University of Manitoba Employee Reviews

Found 196 reviews matching the search See all 199 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Manitoba16 October 2018
Good place to start your work . Its in the main location of the city to go and come back. All Staffs are great to work with . Good mentoring and organised work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Grader/Marker (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 October 2018
• Conduction of economics research and guide undergraduate students on how to summarize their
findings;
• Marking exams papers;
• Preparation of project topic lists and semester scheme of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a decent job
Grounds Keeper (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 October 2018
It's a nice more laid back job you would water flower clean out garbage cans or just generally keep the campus clean and looking nice when you have to.
Pros
get to start at 8
Cons
not full 8 hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
researcher -
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 September 2018
i worked as researcher, helping the professor in teaching, and carrying research on his projects. marking the assignments and covering come teaching topics in class.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of professionalism
Clinical Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg30 August 2018
Professional staff treated with little respect and support. Pay is well below similar roles, no benefits and travel to various sites without any remuneration.

Pay is not always the most important part of your job; if you feel respected, appreciated and treated with dignity, money is secondary.
Pros
some autonomy
Cons
hostile workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce Environment
Summer Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Manitoba5 August 2018
UofM is a very beautiful campus and the people are very friendly and collaborative there. The multicultural scenario makes it easier for students and workers coming from other countries to adapt. The only downside I can think is that Winnipeg is a very cold city, so think well before taking the decision of going there.
Pros
Friendly, beautiful, multicultural
Cons
Cold
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-stressful work days
Standardized Patient (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 July 2018
Generally not difficult work days. The hardest part of the job is if you have a script and have had a long day, the lines can get a little muddled but other than that it's hard to screw up this job.
Pros
Free Lunches, long breaks, nice coworkers
Cons
can be boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
self management
Clerk at G.P.A'S (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 July 2018
nice and i had to talk to many other people , what the want , how to make then feel at home from home. In all i loved this job that i which i never had to leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Technician (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 July 2018
It is a good place to work.
Salary and benefits are OK.
The job security is not great because the positions are usually dependant on the financial situation of the institution at a given moment.
Advancement is not great either. The university does not help with the costs of studies at the institution or with the cost of summer programs for the children of its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University professor position
Assistant/Associate Professor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 June 2018
This position is little unusual position when the review is compared to other industrial position. Typical university professor position focused on the teaching and research.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional co-workers; exciting, dynamic venue
Program Coordinator - CPD Medicine (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 June 2018
A typical day at work was not typical. Every day offered something different, and this made the job interesting.

In the six months of my term I had three different managers, so that part was a bit difficult, but my co-workers more than made up for it!

The hardest part of the job was having to completely rely on others -- ie: security, supplies, plant personnel, caterers, exhibitors/sponsors, speakers -- to come together to ensure a successful event.

Seeing an event unfold was so rewarding! Doctors must keep informed what's new and interesting in the medical world, and it was fulfilling to be an important part of that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Council
Member of St. Paul’s College Student Council (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 June 2018
Had a great time helping out at St. Paul's College Student Council, had immense time and fun there. It is a great community and network of people and community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Orientational
Orientation leader for Volunteer // Winnipeg, MB (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 June 2018
I have gained strong Orientational and time management skill gained by organizing and leading new international students to know about the university.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with great staff
Project Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 June 2018
I was fun to work with such a huge organization as the opportunities are endless. I, unfortunately, was only hired on a contract base which was completed one month after starting. However, given the opportunity, I would gladly work there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Mini U leader (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 May 2018
Great place to work. The people are absolutely great and very pleasant. Working as a part of the Mini U team was fantastic. The staff are pleasant and awesome.
Pros
Working with other people with the same views as you
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot in this program
TEACHING ASSISTANT/GRADER/MARKER (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB20 May 2018
Extensive work for research proposal.
Learned how to manage conflict and work independently
People were not tolerante with other cultures
People hard to work with.
Travelled a lot and learn who to network and presentation skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment and work as a team with the support of our supervisor.
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 May 2018
It is a great environment and we work as a team with the support of our supervisor. My problem solving skills are tested each day as I face them and learn few things each time.

I enjoy working at the U of M because of our team. We support each other and help each other out when needed, also with the guidance of our supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good environment to learn responsibilities
INTERNATIONAL STUDENT REP (Former Employee) –  Winnipegosis, MB14 May 2018
I was responsible for providing information on resources available to international student dealing with homesickness and winter-depression. help them reduce the culture shock for the incoming student from more conservative culture and provide resources for the students from warmer climate on how to dress in winter
Pros
free dinner
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of learning, good pay
Teaching Assistant/Grader/Marker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 May 2018
Great working with renown professors for each given field. You get to interact and pick the brains of academics and learn a great deal. Pay is good for a student
Pros
Lots of learning, Good pay
Cons
few hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Central to Learning
Graphic Design Sessional Instructor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 April 2018
University of Manitoba is a great place to work. It is also an awesome place for lifelong learning for individuals and professionals. Working at the U of M provides the opportunity to meet many creative professionals, passionate researchers, experienced teachers, and eager students every day.

The main campus is set in a bow of the Red River, close to parks, restaurants, and various professional business and recreation centres in the area. It is also a terminal for Rapid Transit, the quickest access to Winnipeg downtown and Exchange District.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Manitoba. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 199 reviews
596
467
329
23
14

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

University of Manitoba Reviews by Location