U-Haul Employee Reviews

Found 207 reviews matching the search See all 3,812 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good customer service training
Assistant Manager/ Hitch pro (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 January 2019
u haul is a fun environment where everyone is treated equally and treated like family. doing hitches and wiring as a hitch pro is nice because you get your own little bay to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 January 2019
I loved working for U-haul, but as for a new immigrant like me, I am still adapting to the cold weather, and this job is an outside job wherein it requires me to stay outside for more than 6 hours, needless to say I needed to find a new job. But overall, the company is very flexible.
Pros
Lots of hours, Flexible scheduling
Cons
More team play, cooperation, communication with other employees needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work locations and co-wokers
Facilities Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 January 2019
employer reneged on original hiring contract by replacing company with my personal vehicle without compensation for fuel/ins./maint. pressure work environment.
Pros
4day-10 hr. shift
Cons
no vehicle compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good but could be better
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 December 2018
Upper management basically bullies you to get their way.
Depending on what store you work at, it can get dramatic.
Most customers are a headache and always looking to get something for free or a discount. Now don't get me wrong, some customers are great but when you get the already grumpy ones.. makes for a long rental. We get you're moving, we want to help but not when you're loosing it at us. All in all its a good place to work, always have hours to give and such. Just need a change in management.
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
rude customers and bully upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working at Uhaul
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC29 December 2018
I loved workering there but the distance was started to become to much so I’m looking for something closer , I loved the free lunch we would get everything month
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic customer service workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 December 2018
Management was very corrupt. General manager has a past with fraud. The workplace itself was calm. Independently doing truck inspections, as trucks/ trailers returned. Scheduling rentals with customers sometimes got hard as they were increasingly impatient. Just takes patience and understanding to console them with their needs.
Pros
Able to be a strong independent worker
Cons
Management, non- flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gérante de territoire
Area fiel manager (gérante de territoire) (Current Employee) –  Lanaudière, QC4 December 2018
Bonne emploie, acquis beaucoup d'expérience avec cette emploi, mais ne me convient plus car j'ai besoin de nouveaux défis et avoir un travail d'un compagnie qui prenne en considération la vie familialle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice ambience depending on days
Facilaty maintenence technicien at u-haul (Former Employee) –  Outaouais, QC21 November 2018
Verry good place as long as the higher ups dont implement there idea and change it every 2 weeks other then that its a fun place when you get to know your team and able of thinking fast smart
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad pay for work you do/ shawty management
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 November 2018
Minimum wage to deal with maximum problems. Especially at this location. Get crapped on by customers and management just tells you to deal with it. Management is very two faced and will say you’re doing a great job then tell everyone else your a horrible person. The Barlow location is simply the worst uhaul for customer service as well.
Pros
Discounts on moving supplies and vehicles
Cons
Shawty management/horrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
also not fun
Client Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC15 November 2018
you are very unsafe with this company and have seen clients get physical with workers with this company not only that I have been personal discriminated since I was Man wearing the pink womans U-Haul uniform my manager was awesome with it. it was her manager that didn't like me wearing and was always spying on us on the company cameras remotely if he didn't like you
Pros
none
Cons
too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult work but friendly staff
Reservation Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario2 October 2018
During end of month the job is very stressful but depending on whether or not you have a good TCM/manager the environment can be positive. Pay isn't great
Pros
Coffee, friendly co-workers
Cons
Pay, end of month, stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Assistant Manager, Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC29 September 2018
fired me because my wage was too high, hired 2 people, despite my having been promoted and having been there since opening, and being one of the most dedicated and hardworking employees that location's had,
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you are a big dude heavy lifting
Check-in Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 September 2018
involves heavy lifting and you need to work outside even if its a bad weather, patience is key to this kind of job and you need to be 100% focus all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aucun
Commis, Vendeur (Current Employee) –  Boisbriand, QC16 September 2018
Belle entreprise
Belle équipe
Le temps est long par contre
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady growth
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC23 August 2018
i learned how to deal with customers in rush hours because in the end of the people move their residential place and most of them need trucks on rent for moving. during that time we need lot of patience to deal with angry customers.
Pros
flexible working hours
Cons
no growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much stress and not enough help/pay
Customer Service Representative/Hitch Pro. (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON13 August 2018
I hated working at Uhaul with a passion. Everyday is new Bulls hit. Between management customers and phone calls. Too much for not enough pay. Waste of time
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly people. No rush
Good team worker (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON6 August 2018
Jobs where not too hard, worked with my stepdad. Did more than 4 jobs and each time the people where friendly I had no feelings of being of rushed. Overall good experience.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Heavy Lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Facility Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON31 July 2018
This is a good place to work, if a person will work hard. and there is plenty of experience that a person will gain. There is a lot of room for personal development and the company recognizes individual effort and accomplishments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avis
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Boisbriand, QC30 July 2018
U-Haul est une grosse entreprise qui connait quelques problèmes au niveau du "management", donc il est difficile pour les employés de bien effectuer leur travail si le gérant n'a pas les compétences pour gérer un centre aussi gros. L'ambiance est agréable entre les employés.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was overall good
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 July 2018
It was a great experience working there. Great people. A bit challenging at first. Very clean. We were always cleaning. There was always something to do.
Pros
They buy you lunch sometimes
Cons
Closes early
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U-Haul. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 3,812 reviews
51.1K
41.1K
3914
2355
1340

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture