University of Calgary Employee Reviews

Found 227 reviews matching the search See all 234 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and study
Research Technician (TECH1) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 February 2019
Typical work days and good pay. It all depends on where you are working and who you are working for, though the department I was working in had great hours, stable pay and always an enjoyable atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, social and busy work culture with professional atmosphere
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 January 2019
Great workplace! Lots of team members and wonderful manager. Awesome group projects that required teamwork and collaboration. We had lots of Chinese teammates that I became close friends with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Careful of IT Management
IT Partner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 January 2019
I've seen terrible leadership in Central IT.
Leading by fear is the standard back-stabbing method some of them follow.
It's unfortunate that those terrible few make it so difficult on so many great people working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with good benefits and work/life balance
Jr. PMO Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 January 2019
The place is very fun to work with as the people and environment is very lively and it keeps you motivated
Good benefits
focus on personal growth
many perks with education benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
ESL INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  Calgary AB2 January 2019
The hourly wage rate was good, but there was no extra payment for prep hours. I ended up spending more unpaid hours preparing for the classes. Most of the staff members were helpful and there was an atmosphere of collaboration. Overall, a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching experience
Teaching Assistant Staff (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 December 2018
Worked as a Teaching Assistant Staff.

Learned about teaching ethics in Canada

Taught ComputerScience to undergraduate students at University of Calgary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i volunteered here
Volunteer for Stampede fundraiser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 December 2018
I spent a few days over the summer in 2017 volunteering with my friend, we put up posters for a fundraiser and assisted with the set up and clean up of this event.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers
ITS TECHNICAL ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 November 2018
As a student employee:
- the pay is decent
- no benefits even though you have to pay union fees.
- co-workers are great, very willing to teach you.
- very flexible with schedule to accommodate for school.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work Schedule
Night Audit Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 November 2018
• Ran daily credit card transactions through a settlement process
• Recorded daily room occupancy and rate totals.
• Recorded revenue totals for cash, checks, and credit card transactions.
• Generated automated accounting reports for the manager's review
• Settled Corporate Accounts and sending reports to those entities for billing purposes, running the computer back-up systems
• Handled 3rd party reservations and Ensuring proper processing
Pros
The staff and coworkers
Cons
Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enriching department
PhD Student, Political Science Department (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 November 2018
Plenty of opportunities for professional advancement (i.e. SSHRC/NSERC), a focus on preparing PhD students for teaching one day, and a strong focus on preparing PhD students for all other aspects of academia (i.e. grant applications and such)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about University of Calgary?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sessional Instructor
Sessional Instructor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 October 2018
Great University to work for. Balanced work-life. Excellent benefits. Online teaching is available and encouraged. Management is flexible. Good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start your work and learn
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Department of Economics28 October 2018
University of Calgary is a good place to work and learn skills. The facilities is good. Everything is close to you: gym, food court, classes. I really recommend this place for starting your work, but do not hang there for a long time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent for Enthusiastic Educators
Early Childcare Educator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 October 2018
Children are a lot of work, but the staff are passionate about their work, and developing a strong bond with your team to provide the best possible care is immediately apparent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a research assistant at the university of calgary
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 October 2018
Good place to learn. the labs are fully equipped for graduate students. My suggestion is to choose your supervisor carefully and have difficult conversations early on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a career building environment
Associate Director, Internal Control (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 October 2018
If you value your career progress I would stay away from it. I have been their 4 year and half over which time my direct report to manager has not expressed any dissatisfaction and I have always met performance review target, however i was terminated without cause abruptly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opportunities for advancement, no benefits
animal care (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 October 2018
Has the potential to be a great place to work if you manage to secure a full-time position. However, the University relies on multiple recurring part-time staff on a daily basis but claims that there is not enough work for additional full-time positions. This way they do not have to provide benefits or job security to a large portion of their staff while benefiting from their work. Many of my coworkers had multiple part-time jobs to make ends meet. Work-life balance was strained due to this.

Negative work environment due to some part-time staff working comparable hours to the full-time staff without any benefits or job security.
Pros
Good facilities
Cons
Rely heavily on part-time staff, no benefits, stagnant wages, very low qol salary increments for p/t positions (less than 3%)
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 September 2018
I enjoyed my time here. The people were good. The work was good. Overall, it was good. Filling in this review is required. I do not have much else to say.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have control over your own work process
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 September 2018
It was great working there. In my case, I worked with the library and it involved metadata collection. You have to find creative ways to retrieve the information, which is part of the fun.

Overall, the supervisors are sweet, the job is relatively easy (though sometimes tedious), and the people around you are willing to help when you need it.
Pros
Easy, great workplace culture
Cons
Work sometimes gets repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to acquire skills and expand your breadth of knowledge
Executive Assistant, VPR (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 September 2018
Working at the University of Calgary for over 5 years has afforded me the opportunity to develop my current skill set as well and expand my breadth of knowledge. I am privileged to work with all faculties and departments as well as government and industry stakeholders.

I have grown in the areas of partnership development and have demonstrated a strong ability to cultivate key relations both internally and externally. Working at the university has allowed me to grow in my passion: bringing people together to create opportunities for collaborative success
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for gaining experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 September 2018
Great place to start your career. Great work culture but may sometime depend on your course co-ordinator. Senior level courses are easier to teach than first year courses
Pros
good work culture
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Calgary. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 234 reviews
599
474
348
28
15

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

University of Calgary Reviews by Location