University of Waterloo Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON22 April 2018
Collected data on stem cells for biotechnology research projects
§ Wrote summarized reports in English on information published in
Taiwanese news media in Chinese
§ Reported research summaries to the professor and answered inquiries
related to the research report from the professor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Variable
Administrative Officer (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON21 March 2018
Job responsibilities vary from department to department. Job grade and therefore salary range also varies from department to department. Responsibilities are primarily overseeing human resources, finances, facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best.
Special Event tour guide (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON15 March 2018
The hours are very flexible and the supervisors are very nice and full of compassion. Everyone tries to create the best working environment.
The also are courses one must do before starting to work. These are to ensure they know what to do in cases of emergency for examples. Minimum wage is our salary and every is very friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON14 March 2018
This valuable job improves my presentation skills by leading lecture activities and organizing in-class discussions.

I have the opportunity to help undergraduate students integrate their planning skills and theoretical knowledge in an applied context and assist instructors to monitor team progress and provide planning-related guidance, content and support.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Work Environment
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON14 March 2018
UW was a great place to work. Professional and supportive. The only negative would be that the advancement opportunities are virtually nil. Otherwise a pleasure to be a part of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind managers and coworkers
Food Services Worker (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON12 March 2018
Nice place to have a try. Feel free to ask everything, your coworkers and managers will definitely help you. The training may take some time, but it is useful! Good luck!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely a good place to work
Office Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON10 March 2018
I really enjoyed working here. I was a co-op student back then. My manager and co-workers were very helpful. The team environment was great as well, love it!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very open, understanding and provided many different opportunities
Chemistry Stores Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON10 March 2018
The staff and professors I worked with were nothing but fantastic throughout my work term. A higher salary would have been nice, but the spectrum of skills I got from this job ranging from lab work to retail to moving industrial drums was a unique experience I would not trade.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-op placement
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 March 2018
great team and coworkers
relaxed environment, productive
office administration oriented
good coop placement, good training provided
varying tasks from day to day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Flexibility; Terrible training
Cashier/Cook/Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 March 2018
As a student, flexible availability is important as my schedule changes from semester to semester. Workplace training, once you get the job, is pretty much non-existent and you have to figure a lot out for yourself. Other than that everyone is friendly and most tasks are pretty easy once you figure it out for yourself.
Pros
Schedule flexibility and lunch with everyshift
Cons
no training and lunch is taken out of wage automatically
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelent multicultural interaction
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 February 2018
Working as a teaching assistant helped me improve my communication skills, time management and resourcefulness. My interaction with my supervisor Professor Monica Leoni was always nice and productive. My interaction with students was fun and participative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very positive workplace
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON23 February 2018
Since I am a student at the University of Waterloo, they work around my schedule because they value the study hours of the students. Moreover, workplace culture is very positive and welcoming. People are willing to help when you are in need and everyone is treated equally.
Pros
They work around your availability
Cons
Possible to have less hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, innovative and fun workplace
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON21 February 2018
I collaborated with Toyota Technical Center to develop a novel energy-optimal powertrain controller for PHEVs. The controller will take advantage of advancements in vehicle intelligent and communications technologies to provide look-ahead trip data. It was a magnificent experience for me. I enjoyed working in a productive and innovative research group.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Assistant professor (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON11 February 2018
Great environment. You can learn a lot from peers here. Working in University of Waterloo helped me develop my communication and leadership skills. University of Waterloo believes learning is a continuous process so it offers its employees opportunities to learn and get certified in different areas of their preference that would help to improve and advance their work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Technical Assistant in Organic chemistry Lab (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON11 February 2018
• Ensure chemical waste is disposed in compliance with university regulations.
• Answer students’ questions during the lab period, via email, and office hours.
• Making sure the lab is going smoothly and
Pros
fun
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
TA (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON7 February 2018
This is a quite interesting job, marking the assignment, giving some lecture and so on. The teaching atmosphere is nice. Solving the questions from students is the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual employment
Proctor (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON5 February 2018
Casual employment as a Proctor, employed through University of Waterloo has offered me the opportunity to meet new people, and step outside of my home business dynamics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Administrative Coordinator, (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON5 February 2018
Excellent benefits and friendly environment with lots of room to grow and move around. I spent 11 years there and am currently trying to get back in which is challenging from the outside.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow professionally
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON1 February 2018
- Great supervisor. Provide a lot of support to teaching assistants when problems arise with students.
- Training was provided to first time teaching assistants
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to volunteer
Volunteer Peer Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON29 January 2018
Has many organizations that make it easy to find groups of people with similar interests as you. Although the mental health community needs improvement, staff and volunteers are regularly engaged in improving matters of this topic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Waterloo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 287 reviews
5175
495
316
21
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture

University of Waterloo Reviews by Location