University of Ottawa Employee Reviews

Found 223 reviews matching the search See all 227 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Workplace
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 December 2018
The University of Ottawa is a wonderful place for those people no matter who wants to work or study. Staffs and students from all over the world work and study together with an awesome atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating and engaging work environment!
Spanish Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 November 2018
Stimulating and engaging work environment, colleagues were great, students were great. Teaching assistants are granted a lot of independence when it comes to planning courses and such.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 November 2018
Great place to work for. The work environment is fun since it is an educational institution with students. Great view of the campus. More can be done to improve salary benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 November 2018
Good working environment. Working in the university laboratories provides the researcher with experience in the safety, knowledge and communication with peers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Creator Space (Former Employee) –  Ottwa6 November 2018
Very nice experience. I learned a lot about software and different instruments.• Responsible for advising students, promoting activities/workshops, administrate the space, and create video lessons on how to use softwares
• Instructed students on how to use music softwares such as Sibelius, Finale, Cubase, Moog Sub Pathy Synthesizer, Roland D50 Linear Vintage Synthesizer, Maschine, Moog Etherwave Plus Theremin, and Roli Seabord
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with job security.
SUPERVISOR/BARISTA (FULL-TIME) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 October 2018
the coworkers are great, sometimes management is not.
The union is great and definitely provides job security for those not in management.
The benefits you receive are also quite helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many opportunities, in a wide variety of fields
Administrative officer / print job estimator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 October 2018
I was involved mostly in the financial area, accounts payable and payroll. Was then promoted to senior admin officer in the new copy centre responsible print processes across campus.
Pros
opportunities and job stability
Cons
not many, actually!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive lab
MSc Graduate Student& part-time research assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 September 2018
very good management and good environment, interesting new area of research. Fully equipped lab under strong supervision. In general very satisfy and good learning experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult management
Administrator Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 September 2018
higher management is highly confused and its hard to evolve in your career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working
Vising professor (Current Employee) –  Department of mathematics and statistics10 September 2018
Working in department of mathematics and statistics is a good experience for me. I found the attitude of the department very positive and the staff are welcome to help you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Masters Student
QA/QC (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 September 2018
The school has terrible administration, which as a MSc student you would not think would have such a big impact on your life but it really does. I had to fight to get everything that was promised to me, I even had to fight to get my defense date set up. They don't tell you that if you don't speak french it will be virtually impossible to get a teaching job. Luckily I had an amazing supervisor who I loved but I don't know that I would go back.
Pros
My work was published
Cons
No support from admin staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn and grow
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 August 2018
good place to learn and grow.
The pay is quite good but since I was on contract, did not qualify for benefits.
It gave me a great opportunity to learn and grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Driver / Stock Order Picker (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 August 2018
The place is a terrible place to work. Most managers have no idea as to how to treat employee's. They suck the life out of people. Constant calling in sick - sometimes up to 13 on a Sunday. People just stopped caring and it shows.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Professors and Programs
Ph.D. Candidate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 July 2018
Overall the University of Ottawa is a great university. Located in the heart of Canada's capital it is a great place to learn and grow your professional network as a graduate student. Workplace culture is relaxed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Practical work experience
Bilingual Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 July 2018
I worked as an administrator for the Faculty of Education while I was a student at the University of Ottawa. This was an excellent way for me to gain practical work experience and earn extra income while at the same time keeping my studies in mind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and very active environment
Assistant educator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 July 2018
Volunteering at the University of Ottawa for the science and engineering camp was a great experience because I learned responsibilities and leadership while assisting the educators work with the children.
Pros
Outdoor activities
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 July 2018
Great place to work. Good work life balance.
Flexible timings.
Fun to work.
Multi cultural place
Great Social life.
Good pay.
Not too hectic.
Will recommend to everyone
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 June 2018
Working here has been great. My colleagues are patient and helpful, even at times that were difficult and confusing. I also learned a lot and the environment fosters individual learning and self improvement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research assistant, Contract (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 June 2018
I have been working at uOttawa full-time for three years as a research assistant. Great opportunity to learn a lot about how to deal with the new problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mentor
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 May 2018
Being a Teaching Assistant taught me many things, because of this i was able to gain much more confident. In this part of my job my main task was to teach and take doubts from students for undergraduate course.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Ottawa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 227 reviews
5118
474
328
22
15

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

University of Ottawa Reviews by Location