University of Toronto Press Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
general staff (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 April 2018
There does not appear to be a clear direction in which way the company is a going ,slow to make improvements. Would suit student looking for part time job
Pros
not very busy
Cons
not very productive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location.
Technology/Mobility Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 March 2018
Sounds like the ideal job in a great location. Quite flexible with scheduling and work/life balance. Very interesting office dynamics. I wish I had left much sooner.
Pros
Location
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really friendly working environment
CSR/General Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 April 2016
all part-time staff are great. We are basically students from U of T. It is a friendly working environment. But we only get minimum pay and no benefits at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastpaced work enviornment
Packer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 January 2016
Pack orders of books, up to thousands of books per day

Learned how to operate the packing computer and read stock locations throughout the warhouse
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different in a retail environment
GM and Technology Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 June 2015
Everyday can be different as customers change. There is always something new as the semesters change, and the students also change which mean different requests to manage. I have definitely learned how to communicate better with students as the majority of our staff are university students and often don't know what to do. Orders need to be counted, product needs to be transferred and PO's need to be created. The most enjoyable part of the job is when analysis needs to be done on a category to look to ways to improve profitability or sales. The most difficult part of the job is usually in September when the sales are high and product comes in faster than we can find space for it.
Pros
No evenings or weekends except during September
Cons
Summer hours mean that you come in later but also have to stay later.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A flexible work environment
Editorial Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 March 2015
Learned about the academic printing industry. Flexible and casual work environment. Accommodating colleagues and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun. Not excessively stress. Flexible work hours
Warehouseman (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 December 2014
-More of a laid back environment
-Fellow c0-workers are helpful
-General manager is firm but fair
-Hardest part of job is when you have to process
Amazon orders
-Personally, the most enjoyable part is achieving daily goals
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
No benefits if you work part-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UTP has great benefits!
Accounts Receivables/Collections Analyst (Current Employee) –  North York, ON29 August 2012
This company has been around for more than 100 years and even though we go through changes to make employees more efficient in their job by getting new software and computers and scanners etc. we still have our share of problems with servers not working and time being wasted. Also our pay is only once a month which is why I am looking for another career opportunity.
Pros
summer hours, annual bonus, staff bbq, pot lucks
Cons
always having computer issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Toronto Press. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 9 reviews
50
43
34
22
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
2.1Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
3.3Culture

University of Toronto Press Reviews by Location