U-Haul Employee Reviews for Customer Service Representative

Found 83 reviews matching the search See all 3,810 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON14 May 2019
Terrible place to work . Was hired on . Started orientation caked a week and a half after to find out when I was staring and they told me they didn’t have the time to train anyone and now there’s a posting and has been one up since . I feel that these people are terrible to work for . How can you hire someone wait almost two weeks and not even call them then tell them you don’t have the time to train . I have put on a complaint to the labour board U-Haul is a joke and no one should work for these losers
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor work environment.
Area Field Manger/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Niagara, ON13 May 2019
U-haul is a very disorganized company to work for. The expectations of the company do not match reality and management is less than helpful in anyway.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 May 2019
A professional company wit best equipment to provide to the customer.
An employee with a professional and smart hard worker.

Really gained a lot of experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON8 May 2019
The job itself was okay at first. Once management switched over nothing but disrespect was shown to employees. Not only will you not get any kind of a break/lunch, but you also won’t get paid very much, even if you take on 80% of the work. Benefits are imaginary and any kind of raise is a joke to these people. Avoid at all costs
Pros
My rent got paid
Cons
I hated my life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviroment
Customer Service Representative, Store Front (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON8 April 2019
i enjoyed working with the employees there, i did not like the GM at the time. Would i worked at Uhaul again? maybe, there's a possibility if they asked me too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good entry level job.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC29 March 2019
Working as a Customer service Representative helped me obtain new skills. Multitasking, communication and interpersonal skills, immediate problem solving were some of the skills that I obtained working at U-Haul.
Pros
great manager and good compensation package.
Cons
ambiguous career prospect as a part timer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More responsibility for women, customers were terrible (I've had to call the cops) and got away with it. Didn't have a manager for months. Min. wage.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 February 2019
I first started U-Haul in the customer service rep position at the front desk in September, which is considered the off-season for reservations. I found it was a reasonably relaxed couple of months, with only the end of the month (moving time) being the most stressful time I've had at a job. This had to do with lazy coworkers as opposed to anything else. I had an easy transition in, but quickly found out that the fast employee turnover rate meant I had a lot of responsibility early in. Also, I had no manager for the first couple months I worked there, and only through an amazing supervisor was I able to learn as much as I did because there's no formal training and it's mostly a learn on the job place. This ended up being a problem when you'd have management sensitive problems with customers and you were alone on staff, while the other departments didn't want anything to do with you. We'd constantly get overbooked by the reservation department, and have to tell the customers ourselves why they couldn't get their reservation. There was no accountability. I've had customers yell at me, lying about their bills and would not leave until they got a discount, but no supervisor to talk to them and no one to provide me support. I've had to hook up trailers in snow storms for customers for hours on end, and stay hours after my 9 hour shift with no break cleaning up and returning customer phone calls. I've had to tell someone the cops were coming while he was trying to destroy our property by myself. All this for minimum wage. What's worse is only a few workers, the women workers, had  more... to deal with the customers at the front desk. Being a woman myself, I had to do both the indoor and outdoor job, having the same tasks as the men, but they were only trained outdoors. Despite being called customer service reps, their only job was to occasionally give a customer a rental while I'm inside following up with and taking calls, dealing with sales of store merchandise and storage sales. I felt like I was burdened with a lot more of the responsibility and needed to know so much more because I did both jobs, and despite bringing this up with my manager, I was told it was the best they could do.  less
Pros
Lots of hours available, very flexible on scheduling.
Cons
Worst experience I've had in a customer service position, and terrible management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
users and abusers
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON3 February 2019
UHaul is operated on a untrustworthy, sometimes cruel, and shady platform.
I have been told to do five people worth of jobs for minimum wage, told to pour bleach on plants outside which is against the law, forced to clean bed bugs and asbestos without proper equipment, bullied by management, witnessed as management actually screamed and called people names, was frequently called at home on my only two days off, and witnessed these things happening to people company wide. the amount of care uhaul takes for its employees is abysmal. they expect people to do customer service, cleaning, propane, forklift, stock, counting, collections, ect. all for minimum wage and will scream at you if you dont meet their numbers. uhaul refuses to enforce safety regulations and in my particular center will even refuse maintenance. our building needed its roof replaced for 10 years. several roofing companies in the area told our MCP to replace it. uhaul did a quick fix and left it at that. peoples things were getting destroyed but as long as they didnt hear the grumbling they didnt care.
uhaul has no breaks. you work alone and are expected to "eat when you can".
Pros
their benefits if you can get them are kind of ok.
Cons
literally everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 January 2019
I loved working for U-haul, but as for a new immigrant like me, I am still adapting to the cold weather, and this job is an outside job wherein it requires me to stay outside for more than 6 hours, needless to say I needed to find a new job. But overall, the company is very flexible.
Pros
Lots of hours, Flexible scheduling
Cons
More team play, cooperation, communication with other employees needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good but could be better
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 December 2018
Upper management basically bullies you to get their way.
Depending on what store you work at, it can get dramatic.
Most customers are a headache and always looking to get something for free or a discount. Now don't get me wrong, some customers are great but when you get the already grumpy ones.. makes for a long rental. We get you're moving, we want to help but not when you're loosing it at us. All in all its a good place to work, always have hours to give and such. Just need a change in management.
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
rude customers and bully upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic customer service workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 December 2018
Management was very corrupt. General manager has a past with fraud. The workplace itself was calm. Independently doing truck inspections, as trucks/ trailers returned. Scheduling rentals with customers sometimes got hard as they were increasingly impatient. Just takes patience and understanding to console them with their needs.
Pros
Able to be a strong independent worker
Cons
Management, non- flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad pay for work you do/ shawty management
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 November 2018
Minimum wage to deal with maximum problems. Especially at this location. Get crapped on by customers and management just tells you to deal with it. Management is very two faced and will say you’re doing a great job then tell everyone else your a horrible person. The Barlow location is simply the worst uhaul for customer service as well.
Pros
Discounts on moving supplies and vehicles
Cons
Shawty management/horrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
also not fun
Client Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC15 November 2018
you are very unsafe with this company and have seen clients get physical with workers with this company not only that I have been personal discriminated since I was Man wearing the pink womans U-Haul uniform my manager was awesome with it. it was her manager that didn't like me wearing and was always spying on us on the company cameras remotely if he didn't like you
Pros
none
Cons
too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Assistant Manager, Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC29 September 2018
fired me because my wage was too high, hired 2 people, despite my having been promoted and having been there since opening, and being one of the most dedicated and hardworking employees that location's had,
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady growth
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC23 August 2018
i learned how to deal with customers in rush hours because in the end of the people move their residential place and most of them need trucks on rent for moving. during that time we need lot of patience to deal with angry customers.
Pros
flexible working hours
Cons
no growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much stress and not enough help/pay
Customer Service Representative/Hitch Pro. (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON13 August 2018
I hated working at Uhaul with a passion. Everyday is new Bulls hit. Between management customers and phone calls. Too much for not enough pay. Waste of time
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was overall good
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 July 2018
It was a great experience working there. Great people. A bit challenging at first. Very clean. We were always cleaning. There was always something to do.
Pros
They buy you lunch sometimes
Cons
Closes early
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would never work here again
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 March 2018
Lots of work to be done every day, lots of customers coming in and out of the building. Busy work environment and manager ran a tight ship. great place to keep busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe Place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS20 March 2018
Awesome job really easy to get along with other work members. Job advancement is very accessible which is great and they often provide team lunch on Fridays at my location.
Pros
Convenience
Cons
Tiresome
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
early work, hard work, punctual timing, very strict.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 March 2018
as a customer service rep, i had many customers to deal with on a daily basis whether angry, or sad it becomes a huge burden on an employee working with uhaul and the stress is an absolutely atrocious to deal with but you live and learn as an any worker for any company and this one just happen to not be my company of choice due the fact of the amount done for work with no way of advancement .,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport