University of Toronto Employee Reviews

Found 655 reviews matching the search See all 671 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Strength & Conditioning Coach (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 September 2018
this was an okay place to work. culture seems off. they try to force that everyone is grinding, try to force employees and peers to fight against each other
Pros
reputation
Cons
unhappy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Side Gig
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 September 2018
As a teaching assistant your experience depends entirely on the professor you are working with. if you get along and are familiar with their working style then this is a good job to have. There isn't much growth opportunity, it is a side job.
Pros
working remotely
Cons
tight deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Graduate Student Legal Conference - Presenter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 September 2018
A great university to work for. The workplace culture is incredible with a very inclusive and supportive group of individuals. The work hours were flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place to Volunteer
Student Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Union, ON30 August 2018
Good volunteer experience. Working with other volunteers and with students gave a nice introduction to working in teams and being able to handle different situations and still produce a productive outcome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate student
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 August 2018
Work experience differs significantly depending on your supervisor. Each lab is very independent.

I was a part of a union that negotiated pretty good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low key environment
Membership Services (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 August 2018
Not much to do until customers come around. Just have to process as memberships and services for customers as well as some administration work for the faculty of kinesiology.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 August 2018
good place to work, learned a lot of skills such as how to convey your ideas to other people.Also, learned a lot of sills in research and academic field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Faculty (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 August 2018
Love this place
good company
good culture
great place to work at
amazing co-workers
secure job
fair pay
pay on time
part time job
great for students
.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced clinic, friendly staff
Health and Wellness Centre Intern (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 August 2018
Interning was exciting because it gave me a chance to do a lot of work on my own. Staff are often busy, so it gave me a chance to learn and gain research experience on my own with little assistance from others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Junior Procurement Officer (Student Placement) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 August 2018
It was a great place to work at. I truly enjoyed my position very much so. It has taught me allot about my career path and made it much easier for me to know what i like in a career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finance Assistant
Faculty of Music (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 August 2018
I have worked at the University of Toronto for most of my work career. You have the opportunity to constantly learn what you need to know for your job, move up the ranks.
Pros
Learning, family/work balance is encouraged, good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work with professors
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON9 August 2018
It's always nice to communicate with knowledgeable people like professors in UTSC. I had a great time working with them. Sometimes, they will offer me a free lunch or dinner if I work overtime and they are really flexible about the working hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teacher's assistant
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 August 2018
It is a great opportunity for me to work as a teacher's assistant in two courses (economics and statistics). My main responsibilities included hosting TA office hours, pre exam review sessions and proctoring during mid term and final examination.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly intense job which enhanced my soft and organization skills
On-site Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 August 2018
It was a very stress-intense job which required to be on-call every day. It provided an opportunity to demonstrate my organization and communicative skills with students and various national companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 August 2018
Not a good place to work at.
I honestly did not enjoy my time there.
I was a seasonal employee and they did not treat me like i was part of the team.

They never called me back.
Pros
Nothing!
Cons
horrible discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student employment ok for the money
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 July 2018
I worked as a Teacher's aid so this was only part time and to supplement my tuition. The professors I worked with were fair and helpful. I did have a good experience with their classes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 July 2018
great opportunity to work for such a large organization at the university. I got to take part in different workshops in which i grew and further developed my skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, subpar pay
Residence Advisor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON16 July 2018
Worked as a residence advisor for 2 years at the Scarborough Campus. Great experience overall, slightly challenging if you're also a full-time student (but manageable), and you're compensated with free boarding. However, there's no compensation beyond a free room. This is incredibly unfair, especially compared to all other residences downtown. Granted they are run by campus-specific administration.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and casual
Event Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 July 2018
- Help me enhance my customer service skills and patience
- Met a lot of awesome people and co-workers
- Atmosphere was very casual
- Supervisors were very nice and understanding
Pros
Sometimes food is provided
Cons
Inconsistent scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in
Service worker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 July 2018
One of the best places I ever worked in. It covers all my needs, very diverse and a place for everyone. Good wages and allows employees to work and save towards their futures.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Not enough hours if you wanted more
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Toronto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 671 reviews
5379
4219
358
210
15

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.3Culture