United Airlines Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and never a dull day
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 April 2018
I enjoyed working for United Airlines, but unfortunately we were outsourced. A typical day could starting at as the check in agent and getting passengers checked in, weighing bags. Then you could be moved to the baggage department where you make sure passengers get their luggage. it was a very rewarding career.
Pros
free travel
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passanger agent
Passenger Agent (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 March 2018
Helping travelers with boarding, checking in passengers, make announcements. Deal with a lot of stress and angry customers.
Must have great customer skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive learning place
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 January 2018
It was fun working in this company. I have new learning on how to personally interact with the guest on a different way. Productive lernong and career advancement
Pros
Training in the u.s
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Airlines
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 January 2018
I work in the early morning shift starting at 3:45 am we get all the computers started up and the printers ready to go. There is usually a long line up, so we have to make sure everyone in line has their bag(s) tagged before they get into the line to drop off their luggage. We also help those checking in at the kiosk to get their check-in complete or one of us is at the first class station to ensure that our VIPs get the service they paid for. After a couple of hours, some of us are assigned to do the Gate and we leave and go and get the boarding process started. One person will go down to Operations to get the paper works that we need to give to the captain and the paper works for the crew and other paperwork that we need to fill out once the plane has left. The other individual in the meantime gets the computer set up and the printers set up, put up the signs for the passengers to line up in classes one to four. Get all the boarding passes fixed and make the boarding announcement when the time comes. When the other individual arrives from Operations, they board the crew and the captain and take them down to the plane so they can get the plane ready and wait for the captain to settle in then let him out so he can do his walk around the plane to ensure the everything is in good working order for the flight. Ater with the boarding will begin and both Customer Service rep takes a position and boards, everyone, aboard. Once boarding is complete we go down and hand the paperwork to the captain ask if it is okay to close the plane door, then hand the paper works to the crew make  more... sure once again to ask if its okay to close the door. Once the door is closed we pull the bridge back and the flight is complete.

There is a lot to learn and we learn new things every day.

Management is good and very supportive.

I love the culture it is different every day because you are dealing with different people every day. The staff is great we, get along well most of the times. I enjoy every bit of my job.
  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Passenger Services Agent (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK11 December 2017
working with airline always very busy and i think its a very good thing to pass your day fast . need to be very quick in action with patience
traveling opportunists.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place
CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 October 2017
Hours were awful
Management didnt care about you
Training was amazing and sold the company staff back home didnt
Couldnt take time off for anything if there was an am emergency you are expected to put the company first
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding on a Daily Basis
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  YVR14 September 2017
Moving thousands of people inbound and outbound on a daily basis., Understanding a multitude of diverse Cultures and Situations.

The difficult times were cancellations and managing hundreds of stranded Passengers.

The most enjoyable part of the Job was getting people to where they needed to be.
Pros
Travel Benefits
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high production and target achievement within countdown conditions
Passenger Agent (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 July 2017
it was a unique experience with a month long training in Chicago.
once back at the Trudeau Airport time flew so fast! a great team, very supportive team leads.
Pros
free airlines tickets, insurance covering everything
Cons
early shifts 3 am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team mates, great benefits, fast paced
Passenger Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 March 2017
When I started with United, I was mostly a runner also known as the last passenger. It was my responsibility to make sure that all the passengers for a particular flight is accounted for. Towards the last half of my time with United, I was responsible to locate missing luggage, to make claims and delivery schedules. Most of my co workers were very friendly and supportive. The hardest part of the job were the start times for each shift, 4am or 9pm. It was really hard to survive working so little hours. I would have to say the most enjoyable part of the job would be the interaction with the passengers.
Pros
The interaction with passengers and the fast paced enviroment.
Cons
Early or Late start times and the limited hours worked in a day and the month.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
PASSENGER SERVICE AGENT (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON2 March 2017
I liked the work environment there. Everyone sort of know everyone and it was easy to connect with coworkers. Except for standing on your feet all day, it's cool.
Pros
Nice people to work with
Cons
Standing on feet all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brace yourself with lots of knowledge and good health to work lots of hours. Be disciplined and stay focused. It was a good paying job during my time.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC2 February 2017
Work would start at 330am although the counters were open to the public at 4am. There was half hour to clean work areas, bring out working tools, test computers and set up stanchions in the lobby in a most efficient way to control the crowd. In summer, during peak season, it was not unusual to find passengers spending the night at the airport for their early morning flight. The flights were at 6am to San Francisco, 610am, to Chicago, 630am, to Houston, 7am to Denver, and 810am to Chicago again, and they were operated on either wide-bodied A320s airplanes or narrow-bodied 737s. Flights were usually booked full or oversold. The morning crew would be composed of a ticketing agent, 4 check-in agents and 4 lobby agents, who would be challenged to process more than 1,000 passengers in the first hour to meet on time performance, including documents check for a hassle free travel. There was no time for error, if error was introduced by a passenger, the ticket agent resolved it, but the show must go on. Oversold flights would be addressed through coordination and cooperation between check in agents and gate agents. After the first hour, 2 check in agents and 2 lobby agents leave to be gate agents. That's the most fun, when you see us running around like headless chicken to make sure all passengers who checked- in make it to their flight, including those who got stuck in the U.S. immigration and at the same time, we must meet on time departure for all the flights. I learned to always equip myself with more than enough knowledge to be my own manager. I did not like to waste time looking  more... for answers when problems presented themselves, I wanted to be always ahead and I was always ready with solutions, including technical problems, when the computers went down, I knew what numbers to call to bring them up in a snap. I would always share my abundant knowledge with the agent beside me and with all agents who found it easier to approach me for answers than searching answers in the computer. There was no hardest part of the job, in my opinion, if there were, they were when the company was short-changed or the passengers were unnecessarily inconvenienced because of customer (did)service. By and large, it was very fulfilling working at United Airlines, with the people I worked with.  less
Pros
Great team work.
Cons
xxx
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Passenger Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Dorval, QC7 December 2016
A typical day at work would consist of either working at the counters, gates or baggage claim. Over the course of one year working at the airport so far, I learned that there is much more to it rather than just checking in a passenger at the counters. The management is great and improving and my coworkers are amazing people to work with. The hardest part of the job is to deal with delayed or cancellations of flights. With so much stress on us, it is quite tough at times; however the most enjoyable part of this job is the airport environment, the people I meet and my coworkers make everything much more better.
Pros
meeting new people everyday
Cons
dealing with delayed flights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging work every day along, but I m enjoying it.
Passenger Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC18 November 2016
Everyday along has different tasks to do, everyday has different lessons. Working environment is really great, co-worker is very nice, management is nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun everyday, Exciting atmosphere, meeting new pople all the time
Customer Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 April 2016
It was my favorite job. Always different everyday, always on the go which I love, meeting new people everyday. All my co-workers were awseome people.The only thing that was wrong was management was not the best, also the pay was not good, and the hours where all over the place. This job you habe to be a fast working person be able to multi task, alway being on time. The mhardest part of this job was learning the computer system. This was a greta job I loved boarding the aircrafts doing the annoncements and always putting the customer first thats the main priority.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
long hours, not good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exellent
PASSENGER SERVICE AGENT (Current Employee) –  YUL MONTREAL22 March 2016
Ambitieuse, très active, ajouter le plus c`est toujours un objectif, parfaite communicatrice avec toute personne. Leadership efficace c`est un atout. Prendre les étapes de planification stratégique en business et marketing c`est primordial. La motivation c`est la clé du succès dans ma carrière.


Ambitious, active, add more is always a goal, perfect communicator with anyone. It is an effective leadership asset. Take steps to strategic business planning and marketing It`s paramount. Motivation It`s the key to success in my career.
Pros
positif attitude
Cons
want to be perfect 100%
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
passenger Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 November 2015
I love my job and the people I work with and the great places it to work and the crew are great and the amazing thing and encourage anyone who starting in the airline to chose the airline
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful airport job
Passenger Service Agent/ Gate agent (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 October 2015
counter agent as well as gate agent, boarding people, dealing with re booking, amazing team to work with, hours were long but worth it
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace teamwork
Passenger Ticketing Agent (Current Employee) –  yeg17 September 2015
Great work experience. Everyday was different and action packed .
Dealt with many different situations . Great staff always willing to work. hardest part were cancelled flights. After all the kayos everyone was went back to their routine.
Pros
everyone pulled together
Cons
cancelled flights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need a lot patience and communication skill with customers, it is not a fun job, time managment and face pace working enviorment.
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson Airport21 August 2015
Working with United Airlines now is merging with Continental Airlines is completely different then before. Now the company is going bigger and more new policy needed to be follow.
If you are working at the airport you have to be fast pace, time managing and fast thinking. You never know what will happen to you round the corner; for example you think all passengers on board the plane and you think flight will leave on time. All the sudden before you close the door, the captain tell you flight cancel due to mechanical problem or weather issue etc. Sometimes you do not even have time to take your meal or to go washroom. You might think these only happen ones in a blue moon....no; it might happen every single day for a whole month especially during winter time.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when passengers appreciated your help.
There are different area need to cover at the airport such as check in counter, ticketing desk, baggage desk, departure area, arrival hall, baggage claim, boarding gate, apron, expected running around the whole airport everyday.
Pros
most excited flying benefit and pretty uniforms
Cons
some shifft start at 330am and some off at 3am
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very warm, welcoming atmosphere.
Baggage Handler/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC13 July 2015
A good place to work if you enjoy working outside. VERY welcoming long-term staff. Good morale. Travel benefits.Varied job duties.
Pros
Very cheap air travel
Cons
Odd hours of work, for example 3:30 to 7:30 AM sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Airlines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,098 reviews
5871
4645
3400
299
183

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture