University of Waterloo Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great student job
Gym Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON6 June 2018
easy job with minimal supervision and responsibility. great job to have while in school. right on campus. great introduction to the strength and conditioning field. meet like minded people.
Pros
minimal responsibility
Cons
3 to 4 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't really work for waterloo
Private Math and Physics Tutor (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON2 June 2018
I just tutor fellow students here through people I know.
Not recognized by the actual institution.
I would love it if they hired me though, would be a great opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON28 May 2018
Being a teaching assistant was a rewarding experience as I watched my students grow. I also learned how to communicate ideas effectively and how to listen to students to ensure I was able to provide them with the assistance they needed.
Pros
Work environment
Cons
Many extra hours outside of work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Financial Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Engineering17 May 2018
Manager recognize hard work and will reward you for it. There is a lot of room for advancement and they will always hire within first. Training is always available and encouraged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers
FRONT DESK ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 May 2018
Great work environment, management was understanding and supportive of the work-school balance. Co-workers were great and friendly easy to get along with. Positive work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't work long enough to give a useful review
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 May 2018
I only worked for a researcher in the physics department, on a three month contract. I wasn't working directly for the University in a permanent position, so I can't really judge what they are like as an employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Applied for grants for supervisor
Grants Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON8 May 2018
I thought this was a great experience as I found out how the academics have to get funding for projects. I found that it was a great crown to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON3 May 2018
I learned how to communicate with students and professors. Marking final exams is a repeating work. Preparing my own exams and marking hundreds of exam papers at the same time are stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse workplace
Occupational Ergonomics Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON3 May 2018
The job was very enjoyable and diverse. I was able to work in many different labs allowing me to increase my knowledge. Everybody was willing to teach me about the equipement and the study before the collection.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Peer Mentor/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON1 May 2018
The most enjoyable and rewarding part: communicating with students and teach them.

I work 3 hours per week and do enjoy the work culture.

I practiced my verbal English.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Economics1 May 2018
Marking assignments with details wrote down.
Preparing to hold office hour.
The hour is reasonable.
Learn a lot from working as a TA.
The proctoring job is not beneficial.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON22 April 2018
Collected data on stem cells for biotechnology research projects
§ Wrote summarized reports in English on information published in
Taiwanese news media in Chinese
§ Reported research summaries to the professor and answered inquiries
related to the research report from the professor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
SOLID WASTE RESEARCH ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 March 2018
The position at the University of Waterloo was a great opportunity to learn, and expose myself into the Waste sector, and learn more about how alternative fuels are being created from waste.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Variable
Administrative Officer (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON21 March 2018
Job responsibilities vary from department to department. Job grade and therefore salary range also varies from department to department. Responsibilities are primarily overseeing human resources, finances, facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best.
Special Event tour guide (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON15 March 2018
The hours are very flexible and the supervisors are very nice and full of compassion. Everyone tries to create the best working environment.
The also are courses one must do before starting to work. These are to ensure they know what to do in cases of emergency for examples. Minimum wage is our salary and every is very friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON14 March 2018
This valuable job improves my presentation skills by leading lecture activities and organizing in-class discussions.

I have the opportunity to help undergraduate students integrate their planning skills and theoretical knowledge in an applied context and assist instructors to monitor team progress and provide planning-related guidance, content and support.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Work Environment
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON14 March 2018
UW was a great place to work. Professional and supportive. The only negative would be that the advancement opportunities are virtually nil. Otherwise a pleasure to be a part of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind managers and coworkers
Food Services Worker (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON12 March 2018
Nice place to have a try. Feel free to ask everything, your coworkers and managers will definitely help you. The training may take some time, but it is useful! Good luck!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely a good place to work
Office Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON10 March 2018
I really enjoyed working here. I was a co-op student back then. My manager and co-workers were very helpful. The team environment was great as well, love it!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very open, understanding and provided many different opportunities
Chemistry Stores Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON10 March 2018
The staff and professors I worked with were nothing but fantastic throughout my work term. A higher salary would have been nice, but the spectrum of skills I got from this job ranging from lab work to retail to moving industrial drums was a unique experience I would not trade.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Waterloo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 300 reviews
5182
4100
317
21
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture

University of Waterloo Reviews by Location