, accural vacation, slow to react
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 December 2018
It is an excellent place to work, the people are friendly and willing to help you with the questions you have. The university has many opportunities to grow in
Pros
good salary
Cons
contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Computing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON10 July 2018
Often employees are treated like children, micro-management is common, little to support for staff from current management. Pay is good but below industry standards, benefits ok but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 June 2018
Good place with nice customers and managers too. The place offers good food at low price for the workers. Their shift flexibility is amazing. Nice place
Pros
Flexible shift
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun little side job
Italian teaching assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON11 June 2018
Only lasted a term but it was a lot of fun and I got to practice my teaching skills and how to incorporate learning skills in another language. It also helped me practice my Italian.
Pros
fun interacting with people, works with school schedule
Cons
not a job with benefits or long term
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Variable
Administrative Officer (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON21 March 2018
Job responsibilities vary from department to department. Job grade and therefore salary range also varies from department to department. Responsibilities are primarily overseeing human resources, finances, facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best.
Special Event tour guide (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON15 March 2018
The hours are very flexible and the supervisors are very nice and full of compassion. Everyone tries to create the best working environment.
The also are courses one must do before starting to work. These are to ensure they know what to do in cases of emergency for examples. Minimum wage is our salary and every is very friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very open, understanding and provided many different opportunities
Chemistry Stores Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON10 March 2018
The staff and professors I worked with were nothing but fantastic throughout my work term. A higher salary would have been nice, but the spectrum of skills I got from this job ranging from lab work to retail to moving industrial drums was a unique experience I would not trade.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Flexibility; Terrible training
Cashier/Cook/Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 March 2018
As a student, flexible availability is important as my schedule changes from semester to semester. Workplace training, once you get the job, is pretty much non-existent and you have to figure a lot out for yourself. Other than that everyone is friendly and most tasks are pretty easy once you figure it out for yourself.
Pros
Schedule flexibility and lunch with everyshift
Cons
no training and lunch is taken out of wage automatically
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Administrative Coordinator, (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON5 February 2018
Excellent benefits and friendly environment with lots of room to grow and move around. I spent 11 years there and am currently trying to get back in which is challenging from the outside.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team spirited workplace with friendly work culture
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 December 2017
Good workplace culture
Competent leadership and management
Comfortable secure work environment
Promote teamwork and respect
Respectable institutional name to work for
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Laborious long standing hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Campus Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Water7 December 2017
Wow Waterloo is amazing, from the people to the culture. The school grounds are so nice and friendly. I never felt out of place working there. As a student they are tolerable of your schedule and have great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great apportunity to do research
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON4 December 2017
I am learning a lot. The environment is great. THe salary is very low.
My work time is flexible. It's not very stressful. It's Not compatetive which is not good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 'problem solving' oriented, bigly competitive, and multicultural University.
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON20 October 2017
Salaries are marginal, but this is general problem of all Universities and Colleges across the Ontario. Working hrs are virtually unlimited, definitively not a 9-5:45 job, but rather long haul mission.

If you love education process, science, debate on any subject this is the place to be !! :)
Pros
Extremely stimulating environment
Cons
Long work hrs, work overload, for marginal salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like being a post-doc, except for the uncertainty
Postdoctoral Researcher (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON4 July 2017
Every post-doc is different, so this is not really useful, but I'm enjoying my time here. I have a good working relationship with my PI and the other people in the lab, and I get to travel and work on my own projects with considerable freedom.
Pros
Freedom to work when and how I want
Cons
Short-term contract with hard departure date
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good start
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON20 May 2017
it is always good to start from campus if someone has no work experience. it is safe to work on campus and can manage your hours according to your convenience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ADMINISTRATIVE COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON1 May 2017
I have worked in Math for over 10 years and love my job and all of the people who work and study here. our benefits are great. would like optometry benefits but all the others are great.
Pros
Benefits and Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Students
Office Services Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON20 April 2017
Good for Students they work around class schedules. Provide a flexible schedule, with manageable working hours. Staff are great, as are supervisors and managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
PERSONAL TRAINER (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON12 February 2017
Good to work part time as a student there. Depending what job you work, you may have flexible hours and good management. Great way to get involved during school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It depends on which instructor you are working with.
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 January 2017
Very good facilities.

Some professors are really nice.

Competitive salary.

Working hours are flexible term by term.

Love the place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Waterloo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 338 reviews
5200
4114
323
21
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture

University of Waterloo Reviews by Location