University of Ottawa Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne experience
Teching assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 May 2018
bonne experience, travail super intéressant, les étudiants sont gentils
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as IT at University of Ottawa
Hardware Technician / Helpdesk Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 May 2018
That is fun to work there

The University of Ottawa aspires to employing a staff that fully represents the diversity of Canada's population. As a result, it is committed to employment equity principles and aims to provide an inclusive and barrier-free workplace. Apply today!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
TEACHING ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 May 2018
Typical day including attending classes, working with students, answering emails from students and working alongside the course professor. I found the workload was reasonable but it can be difficult when extensive marking must be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 April 2018
Really good work conditions, great team, meet some really nice people, really good benefits and lots of events on campus for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine place to work as a student
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 April 2018
Working for the university during my studies was fine. My job rarely leaked over to intrude with my studies, and they were good at accommodating me as required.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be
Esports Coach (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 April 2018
I learnt a lot during my time at the university of ottawa.
I learnt 3 years worth of Human kinetics courses. It was very fast paced but very informative.
I assume you ask of this as a work place because I worked as head coach for the League division b and c teams. Yes I was their coach for 2 seasons but I never got paid. Nevertheless, the work environment was awesome, everyone listened well, and input into making the teams better together. thou all students were busy with school, even exams, they still managed to put time into scrimming and practicing. Which to me was amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very user friendly
Communications Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 April 2018
do not want to write things as a result of being held hostage or else you wont post.
you should advise of this at the beginning and be transparent. I dont think i will post again with indeed
Pros
there are many pros
Cons
there are some cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good institution
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 April 2018
Good institution with lots of nice programs, learned alot with my classes. I enjoy learning and teaching the new students in lab, I have the aptitude to teach. The hardest part of the job was trying to troubleshoot some of the more complicated parts of chemistry which do not work. But all in all it was a very easy job and very fulfilling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place
Optical Communication System Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 April 2018
Not a good place to work. Full of politics and no acceptable management. profs are not knowledgeable enough and the TA allocation is random. Not good supervisors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing University
Football athlete (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 April 2018
It is an amazing university and theres lots of opportunities. I myself am a full time student at the University and moved out of my parents house from Montreal and I feel at home here in Ottawa.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research position
Project Assistant in Plant Systematics (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 March 2018
If you're looking to advance your career in research, then this is the job for you. Professors are some of the best in the nation, so take advantage of this opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academia lab job
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 March 2018
Excellent opportunity to gain experience in academia. If you work in a wet lab, you will gain valuable experience in the field of science (biology, chemistry, etc.). From working in the chemistry department, I was able to gain experience in using NMR machine, HPLC, Mass spec.
Pros
Laboratory experience
Cons
Project could get repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Engineer / Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 February 2018
Doing Engineer work. Good Organization, but salary was not high.
I just did part-time, but the atmospher is great.
Generally Good, though it was temporary job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun stress free work place
Assistant professor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 February 2018
Overall, working with the University of Ottawa was a good experience. I got to work with many different professors who were all welcoming and a pleasure to work with. There are also many tools and services at your disposal to facilitate your work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for uOttawa students
Junior Web Developer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 February 2018
Good work/life/university balance.

Understanding management.

Helpful team members.

Decent pay.

Close to campus.

Close to Rideau centre.

Nice office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for education
TEACHING ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 February 2018
Earned a lot of knowledge
Good place for education
Lots of labs covered
Culture is good
Work place is fun
Interaction with student is good
Profs are encouraging
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Relationship Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 January 2018
Learned a lot with all kinds of talented people. Opportunity to meet terrific influencers, professors and new generation of leaders.

Difficult to move your career to different areas on campus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Educational Institution
Member (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 January 2018
Awesome educational institution with the best professors who are extremely resourceful. Educational facilities are nice and location of the university is the best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer, great work/life balance
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 January 2018
As a teaching assistant, uOttawa has been a great experience so far. I have had no trouble balancing teaching with my schoolwork. The pay is good (few hours, but that is expected). It is a nice little boost to my groceries every week.
Pros
Flexible hours, great employers and coworkers
Cons
Few hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Ottawa Dinning hall
Cook 3 (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 January 2018
Working on the dinning hall was a fun experience with all the students and other employees. On a typical day, you would see a lot of faces that you can get to know. On a busy day you will see yourself and coworkers working at a good speed keeping everything as fresh and as good looking as possible. the management can use some improvement but is good overall. I would say the hardest part of the job would be to keep your station clean. lastly, the most enjoyable part of the job would be to get at then end of the day and realize what a good day of work it was.
Pros
you get to learn and meet a lot of people
Cons
it can get frustrating at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Ottawa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 205 reviews
5107
468
323
22
15

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

University of Ottawa Reviews by Location