Unisys Employee Reviews

Found 29 reviews matching the search See all 1,988 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A computer company that initially hardware driven then shifted to software
Project Engineer/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Leader, SK12 July 2018
With Unisys, opportunity to grow is a big factor in working with high morale. Management supports the advancement of its staff through seminar and training both local & overseas
Pros
Good Management
Cons
behind in technology shift from centralized to distributed computing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company has been downsizing for the past 15 years.
Project Analyst/Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 July 2018
A good place to work but since the company has been downsizing for many years, you need to work as if any day could be your last day there. A recommended place to work if the company were to stabilize.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
SERVICES SUPPORT REP HELP DESK (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 September 2018
Best company ever. Working here is the best experience everyone would wish to have at work. It is so wonderful, organized and professional. All in all, it is a nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero Job security
Contractor Tech (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON9 May 2018
Bad leadership,bad Management,bad for morale,no sense or being a team,zero compliments for doing a good job.Unbalanced and unfair assessments of workers.This is just another stepping stone company and people are just numbers that don't matter.
Pros
None
Cons
A company that has shrunk into a shadow of what it was years ago.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Une société trés formatrice
Responsable Informatique (Former Employee) –  Saint-Quentin, NB15 May 2018
Au sein d'Unisys, j'ai installé et gérer des parcs informatiques notamment pour TOTAL à la défense et la maison mère d'EUROPCAR à Saint Quentin en Yvelines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to spend your career
Help management deal (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB5 October 2017
Scheduling service calls for forty Technicians every day, talking with customers and rescheduling calls as the day went on.

Learned to deal with customers, employees and stress.

Immediate managers were great to work for.

Fast paced, very stressful.

Setting customers wants and needs to fit in the schedule of what we could provide. Dealing with employees who don't work professionally.

Interacting with people. Training and encouraging young or new technicians.
Pros
People
Cons
Long hours Stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Team ever
Customer Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 April 2016
Conference Call to discuss the daily work load 15 to 20 minutes.
Dispatch the team to the filed with the specific assignments and the ability to modify in case of emergency calls.
Follow up with the team leader on regular basis and update the call status.
Close the day and return all defective parts back to the warehouse.
Conference call to discuss any hanging issues and the steps to resolve it.
- Learned to keep my work knowledge up to date.
- Managed my own territory and assist others in case of emergency.
- My co-workers are very helpful and have good relation with each other.
- Traffic Jams.
- Resolving a problem and making the customer satisfied.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Systems Senior Sales Representative
Senior Account Exec (Former Employee) –  Toronto Financial30 March 2015
Unisys at the time I joined was a merger between Burroughs and Sperry Univac - two major players in the early years of computing. It was a great place to be to start my career in business systems.

My success and survival during very challenging years for this company, was due to my expertise in a specific application where there was a niche that the financial community demanded; that being remittance processing and cash management.

Although its been many years since I was with Unisys, I still have close friends from there.
Pros
Excellent training
Cons
Company was in decline and losing market share
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job never stuck behind a desk
Field Technician / Desktop Tech Support (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 January 2015
Start of the day calling clients making your own schedule for the day before heading out the door.


Management only seen twice per year for evaluation.

Co-workers were grate fun to work with.

Hardest part of the job dealing with home users.

Must enjoyable part of the job being on the road 98% of the time.
Pros
Making your own schedule
Cons
contract wanted full time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun working for them
Domain Services Analyst (Former Employee) –  Home Based23 September 2016
Call management duties, working with clients on servicing their computers and printers.

Learned a lot about customer service, took self improvement courses using our own university.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that I was working from home and it was very convenient with kids.
Pros
Annual Canada Day BBQ, free coffee, tea and snacks.
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced workday in customer environments.
Customer Engineer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 April 2016
Traveled daily to various customer sites providing support on various computer hardware products as a service provider for a number of different computer and IT companies. Frequent standby and overtime was a part of this job.
Learned about many different platforms of computer equipment and about servicing them in a customer environment.
Management was very supportive and aware of the daily operations of the field technicians.I had a great group of co-workers in my work group.
Time management was one of the most difficult parts of the job since often it was challenging to complete all the activities required of the job.
Most enjoyable part was meeting customers and getting positive feedback from them.
Pros
Customer contacts, good benefits, travel.
Cons
Overtime, standby and reporting requirements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long time organization struggling to survive
Compensation and Benefits Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 March 2017
Too much focus on short term business lacking long term strategies. Too much financial control and reporting taking up time to do real business. Realize the value of people but downsizing created insecured feelings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long but successfgul sales
Regional Manager, Business Development (Former Employee) –  local mgmt12 June 2012
generated large net new business. Client satisfaction and very good internal support to respond to my needs. Company also had excellent references for opps I was pursuing.
Pros
large firm, big pockets and great support
Cons
bureaucratic, sen mgmt constant change
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of jobs
Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto24 July 2015
I have worked with Unisys for 9 years under contract. At first it was a good company to work for then it was all down hill. Management and a lot of politic and trying to cap your wages or decrease them by 15%
Pros
The job it's self was fun
Cons
Managment all ways messing with somthing that works
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work/Personal balance
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON10 September 2016
Excellent work experience along with working with great people. Put in situations where it challenges your ingenuity. Working with Cisco and learning networks was a bonus
Pros
Able to work independently with minimal supervision.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to work
Technical Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON24 January 2017
The training was clear, the team and manager were all very supportive. I felt that I was well prepared for the job that I was hired for and my co-workers were very approachable whenever I had any questions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to Start your career
Quality Assurance Consultant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 June 2017
Good to begin with.

- Anyone who is new to the country or who has recently moved to GTA. This might be an easy place to start with.

- A lot to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Customer Engineer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 May 2017
Low pay, looooong hours. Amount of overtime was incredibly stupid and they still expected you to work your normal 8 hours after working all night. No advancement, no raises.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team building
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  north york11 July 2015
accounting work being outsource to USA or India, so everyday have to talk to various group of people (in different time zone) to co-ordinate the work to make sure everything being input and process properly.
Pros
Flexible working hour
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work and got experience to deal with different kid of customers
Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON30 April 2015
It nice to work for big organization like Unisys, I learned a lot to deal with different kind of customers.
Very flexible hours and good environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Unisys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,988 reviews
5580
4687
3460
2146
1115

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture