University of Minnesota Physicians Employee Reviews

Showing all 132 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scheduler, purchasing agent, supervisor
Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN1 August 2017
Scheduled 160 or more calls a day

Purchased items for clinics

Supervised 2 employees

enjoyed working with people.

Work for the U of M Physicians from 2002 to 2008
Pros
Pot lucks
Cons
Parking ramps
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See below
Registered Nurse-Operating Room/PACU Nurse (Former Employee) –  Red Wing, MN6 July 2017
It has been many years since being employed there. I can remember getting a great learning experience there.I was fortunate to have worked with some of the most talented surgeons one good ask for.
IE Renal Transplant Team.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay to work for
Patient Rep (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MN29 June 2017
Manager had no clue about department,she had never been in charge of big department was over her head. Some staff was easy and fun to work with, other staff not as nice to work with. A lot of staff gossip, very distracting to job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace and skilled
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN20 June 2017
not only working but continuing education, passionate doctors and profesional setting, welcoming to all and serving at its best,support when needed and great supervision
Pros
great staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people!
Out Patient MRI Technologist (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN13 June 2017
Fabulous place to work at. People extremely helpful. Management very pro employee. Example of this is all the classes they gave us to ensure our knowledge was always current.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
REGISTERED RESPIRATORY THERAPIST (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN22 May 2017
If you are an adrenaline junky with endless amounts of energy, I highly encourage you to work here. Management isn't the greatest, but the issues I've had working with them can be found in any department.
Pros
Learn and see A LOT
Cons
Too high of a work load for patient safety/satisfaction
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work summary
Radiation Therapist (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN12 May 2017
The University of Minnesota is overall a well known hospital. I would go there for my care if I needed to. They take time to get the know their patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy medical scheduling call center.
Patient Intake Representative (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN11 May 2017
I learned a great deal about call centers and being an intake representative. During my tenure I scheduled for a total of 12 clinics. I enjoyed my job and was happy to be able to help people. High turnover due to the nature of call center demands.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Times are changing
Process Improvement Manager (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN1 May 2017
I liked working there, but that was several years ago. I know there have been a lot of leadership changes. Don't know that I would go back to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN25 April 2017
This is a great place to work. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The patients are great and easy to work with. Everyone seemed to want to be there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There were many opportunities to learn new specialties and to move within the company
Senior Coding Specialist (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN30 March 2017
It was a good place to work and get experience in many different specialties. People moved around a lot. There was good training, teamwork, and many positive people. Its been awhile since I worked here, so I will keep it short.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Certified Nursing Assistant (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN2 March 2017
It is always fun to work here and this is because of the people I work with.Every day is a learning day since I deal with p people from different cultures social and economical backgrounds that makes it very difficult to trust one right away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
LPN (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN9 January 2017
Liked the people I worked with they were friendly an willing to help. Management was good. Like the clinic setting. Physicians were easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good employer
Clinic Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN3 January 2017
Good benefits, work life balance, and management. When there are areas for improvement UMP takes this seriously. Overall a good employer - would recommend!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Coding Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn Center, MN16 December 2016
The University of Minnesota Physicians took me as an uncertified coder and trained me. No other company would take a person without experience. So they give you a chance.
Pros
Training
Cons
Not top pay out there
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and good management
Refunds Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn Center, MN18 November 2016
UMP is a great place to work if you don't want a flexible schedule
there is a lot of micromanagement and the managers seem to have too many people under them with different jobs to give much feedback.
Pros
co workers
Cons
not flexible schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult department to work in
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN3 November 2016
It was difficult working on the recruitment team. The manager is obviously a new manager with not much experience in the workforce. Creates a difficult culture and micro-manages. Doesn't do much for the teams success. It was hard to have to keep all e-mails to "prove" you had done everything correctly and followed up.

VP of HR was great. Other members of HR were great.

Management of UMP in general was great, working with great directors and managers. I enjoyed my job solely because of getting to work with great leaders.
Pros
Great leadership
Cons
micromanager, not very experienced
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
CMA (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN31 October 2016
Lots of variety
Room for advancement
Management works with you
The hardest part is my commute
My fellow employees are great
Pros
Working downtown
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Supervisor, job clearly defined, felt like a team member at the clinic I worked for.
Heath Records Technician (Former Employee) –  MPLS, MN27 October 2016
Typical work day was locating medical records for clinic, scanning, indexing and purging paper records.

I learned to trust myself and my work. Everyday I worked at the best level I could and reached the goals set for me.

My supervisor was great. She answered my questions and worked on a positive basis with me for the entire time of employment.
Upper management wasn't as effective for me, personally.

Hardest part of the job was responding to clinic needs and correcting the mistakes of people who did this job before I did.
Pros
Nice clinic, customers, and co-workers.
Cons
No possiblity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
won't recommend it to anyone
Health Unit Coordinator, (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN7 October 2016
horrible place to work, specially the pediatric dental clinic, the staff are very racist and not professional. always make you work thr your breaks.benefits are OK, you pay for parking,
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Minnesota Physicians. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 132 reviews
539
434
336
212
111

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture