Univar Solutions Employee Reviews

Found 31 reviews matching the search See all 392 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for with lots of opportunities for career advancement
Senior Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 January 2019
-Very high pace environment
-Daily customer interaction
-Learn about different industries which we sell to
-Promotes team work environment
-Great benefits
-KPI's that we are given can sometimes be a bit excessive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très belle compagnie, manque de compétences en gestion des ressources humaines
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Dorval, QC8 January 2019
Compagnie qui n'a pas encore compris que les employés sont le principal atout pour assurer une croissance durable. Vision à très courts termes, culture de promotion des employés strictement au mérite, sans tenir compte des compétences et aptitudes pour le poste éventuel. Aucune conciliation travail-famille. Belles valeurs seulement sur papier.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Morale and things are getting worse
Supply Planner (Current Employee) –  Alberta8 November 2018
Univar used to be a good place to work for. It is now, perhaps, somewhere that can give you some experience so you can leave to go to a real company.
Everyone says great things about you on your face and then trash you behind your back.

Working there is becoming each day more and more stressful.
Management in Alberta is a boys club. They only care about themselves and their big bonuses.

Sales team complains, but they are really well taken care of.

All the other departments that support sales are treated like we are doing them a favour.
Yes, we do get a yearly bonus! Yay! But that's not enough for 2 weeks' grocery; people in sales can make at least half of your yearly salary just in bonus - not to mention that their fixed salary is above most everyone else's.

Horrible culture, extreme low morale, REALLY underpaid. Can't wait to find anything else.

They bragged themselves about job stability, even though they paid less than the market. This is no longer true and they keep with the low salaries!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 November 2018
Looking for something new and challenging need to spread my wings and learn new skills would like something closer to home but other than that everything is great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Corporate Accounts, Inside Sales & Pricing (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 September 2018
Overall good experienced gained at this organization. Employees were great to work with and over the years a good dynamic was created in the office. Good place to start your career to learn the basics of any business.
Pros
time flexibility
Cons
very fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to grow with
Forecster Alberta and British Columia (Former Employee) –  CA15 August 2018
Very structured and with a great vision. Room to grow and welcoming to multi cultural employees. Developed lifelong friendships and learned a lot in regards to my field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Supply Planner II (Former Employee) –  North York, ON6 July 2018
Good place to work. Great experience. Friendly people. Good pay. Upper management not open to actual change even though they asked for suggestions and feedback.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 January 2018
Good place too work with friendly management and decent wage.
I was looking forward to advancing within the company but did not get the chance to stay with the company long enough because of an incident that happened with my wife sick and missed 2 days in a row..
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in warehousing for 9 months and counting
Warehouseman (Current Employee) –  Tillsonburg, ON23 December 2017
Great people , easy work and decent compensation.

My co workers make me feel like family

Wing cookouts , fish frys, thanksgiving and christmas lunches.

Went from a temp to hired contract in 5 months. Benefits package is great .

Not sure if we get bonuses or anything yet

best place ive ever worked hands down.
Pros
best co workers ive ever had, best boss, great lunches
Cons
long hours in the spring during chemical / seed season but the OT is worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People seem to love it
Tax Analyst (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC22 December 2017
I have only worked there for 6 months as a co-op student. Everyone works there seem to really like the management. Turn over rate is really low. It's a good place to start and build a career
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really organzied work culture and positive environment
Accounts Payable Assistant (Temporary) (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC20 November 2017
Really organized work culture and positive environment. Proper hierarchy within the organization. Good mix of experienced and young professionals. Healthy work culture .
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace with manageable workload
Temporary Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 September 2017
A typical day for me at Univar included data entry, emailing and conversing over the phone with customers and other departments, and dealing with truck drivers at reception. I learned a lot about office administration (i.e. filing, faxing). I was always treated with respect by my supervisors and coworkers. Univar has a very positive workplace culture.
Pros
Free lunch occasionally provided
Cons
Office could get cold sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmoshphere
Shipper Receiver / Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB18 September 2017
great people and atmosphere learned lots about the seed and chemical side everyday was different and as long as you did your job you were never hassled
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay Away
not to be mentioned (Current Employee) –  Quebec9 September 2017
stay away... no job advancement...upper management work with one eye open, one eye closed....most employees are not appreciated.... i would suggest to stay way ....
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International Company
Customer Service Specialist/Supply Planner/Buyer (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB1 August 2017
Univar has been a great place to work, the staff at the Grande Prairie location is very friendly, supportive, and easy to work with. The company has good training and very safety oriented.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK16 July 2017
good place to work. decent wage , Good management , good co-workers, decent benefits , I enjoy my job there. But I find there is favoritism and the wage increases are very small. Good bonus program. all and all a pretty good company but would like to relocate to slave lake. ab or Edmonton. ab, to be closer to family and friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Credit and AR Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 March 2017
Univar is a great company to work for , great place, great people and great benefits.great work and life balance can be maintained working for this organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, sales oriented with opportunities for advancement
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Dorval, QC4 January 2017
Univar Canada is a fantastic school. If a person is willing to learn and eager to participate there will be plenty of opportunities to shine. Customer Service is considered the heart of the organization. The hardest part of the job would have to be relying on other departments to do their parts with as much enthusiasm as you do.
The most enjoyable part is definitely the people. The friends you make are friends you will keep for life.
Pros
Advancement possibilities
Cons
far from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environement productif
Représentante Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Dorval, QC18 October 2016
Le travail était agréable et les clients très sociables. Les possibilités d'avancement sont nulles.
Pros
Excellente communication entre département
Cons
Aucune possibilité d'avancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and positive colleagues
Employee (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 August 2016
Great work environment everyday is different. The people you work with are enthusiastic about their work. We service many different industries which make it multi-faceted and allows an opportunity for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Univar Solutions. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 392 reviews
5105
4108
392
245
142

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture