University of Guelph Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search See all 244 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a TA
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON17 June 2019
I was just a TA and enjoyed it. Only 10 hours of work a week and the union is good. As far as TA positions go seems pretty decent. As long as you know your subject TAing is easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Researcher/Lab/Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON13 January 2019
Maple Leaf Foods is a recognized and renowned food processing company in Canada, known to have safe and pleasant work environment, competitive salary structure,
Pros
Excellent work environment
Cons
Reasonable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good on paper
Technician (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON12 December 2018
people in unions complain too much. it was a good job. Vets are crazy and have god complexes for the most part. Ive chosen to get out of the field because vets are crazy and they are not good employers.
Pros
good salary
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for part time work
Porter (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON26 October 2018
Schedule is great for moms or dads looking for part time work while children are in school.
Easy going setting.Friendly management. Great benefits package.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly confining to anyone with fresh management or related ideas.
Radiation Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON21 October 2018
Glad to be of service to them BUT would not want to be "stuck" contracting or employed forever other than the money, in the long view of things.

They attract many highly skilled and motivated people for every aspect of their internal programs as far as I can tell. As well, had the great pleasure to work with a high quality "crop" of new scientific and academic staff in STEM areas with which I was acquainted, but noted a relatively high level of frustration with inefficiencies and unnecessary hurdles put in the way of progress. In-fighting and other nasty cultural problems seem low or non-existent in the STEM departments and I hope it always remains that way so that energies and inspiration is not sapped down this unproductive path.

University itself could probably do a LOT more to recover and flesh out some departments now, to me, seemingly languishing due to favouring of one scientific area over another. Have seen a Physics department, for instance, shrink badly due to inadequate University and government support - possibly relying on the School's other areas of excellence such agri and vet studies to be an attractive research institute. This is a dangerous viewpoint in my opinion.
Pros
renumeration and benefits
Cons
poor management overall: no ability to motivate talented staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice environment to work in
Kitchen Helper (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON13 August 2018
Working there is very fun, always busy and keep in touch with customers.

I've have learned experience doing different duties around my work place that I know I am doing very good.

Management there is very nice and easy going

This workplace is fun to work because it is a multicultural environment

For me there is not hardest part in the job because we are properly trained and I like challenges.

The most enjoyable part of the job is I have the opportunity to be in
direct contact with customers
Pros
very nice environment to work, nice people to work with, we pay very little amount of money a day for our food, good benefits
Cons
It is a seasonal job, I would like to work all year long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, but ...
Development Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON1 May 2018
I was on campus a long time and thoroughly enjoyed the environment and being a part of an organization making real change in the world. However, due to the various union rules on campus and terrible managers in certain departments, working at the University of Guelph can be very stressful.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Parking, bad managers, too many unions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff!
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON14 April 2018
Great place to work and make long lasting friends. Hours are short for lifegaurding but pay is decent. Make more money for teaching private lessons. Hours of work could start as early as 5:30 am.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work
Student Services Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 March 2018
This place gives you an amazing work life balance along with great benefits and fun work environment. The people are very nice and do not make you feel bad for not knowing things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Job
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON6 March 2018
Working as Teaching and Research Assistant is always very exciting. I loved my work. The professors were friendly and helpful. Besides, the salary was perfect for a student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of independence
Research Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON10 December 2017
Flexible work hours as long as the minimum number of work hours per week are met. Sufficient resources are available in case of any issues that inevitably arise while performing experiments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job
Event Staff (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON17 March 2017
- great atmosphere
- great staff
- always fun coming to work
- many different and changing work opportunities
- flexible schedule, making it possible to work around my school schedule
Pros
flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has it's ups and downs
Porter (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON24 February 2017
There are good things, and things that are not so good.
Workplace is generally good.
Very busy, always something to do.
Typical day is busy, with changing priorities.
I try to learn something every day.
Hardest part of the job is the hours.
Most enjoyable part of the job is the sense of accomplishment.
Pros
Good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place
Research Animal Technician (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON16 December 2016
By far the best job I have had and that is because of the people, the atmosphere and the ability to learn and grow. Excellent benefits. This place had the whole package.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
START Leader and FYE Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2016
The management was kind of unorganized at times. Otherwise, fun place to work at. I would recommend. It is a good experience to have, and pays well.
Pros
Many free lunches
Cons
Erratic hours, prone to miscommunication, disorganization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and fun work environment
Barista and Kitchen Employee (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON4 May 2016
Great work environment with supportive management and co-workers. Scheduling was very lenient towards busy university schedules and responsibilities.
Pros
Free lunches, good with scheduling, supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace.
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON26 April 2016
It was a very good place to work, although it pays badly.
There is a very good science research there.
But if you're not a university employee, it's not very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working Environment
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON6 April 2016
Decent hours, excellent coworkers, as well as a good understanding to others needs. Working with a lot of students with conflicting schedules really helped them understand that there is more to life than work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job for Students while in school
Duty Staff (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON31 March 2016
Good Job, Difficult hours considering they are all late night on weekends. Luckily they pay for a cab to bring you home afterwards
Pros
Time to Study while working
Cons
Late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful workplace with an absolutely fantastic staff
Learning & Curriculum Support Librarian (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON29 March 2016
The University of Guelph is a phenomenal employer with great benefits and a competitive salary. They are invested in the future and the well being of their staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Guelph. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 244 reviews
5136
479
327
22
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.2Culture