University of Waterloo Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional but saddening
Independent Course Instructor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON6 October 2018
Waterloo is refreshing for its professional culture. However, it is the culinary equivalent to a mouthful of cotton balls. Life in the area is sad, and glimpses into a pretty joyless, inhumane future where any trace of individuality is either commodified or thrown to the wolves. Hardest part of the job was finding the will to live. Most enjoyable part was being able to study things I found interesting.
Pros
Boring, Stable
Cons
Boring, Attack geese
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Residence Life Don (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON23 September 2018
The university of waterloo is an amazing school and offers students with opportunities to get involved with their community and meet an amazing variety of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
International Students Orientation Leader (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON21 September 2018
Could meet a lot of new friends.
A good place for networking.
Don't have a large workload for volunteers.
There will be a section to tell you what to pay attention before you start.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good place to work, lots of opportunities exist, and the environment is diverse.
Residence Life Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON20 September 2018
I have enjoyed working for the University of Waterloo for the past 5 years. I like the people I work with and I receive so much support from the community.
Pros
Great people, accepting of diversity
Cons
Benefit package isn't great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for growth
Residence Life Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON20 September 2018
Working at Reslife has helped me grow in so many ways. It's expanded my experience working with people, managers, and younger students. I was able to go up in my positions as well with complete guidance and coaching.
Pros
amazing growth
Cons
temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place specially for students
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 August 2018
I am an MSc student in the ECE department at the University of Waterloo. Generally, the professors are knowledgeable and you will have every facility you need. The only problem is the city of Waterloo which its calm and silence culture may be a little boring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for students
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON24 August 2018
I started working at Food Services on the recommendation of a friend and I quickly found myself surrounded by friendly co-workers and mostly polite customers. I worked at a variety of positions learning how to prepare food, work as cashier, act as kitchen porter, as well as serve food, as well as coffee at the surrounding coffee shops. The management is friendly, at least in the Davis Center, and I will miss them and my co-workers.
Pros
Meal every day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but not accounting department
Societies Accountant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON17 August 2018
OK work environment. The accounting manager has been there for years and is cranky so some days were more challenging then others.

Besides that job was good and other full time staff members were great. I enjoyed my working relationships and still have contact with some of the friends I had there.
Pros
cheap food for full time staff
Cons
parking and manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of interesting people
Researcher and Student (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON13 August 2018
The University of Waterloo is an amazing place to learn, most of all if you want to dedicate to the academia. The professors are always open to help and to listen. Excellent networking opportunities.
Pros
People
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very supportive community with options to grow and develop.
Orientation Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON24 July 2018
This is a great place to work whether you are a student or not. You get to work with a variety of different skilled individuals who come from all walks of life. Management is extremely supportive and always willing to help you grow as an person. Definitely always great day at work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedication and Clear communication
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON21 July 2018
I developed a strong ability to communicate clearly, concisely, and effectively while working as a teaching assistant. The professor whom I worked for provided me with opportunities to take the lead on assignments, and conduct meetings with students when necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Computing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON10 July 2018
Often employees are treated like children, micro-management is common, little to support for staff from current management. Pay is good but below industry standards, benefits ok but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 June 2018
Good place with nice customers and managers too. The place offers good food at low price for the workers. Their shift flexibility is amazing. Nice place
Pros
Flexible shift
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun little side job
Italian teaching assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON11 June 2018
Only lasted a term but it was a lot of fun and I got to practice my teaching skills and how to incorporate learning skills in another language. It also helped me practice my Italian.
Pros
fun interacting with people, works with school schedule
Cons
not a job with benefits or long term
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great student job
Gym Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON6 June 2018
easy job with minimal supervision and responsibility. great job to have while in school. right on campus. great introduction to the strength and conditioning field. meet like minded people.
Pros
minimal responsibility
Cons
3 to 4 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't really work for waterloo
Private Math and Physics Tutor (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON2 June 2018
I just tutor fellow students here through people I know.
Not recognized by the actual institution.
I would love it if they hired me though, would be a great opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON28 May 2018
Being a teaching assistant was a rewarding experience as I watched my students grow. I also learned how to communicate ideas effectively and how to listen to students to ensure I was able to provide them with the assistance they needed.
Pros
Work environment
Cons
Many extra hours outside of work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Financial Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Engineering17 May 2018
Manager recognize hard work and will reward you for it. There is a lot of room for advancement and they will always hire within first. Training is always available and encouraged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers
FRONT DESK ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 May 2018
Great work environment, management was understanding and supportive of the work-school balance. Co-workers were great and friendly easy to get along with. Positive work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't work long enough to give a useful review
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 May 2018
I only worked for a researcher in the physics department, on a three month contract. I wasn't working directly for the University in a permanent position, so I can't really judge what they are like as an employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Waterloo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 314 reviews
5188
4106
319
21
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture

University of Waterloo Reviews by Location